Customer Reviews


610 Reviews
5 star:
 (449)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid and enjoyable movie.
Very good. You can really feel the tension and desperation as the pirates get more and more desperate and are capable of anything.
Published 3 months ago by Glen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain Hanks
The film does a reasonably good job of setting up the background of the pirates, and there's a few nice moments between their leader and Hanks. Hanks plays the heroic captain rather than all American action hero, and for me this left the film a bit lacking in bite. Definitely not a Willis/Seagal hostage romp, but equally falls short on building on the pirates character...
Published 18 days ago by JezB


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid and enjoyable movie., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phillips (Amazon Instant Video)
Very good. You can really feel the tension and desperation as the pirates get more and more desperate and are capable of anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly convincing and gripping. Brilliant, 24 Jan 2014
By 
I. J. Davison "ianheadland" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is not often that I am gripped and on the edge of my seat with the content of a film but this proved that some films can still do this for me. As a son of an engineering officer I spent many times aboard ship, container ships particularly. This film showed the sheer realism of life aboard ship and the dangers, and for once we have a film set on board a ship that shows this realism correctly. The suspense will have you on the edge of your seat throughout the film, building gently and ultimately to a thrilling crescendo. The ending is handled skillfuly and the mixture of raw emotions is heartrending.
Tom Hanks proves yet again what a wonderful character actor he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips (DVD)
This movie doesn't disappoint, Tom Hanks is amazing, excellent supporting cast in the way of Bharkhad Abdi and the other Somali's and the wider cast in general. It was tense, from the start, believable and incredibly moving too. Excellent production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Story, 14 Feb 2014
This movies really gets going after 20 minutes and then, hold on, the tension builds and lasts till the end credits. Fantastic film, strong story, wonderful acting from all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks Brilliant, yet again, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips (DVD)
We weren't sure what to expect with this film, but it was absolutely gripping from start to finish. Hank's performance was brilliant as the Captain, as were the rest of the cast in their roles. Even my 13 year old son enjoyed it. Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Phillips, 28 Jun 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Greengrass brings his trademark shaky camera to this superbly taut thriller. A human story about resiliance, bravery and the strength of character.

A cargo ship embarks on a long journey across some dangerous waters. The crew are well trained in what to do in the event of a pirate attack but remain unprepared for the reality of the situation. Captain Phillips is a normal nice guy who is suddenly plunged into this dark and dangerous world. His apparent over caution gives way to someone who is there to protect his team. The crew stand firmly by him as they realise he is their only hope.

Tom Hanks imbues Phillips with some real humanity. The change he makes from a quiet, respectful leader to all out negotiator and saviour is a delight to watch. This is Hanks at his absolute best, a defining role in an already illustrious career.

His relationship with his captors is what grounds the film in reality. It is also a testament to the writers that they have not demonised the pirates. They are misguided and desperate, not evil. They are inexperienced and violent but not sadistic. This is business.

Greengrass injects energy into every tense scene. Especially the seige of the cargo ship. The camera moves around the ship with ease and brings the audience right into the centre of the action. Tension is cranked right up and not a moment is wasted. Greengrass has a canny ability to catch every flicker of emotion on the actors' faces and every detail within any given scene, giving more weight to the situation at hand.

The film never stops tugging at your emotions. It throws everything at you. Even in its final scenes the audience is left reeling at the emotional plight Phillips has been through.

A masterclass in tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story that is believable., 8 Jan 2014
Tom Hanks gives an excellent performance as the captain of a container boat who has to go through the famous area off the coast of Somalia riddled with pirates.
This is an incredible ride of a film from the pirates managing to get on board to them capturing the Captain and trying to escape.
The actors are extremely believable and deserve the plaudits for their parts in this film. The story does not appear 'hollywoodised' in that everything isnt blown out of all realms of plausibility and flows along in a manner that keeps you on the edge of the seat wondering how everything is going to unfold.
As an aside, it was nice to see a small part from the Somalians point of view and does not attempt to demonise them.

Finally a film that isn't a rehash/remake as so many seem to be recently.
Kudos to all involved. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Phillips, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So glad I pre-ordered this DVD. I watched it at the cinema when it came out and wasn't really that interested before it started, I just went because my boyfriend wanted to go. But once the film I had started I was hooked. the tension is fabulous throughout, your heart is constantly pounding in fright for the captain and his crew. The story is amazing and very accurate (when compared to captain Phillip's book about the incident) and Tom Hank's performance is just unbeatable. No one could have done it better. Please buy this film, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good tom hanks film, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
even if it had not been done on reality it would have been a good film tom plays a very good part scary to think that it actually happend very well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific performance from Tom Hanks, 25 Jan 2014
Captain Phillips tells the story of a ship captain played by Tom Hanks who himself held captive by a group of pirates after his ship is taken hostage. This is a movie that has some truly great performances, particularly from Tom Hanks and his emotional breakdown at the end just shows how great of an actor Tom Hanks really is.

I do recommend this film, especially if you are a Tom Hanks fan; but I'm not sure if I would recommend watching it more than once, as it is a film that can be difficult to watch, and it does drag a little towards the end as the pirates find themselves surrounded by the U.S Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Phillips
Captain Phillips by Paul Greengrass
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews