Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Harder hitting than BCC !!!! Excellent !!!!
Great album - more harder hitting than BCC !! This is a bit more up my street than the tame sound of BCC (except for their last album which was the best of the lot). I can hear (in a lot of the songs on this album) all of the heritage of what has gone before them mixed nicely in with this fresh batch of songs - and it makes for great listening !! The cover art is very...
Published 15 days ago by KAYBEE

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, in patches, not great..............
Sorry, it is a bit of a let down. I really liked Black Country Communion & was expecting progression. Unfortunately a few of the tracks sound like BCC outtakes. Someone raving about this album said the tunes were uncluttered by the keybounds often used on the BCC albums, I disagree. A few of the tracks would have benefitted by some keyboard input & given the whole piece a...
Published 29 days ago by Charlie Brooks-Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, in patches, not great.............., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Breed (Audio CD)
Sorry, it is a bit of a let down. I really liked Black Country Communion & was expecting progression. Unfortunately a few of the tracks sound like BCC outtakes. Someone raving about this album said the tunes were uncluttered by the keybounds often used on the BCC albums, I disagree. A few of the tracks would have benefitted by some keyboard input & given the whole piece a bit more variety. Bonham's drumming is mostly excellent however. I've persevered with this album for weeks, but it just isn't growing on me like the BCC stuff {& I'm no big Joe Bonamassa fan}. A powerhouse trio - Cream it isn't! Influences of Led Zep & Purple are evident, as in BCC, but there are no memorable songs. Just about 3 stars out of 5 at the most! {I think the new Rival Sons album will knock this for six!}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars California Dire!, 6 Jun 2014
By 
K. Buxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: California Breed (Audio CD)
Maybe I've been spoilt as I've grown up listening to all the great rock bands, Led Zep, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Free, and Gary Moore, etc etc etc! But this new album by California Breed is trying to be a mixture of them all, but I'm afraid is just not up to scratch, it's just a noisy din, no memorable songs, Glen Hughes voice is overpowering and screams too much for my liking, same with the bass & drums just too overpowering, I know they have a new guitarist by the name of Andrew Watt but I felt he could have crafted some more guitar solo's throughout the album, not that it would have probably made any difference anyway.

Nothing new about the material either, it's all been done before by bands who are struggling to find good material and release an album for the sake of it, not a memorable album I'm afraid, if Glenn Hughes & Jason Bonham weren't in this band would it get so many 5 stars? I don't go on reputations I go on how good the music is; this just doesn't cut for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harder hitting than BCC !!!! Excellent !!!!, 10 July 2014
By 
This review is from: California Breed (Audio CD)
Great album - more harder hitting than BCC !! This is a bit more up my street than the tame sound of BCC (except for their last album which was the best of the lot). I can hear (in a lot of the songs on this album) all of the heritage of what has gone before them mixed nicely in with this fresh batch of songs - and it makes for great listening !! The cover art is very 1980's esque and I quite like it.

The trouble is with music, its just like any other art form - its very subjective; what one person thinks is great, another person might think is mediocre. Its all well and good people passing judgements/opinions etc. but, the only person who is the best judge, is yourself :)

Reviews are OK to read for a bit of an insight to something but you gotta judge for yourself. As for me, I like it more than BCC, I wish the guitarist would have let it rip a bit more in places; Bonhams drumming is solid as always and Glenns voice is as good as ever - a bit (only a bit :) shrieky on the odd bit . Bass playing, as always, it dont lie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service. items arrived as described, on time and packaged well. - Recommended! Purchased for a relative and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Breed (Audio CD)
Dirty Rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb debut album, Glen Hughes shows he still has a voice and Jason Bonham is his usual best. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pretty damn fine, 26 Jun 2014
Why does Mr Hughes think he has to moan throughout. Apart from that, pretty damn fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational must have album, 21 Jun 2014
By 
R. P. Gulrajani (Harlow, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The new evolution of the Glenn Hughes and Jason Bonham combo really works. The pounding drums and base are blended seamlessly into the roaring but melodic guitar links and rifs that accompany and enhance the voice of rock's tones.
My favourite tracks are Breathe and All falls down. These seem to be very much inspired by Glenn Hughes 'Life.
Brilliant, must have, inspired... Thank you for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Breed (MP3 Download)
Another jem from Glen Hughes and his ever evolving band. Even without Joe Bonnamassa it is a wonderful album. Top Stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great start, 15 Jun 2014
By 
M. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Breed (MP3 Download)
Fantastic return, very well put together album that gives good signals for the work to come. Hope they hit the UK for a tour soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

California Breed
California Breed by California Breed (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews