Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny
Because I enjoyed the TV series enormously I've recently purchased all of Mr Wingfield's books. The first one I chose to read was A Touch of Frost. His portrayal of all the characters is very descriptive and the narrative is brilliant in it's humour. I couldn't envisage anything better than the TV series, excellent as it was, but the books are far better. A warning...
Published on 22 Jun 2001

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars first frost kindle version
having just purchased first frost kindle audio version on my new kindle i was very disappointed with the quality of the audio story telling. in fact it is awful.the sound was tinny and there was no change in voice tone. sentences ran into each other, and pauses occured in the completely wrong place. As my kindle was bought expressly for the audio I feel severely let down.
Published on 9 Jun 2012 by Mr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny, 22 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Because I enjoyed the TV series enormously I've recently purchased all of Mr Wingfield's books. The first one I chose to read was A Touch of Frost. His portrayal of all the characters is very descriptive and the narrative is brilliant in it's humour. I couldn't envisage anything better than the TV series, excellent as it was, but the books are far better. A warning though: don't read these books in public - your rawcus laughing at the wit on almost every page may just disturb others. I wish Mr Wingfield would write more. I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms already. At least 12 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 25 Jan 2012
By 
I bought this book after watching and thoroughly enjoying the TV series. As always the book is even better. As usual there is so much more detail in the books.
The Frost series differs from other detective novels greatly. The books are based on this policeman's working day, so it involves a number of cases & crimes. Other detective novels usually focus on one crime as their plotline. So Frost could be dealing with a missing person, a murder and burglaries all at the same time. However, this is in no way confusing for the reader. It is extremely easy not only to follow the plot but to get sucked in and not want to put the book down until the end.
David Jason plays this character exactly as you would imagine him.
As one of the other reviewers warns - be careful about reading this book in public as you will laugh out loud.
I would strongly recommend this book and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better even than the TV series, 14 Jun 2010
Having read the Morse novels, I moved on to Frost - and it's interesting to compare the two. The Morse of the books is much like the Morse of TV - but Frost on the page is more chaotic, more bawdy and more jaded than on the small screen. (Supt. Mullett, however, is the same in both and TV's DS George Toolan seems to be DS Arthur Hanlon in the books.)

The trademark storylines are all here: multiple cases, Frost multi-tasking haphazardly between them, running on instinct with peerless street-knowledge and putting together the loose ends that others don't. Frost may be disorganised but nobody beats him for serendipity.

This novel is a real page-turner (they all are :-). If you've seen the series and want to read the books, start right here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch Of Frost, 12 May 2011
If you haven't read any Frost books...DO IT NOW.
Immensely entertaining characters and plots, all
combined with the usual excellent Amazon prices
and efficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. T. Bailey "Kiamose" (Allington, Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Review by Jennie Bailey. I really enjoyed this novel, others have commented that there is alot going on, to many cases on the go BUT if like myself you have watched the tv series you will recognise the cases from the series so won't confuse you, also I found there never to be a problem wondering which case they where on at the time as it was well written to not confuse you, I guessed very quickly who all the murderers where and that was not because I remembered the series on tv, but just because I always seem to (unfortunately) there is alot of difference between the book and tv series so you won't be spoiling it for yourself if you've already watched, even recently, Frost is a wonderful character, and you'll warm to him, from the start. It is funny as others have mentioned, and I found none of Frost's comments crude, just laughable. Yes it is rather nicely tied up at the end, it could have been another 50 or so pages long, and I found Webster, Frosts sidekick really annoying as he should of realised how lucky he was to be working with Frost and not horrible, arrogant Allen. You will find you can't put the book down, now I'm of to buy the next, hope it's as good. BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a touch of frost book, 18 July 2010
i have watched most of the TV series and this book is exactly the character David Jason is. i have purchased three more books because they are a great read. story lines are so realistic and easy to follow once you get into the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue of author's second book in SIGNED LIMITED edition, 6 Sep 1999
By A Customer
The first hardback edition of this title now sells for 600.00+ - if you can find a copy! We decided to reissue the book in a SIGNED LIMITED edition of 350 copies with a blood red binding and silver skeletal hand design. Since the TV series the Frost books, which to date only number five (his new one comes out this November [99]-Winter Frost) have become highly collected in their first hardback editions. This volume will fill that inevitable space in your collection and will not bankrupt you either!! A darn good-looking book as well, even if I say so myself as the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frost, 10 Jan 2011
One of the best books i have read in a long time, could not put it down. I dont normaly read in the day but i did with all the Frost books. Could do with 20 more! Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Frost, 9 Oct 2009
By 
B. D. Bober "Barry Bober" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A easy to read book which will keep you wondering what twist it will take next and when you have to leave the world of Jack Frost, will keep you eager to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manic Frost, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Another unputdownable effort. I'm working my way through the sadly small number of Frost books, amazed at the sheer pace of the action. Don't these people ever sleep? Mind you a copper's life is a particularly busy one in Denton. There must be more crime here per square inch than Oxford and L.A. put together!
Wingfield cares little for political correctness - although no racism so far - and is not afraid to show police personnel making jokes and coarse remarks near to corpses, rape victims or witnesses, which I am sure is the reality. The reader doesn't have time to take offence though because in no time we're off down another dark alleyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews