Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC
Great 2nd album, been looking forward to it for so long. They've experimented a little bit, but still keeping some elements of Torches, which I love. Not 1 bad song on the album, and it really is a great mix, not disappointed at all. Saw them live yesterday at Troxy in London, and they were amazing. Love this band, and love this album! Highly recommend.
Published 6 months ago by Thomas Renshaw

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A candle no torche!
The album is good but a distant second to torches, which is probably the best mp3 at £4.99 I've ever bought.

My favourite tracks are:
Coming of age
Nevermind
Best friend
A beginner's guide to destroying the moon.
Published 6 months ago by Matt Smith (South Wales)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Great 2nd album, been looking forward to it for so long. They've experimented a little bit, but still keeping some elements of Torches, which I love. Not 1 bad song on the album, and it really is a great mix, not disappointed at all. Saw them live yesterday at Troxy in London, and they were amazing. Love this band, and love this album! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foster The People, 1 Jun 2014
By 
D. G. AMADO - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Best album this year, better than their last and will probably be ignored by the rest of the ignorant world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second album, 9 May 2014
By 
Miss Elaine Huggett "Elaine H" (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
I have been living with this album a few weeks now, and have played it endlessly. I absolutely loved "Torches", and was very much looking forward to "Supermodel". Although it is lyrically darker, there are still the same great pop tunes and vocal harmonies running through this album. "Coming of Age" grabs you straight away, as does "Best Friend" and a couple of other tracks. Some songs take a little bit longer to worm themselves into your brain, but, after a few plays, you find yourself singing along to all them. I for one am not disappointed with this album, and would certainly buy their next one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Collection, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Supermodel is the second studio album from the indie-pop-rock crossover band Foster The People.

The new album follows the success of their 2011 début Torches. Opinions aside for the moment, those looking for a second 'Torches' will be left wanting. Not to say that this record doesn't have its unashamedly pop moments ('Coming of Age', 'Are You What You Want to Be') but 'Supermodel' take a significant detour towards a more eclectic sound.

And no doubt this was fully intentional. Head man Mark Foster intended this record to be more 'gritty' and that it certainly is having been produced on the road during their 2012 tour in a portable studio. The record dips into various rock influences intended to extend as far back 'the kinks' and 'the clash' but actually stomping on more recent ground i.e. Thom Yorke ('Goats in Trees') and The Killers ('The Truth'). In fact often its very easy to forget what band you are listening to.

Lyrically the album deals with the (clichéd) "ugly side of capitalism". Infused into the music after the music was created (i.e. in a two stage process) the words often sit uncomfortably with the sound. But where the lyrics fail the music certainly excels. I bet you never expected Foster The People to produce a truly great track like 'Goats in Trees'.

The most exciting thing about this album is that the after scratching away the pop façade created by 'Torches', Mark Foster et al. have exposed a fascinating underbelly that shows intermittent signs of brilliance. This is not a 5* album but there are many outros and a few singular tracks that hint at a promising future. The album has already split critics and fans / but in my mind this a positive step forward. In searching for the best summary of the album I couldn't top the comment made by Q magazine in that this is an "album of transition rather than a definitive statement".

Listen to: 'Ask Yourself', 'Nevermind', 'Goats in Trees', 'Fire Escape'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Transitional Album, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Foster the People have out done themselves with this follow up album. A much more fluid/psychedelic experience than 'Torches' touching on themes of the dark side to consumerism and westerinsation of the world.

Every song has its own distinct place with no filler material to be seen.

Truly deserves a 5/5 and after this album I am so excited for their 3rd album and praying it follows in the pattern of MGMT with more experimenting and delving deeper into the unknown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop, and so much better than the utter ..., 21 July 2014
By 
D. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Perfect pop, and so much better than the utter dross that plagues the charts, if you loved Torches you will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A welcomed follow up from Torches, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
I personally prefer this to Torches actually. But as some people have said, it signifies a slight change in direction without being too drastic. The gritty direction it has taken suits me more than Torches did. I can't stop listening to 'Nevermind' and 'Best Friend'. Great album from a great band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different second album, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. M. Housego "soggyjim" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
FTP are trying to produce a different record here, but its no less entertaining than their first outing. Some of the tracks may take a few more listens than the more upbeat, catchy original album, but this gives a hint of future work which is going in a healthy direction for a 'malt whiskey' band; maturing with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Great Album. Still in the same style as previous album 'torches' but refreshingly new material from the band. Worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant second album!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermodel (Audio CD)
Had high expectations to meet after the flawless debut album 'Torches' and as a second album it couldn't have been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supermodel
Supermodel by Foster The People
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews