Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic view point for the Punk era.
This a real snippit from the underground punk movement in Belfast during the Seventies. I feel that the "Punk" movement was the changing of tides in the music industry and feel that its due for another one!

This beautifully presented black comedy takes a really good look back at this time and portrays it well. The main Character is played extremely well...
Published 16 months ago by Mista Craig

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Vibrations
A good film tinged with bits of humour and facts, as well as artistic licence. Personally i had been looking forward to seeing this since it left the cinemas. I was a little disappointed. Perhaps my expectations were too high. I visited GV shop on many ocassions. Enjoyable nonetheless. 😄
Published 7 months ago by heartoflinpool


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic view point for the Punk era., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This a real snippit from the underground punk movement in Belfast during the Seventies. I feel that the "Punk" movement was the changing of tides in the music industry and feel that its due for another one!

This beautifully presented black comedy takes a really good look back at this time and portrays it well. The main Character is played extremely well and anyone who loves music and shopped in independent music shops in Belfast in the past thirty years will know who Terry is.

Great sound track, and a great strap line.

"New York has the hair style, London has the jeans but Belfast has the reason"... something along those lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb piece of cinema...!, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spine tingling.... That's all can say about the feeling I had when Richard Dormer spoke his first lines as Terri.... he had if down to a tee. Refreshing to see a movie come out of Northern Ireland that nods to the Troubles without dwelling on the period on the late 70s and early 80s when there was....a fantastic piece of work I look forward to more creativity from the Team that produced this little gem...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating film (It's a true story!) abaut the '77 Punk scene from Belfast. A must if you like the music, punk music!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The History of punk rock comes from Belfat. Amazing film with a great soundtrack. This is a must for punk music fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to beat..., 20 Aug 2013
By 
Robert Machin (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Add it to the pantheon of great music movies, and great British movies - a film which manages to capture not just the essence of punk but - without being sanctimonious or didactic - what it must have meant to kids growing up in the brutal grimness of '70s Belfast. Saying which, it's actually a film full of joy and excitement - the bit when 'Teenage Kicks' finally gets played on Peel brought a tear to my eye, as did the bit when Terri - in many ways the holy fool - sold the rights to Teenage Kicks to Sire Records for £500, enough to get their van fixed. A triumphant movie and a triumphant life, recalling a time when commercial success wasn't the only yardstick of greatness. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the topic, perhaps they spent too much time on the troubles, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This story took place at a tuning point in my life, I loved it.

Perhaps there isn't so much to say, but I felt the film spent too much time dwelling on the troubles and little on the life and business of the great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting view of 70s Belfast, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I lived there and went to Queens there. It was not a scene I was aware of so I found it interesting. However, I had to put the sub titles on to follow the dialogue. It was not an accent I recognised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to Mark Kermode..., 23 Mar 2014
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
He alerted me to this gem in his alternative Oscars list, otherwise I might have missed it. This film is just brilliant at capturing the emergence of punk in Belfast, perhaps inevitably as a reaction to the Troubles and the grim economic climate of Northern Ireland in the 70s and 80s. Of course there are points where the film goes for dramatic effect but it definitely, gloriously captured key moments, like first hearing and experiencing punk and the story of "Teenage Kicks". There was always something unique about punk in Northern Ireland but I never knew what or why - this film goes a long way to explaining that. The finale concert with the anarchic rendition of Sonny Bono's "Laugh At Me" is wonderful - I'd never thought of that pseudo hippy song as a punk number but it works wonderfully. I can't recommend this film enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music of my time, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I love this music, I remember them so well and they were so so good, so pleased I got this! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good vibrations, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A fun and quirky story that never flags and has some really good music in it! A good film that most music lovers will enjoy and tells the tale of one of the true eccentrics of the music business! Triumph and tragedy!! An excellent watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Irish, Punk Scene, Drama - Comedy - that rocks (in a punky way)!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Vibrations [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This tells part of the story of the Northern Irish music legend that is Terri Hooley. He grew up in Belfast at a time before the troubles and when that dark period came he found himself in the middle of people he considered to be friends, but now they divided themselves along religious lines and not on political, social and musical lines that had been so invigorating.

He though is one of life's optimists and so as the bombs go off and the sectarian violence becomes the norm on the ever emptying streets he wants to bring music to the benighted people of Belfast and what starts out as a venture into reggae, via his record shop, all gets turned around when one night he is drawn to a gig to see Rudi and the Outcasts playing to a packed house. He does what any sensible, red blooded male would do; he gets drunk, does some pogoing and then signs the band!

We then follow him on his ups and downs as he gets involved with launching The Undertones, his marital woes and being on the road as well as the financial problems, the music industries fickleness and the sheer enthusiasm of `the kids' for this new music. Along the way we get a load of laughs a few tears and an appearance by the greatest DJ of all time ever - John Peel.

I completely loved this; it is well acted, the period detail is really good - some of the wigs are a bit obvious -, but so what. Starring Richard Dormer as Hooley who has been in `Game of Thrones' and `My Boy Jack' - he puts in a fine performance helped along by the lovely Jodie Whitaker as Ruth his long suffering wife. Dylan Moran puts in a cameo too and great support from the likes of Adrian Dunbar (`My left foot' and `The crying game') who is massively under rated and always reliable and the brilliant Liam Cunningham (`Game of thrones' and `The wind that shakes the barley'). This is how I remember that part of punk and it is great to have some new life breathed back into some of these old songs. This is one that will give you more on subsequent viewings and I can absolutely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Vibrations
Good Vibrations by Lisa Barros D'Sa
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews