Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars56
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2014
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but seriously my 40 years in military service , do I believe US troops enter combat as if they are in a movie , announcing they are on their way with "loud Music " blaring. UUUMMMM , one is given an objective ,you adapt improvise do whatever it takes to achieve that goal. This is a movie nothing more nothing less, and not particularly enjoyable one , so please do not form any opinions of our soldiers with this , I know lots already dislike our military because of their own inadequacies, usually after a fist fight on a Friday night , please do not make any more Movies portraying how you feel ,because of the size of your penis, instead concentrate on the actions of far better men than you in unusual circumstances > I know from personal experiences that most Anti war, anti soldier , etc. etc. would have soiled their underwear getting off the aircraft in an unknown land, let alone wear the bulls eye target symbol that is our uniform..
May your own God go with you, and sleep tight as the boys protect you
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
Some people may find it hard to believe the US forces do not behave in the way this film shows, I am not one of those people. This film shows the reality of what happens when proffesional judgement is clouded by emotion and the negativity of war itself. The film is a balanced account of an event in Haditha. People of the world took to the streets in protest against at the war led by the US and UK in Iraq and still they went in bombing a country back to the middle ages - shame on them. Not light entertainment.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
Bloody, unforgiving and shocking account of the victims of war and those who participate in it. It should be viewed by anyone contemplating military service. It has a strong bond in a cinematic sense with the clips of real life warfare that can be found on youtube. I give it a tragically realistic 10/10.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
The anti-American shallowness of some reviews that I have read regarding this movie just about sums up the way the world is going. It would seem, according to one such reviewer, that the actions of the "American Pigs" in the Haditha incident were monstrous, and I would have to agree, but he fails to suggest that the ongoing actions of the Iraqi insurgents are equally so. I would propose that, whilst acknowledging the horror of such awful events, we do not condemn the individuals operating under such conditions unless we have personally experienced the same, and, as a result, can confidently say that we acted differently in those same circumstances. Can anybody know their immediate reaction to seeing their friend and comrade blown apart? It's all very well passing judgement from the comfort of our living rooms, but it is exactly that sort of reactionary condemnation that fuels hatred.

Of course, by the same token, should we really be surprised by the reaction of the ordinary Iraqi people following such events as those depicted in the film?

This film is excellent, though at times disturbing, and does not appear to pass judgement on those involved in the events in the same way as some reviewers. It is almost documentary-like in style, and shows the events quite even-handedly from both sides, clearly demonstrating the futility of this 'war'.

If we feel the need to criticise, or pass judgement, perhaps our comments should be directed at the politicians who sent the troops in, for their mishandling of the war, and not at the troops themselves.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2008
As a self-confessed fan of Nick Broomfield I was well aware of his ability to inform, entertain and challenge from his documentary films, however this magnificent film shows just what a great filmmaker he is.

With an unknown cast whose performances draw you into the film you'll be left feeling as if this could really be an accurate reflection of what might have happened.
And this is balanced - the only truly innocent people are the blameless civilians, everyone else is tainted, however much they feel they have their own reasons.

Fantastic, if ultimately somewhat depressing since it can't find solutions to the circle of violence - but a magnificent work!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
A very sad but well made film showing the mindset on both sides of the conflict.
No propaganda here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
This movie is well worth viewing, yes as a former soldier the tactics are comical and unfortunately portrays the Marines more like private pike`s than professionals. That aside the message is clearly put across that violence clearly and ultimately creates more violence. I initially thought that the film was a documentary the special effects etc are excellent. You are immersed in the chaotic and life threatening world that was Iraq for the American forces and civilians alike. The story is told well. However it does lean towards a bias, as the Americans are portrayed as shoot first gung ho, ask questions later types. Ultimately this is an anti war film which is a good thing. A film must give a good account of both sides suffering in order that the viewer can make up his or her mind. this film in my opinion does not do this however it is still a stark reminder of the extreme sadness any conflict creates.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Brilliant film...Good story...and shows how hard it is for soldiers at times...Very inpressed..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
This is what happens when too much is asked of troops, who have no real sense of worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2008
This is a superb movie.

As far as the cinematography goes, it is captured in a documentary style which gives it a heightened sense of realism and really draws you into the lives of the people potrayed.

It is a movie that perfectly illustrates the fact that there is good and bad on both sides in every large scale conflict.

It will be perceived by some as anti-American, but I don't see it that way at all.

It is an honest account of true and tragic events that reflect badly on humanity as a whole rather than any particular side.

Personally I haven't purchased it yet for the simple reason that I was fortunate enough to see it in HD and it was absolutely stunning.

Please, please release this on Blu-Ray. I'd make an immediate purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£2.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)