Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Home, Kenny
So, first ever recording back home in Shreveport, Louisiana - sounds like a good excuse to raid the influences and heroes archive, and that's exactly what Kenny & the band have done here; and invited some friends to sit in, friends like Warren Haynes, Joe Walsh, Robert Randolph.

But, this isn't self-indulgent, nor is it another mere covers album; the tracks...
Published 7 months ago by Kulgan

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kenny pays tribute to his blues heroes
This album sees Kenny Wayne going back to his roots and playing songs by artists who influenced his guitar playing, including Albert, B.B. and Freddy King, Muddy Waters, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Magic Sam. He takes a band including singer Noah Hunt, drummer Chris Layton, bassist Tony Franklin and Riley Osbourn on keyboards back to his hometown of Shreveport, Louisiana...
Published 7 months ago by G. E. Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting For, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
As with most albums the first playing is always a bit doubtful but this one has really grown on me. I have been playing it in the car since it arrived. The versions of the standard blues songs are really good. Kenny Wayne Shepherd never disappoints and with his guests on this album makes a worthwhile listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laconic Blues ..., 14 July 2014
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Audio CD)
I may well be an ardent fan of Kenny Wayne Shepherd, but on this occasion, he had to wait a whiles while I cleared the decks of artists' albums purchased prior to the release of "GOIN' HOME" before I could give it some serious listening - and now that I have, what do I think? Well, it's just good old fashioned blues played the way it was always intended - great vocals, backed by a laconic, yet incisive guitar, all punched along by a well honed rythmn section - yes, as per usual Kenny Wayne Shepherd (or more precisely Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band) delivers!
From the opening notes of "In The Palace Of the King", you know that you're in for an aural treat and that is especially delivered once the guests start to appear - particularly "I Love The Life I Live" featuring Joe Walsh and Kim Wilson and, especially my favourite track; "Breaking Up Someone's Home" featuring Warren Haynes with some duelling guitars and interplay between the two guitarists, along with excellent vocalisations from Noah Hunt, all making for some truly emotive sounds!
And indeed, all the way to the end of this classic album - "Still A Fool" - there is not a duff track (although I thought that I had purchased the deluxe version of this album containing the additional 3 tracks, but had not, so I am going to have to get me a copy, and in pretty short order too!). Kenny is not one of the "5 albums a year" brigade and, although his output to date has been quite sparse, what he does put out, he truly believes is worthy of his name and, more importantly, of his fans time and hard earned cash
So, if you like the blues, or you like the blues with a great guitar or, you like the blues with a great guitar, great vocals along with pin sharp production, then I cannot recommend this album more highly!
BUY with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Audio CD)
so good its in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He was some fine helpers along on this one, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
This is a top effort from a star of the modern blues world. He was some fine helpers along on this one, including Ringo, Keb Mo and Joe Walsh. Kenny has a great band of his own too. Including master drummer chris Layton and on bass Tony Franklin. All and any Blues fans should hear this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kenny wayne shepherd, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Audio CD)
latest offering from KWS shows kenny back to his best, doing what he does best. One of those rare CD,s Not a bad track on it.
highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Goin' Home (Audio CD)
Great album, well worth a listen. Good collaborations and choice of songs. Exciting and vibrant, good playing and overall performances. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great cd and Kenny shows off great ability playing rock ..., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
This is a great cd and Kenny shows off great ability playing rock and blues.this is the first time i have heard his voice and guitar and am very impressed by both talents.he also has Joe walsh and ringo Starr on this cd.The cover tracks are all great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to hear his version of "The House is Rocking" by SR Vaughan and it did not disappoint. On the basis of hearing this cd bo, 14 Dec 2014
By 
B. Lister (Wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
First KWS cd I have bought. Wanted to hear his version of "The House is Rocking" by SR Vaughan and it did not disappoint. On the basis of hearing this cd bought tickets to see Kenny next April 2015 in Holmfirth. Buy it and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goin' Home, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' Home (Audio CD)
Kenny Wayne Shepherd is a really great guitar player and not too shabby a singer. This album is very blues based and has covers of classic blues songs. Also has several guest appearances by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goin' Home (Deluxe Version)
Goin' Home (Deluxe Version) by Kenny Wayne Shepherd (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews