Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to black!
Our taciturn hero is back. This time dumped on some random planet which, of course, has breathable air and water! The dumper is one of Commander Vaako's lackeys, Krone, who manages to bury Riddick alive under a 100 tonnes of rock after Riddick dispatches four necromongers following an attempt to double-cross him in the wake of his obvious aversion to his new role as Lord...
Published 4 months ago by still searching

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Chronicles, this is Pitch Black part 2
Great to see the return of Riddick and in general this was an immensely enjoyable piece of sci-fi action in the same style as its previous two parts. Definitely a worthy addition to the series and Riddick himself is on top form as the lethal anti-hero in peril. The love and devotion to the franchise shines through in this movie, it was made with great care for the...
Published 12 months ago by O. Southwood


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to black!, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Our taciturn hero is back. This time dumped on some random planet which, of course, has breathable air and water! The dumper is one of Commander Vaako's lackeys, Krone, who manages to bury Riddick alive under a 100 tonnes of rock after Riddick dispatches four necromongers following an attempt to double-cross him in the wake of his obvious aversion to his new role as Lord Marshall.

Miraculously, Riddick survives the attempt with nothing worse than a broken leg, which he immediately `sets about' sorting out with, of course, the minimum of fuss. He then sets out to explore his new surroundings: not much flora but some typically nasty fauna in the form of particularly hideous things that look like the love children of a giant scorpion and the big daddy of all aliens; that designed by H. R. Giger!

But then we're not talking about Ripley, as feisty as she is, or Dallas et.al, but Riddick; the ultimate lean, mean alien killing machine, who might reasonably be regarded as a kind of fictional descendant of Lee Child's Jack Reacher.

The giant `scorpions' aren't the only animal nasties roaming about: Riddick is cornered by a pack of dogs or more accurately, hyenas on steroids! Imagine a hyena wearing `The Mask' and you'll get the picture. He escapes their fearsome fangs and captures one of their pups who accepts him as the `alpha male'.

Eventually, Riddick and pet discover evidence of human habitation in an apparently unused mercenary station. He sets off an emergency beacon, which attracts two teams in the area who land in the vicinity and proceed to argue between themselves about how best to go about hunting down Riddick and receiving the bounty. These people seem endlessly naive and beyond hopelessly optimistic; surely they must know who they're dealing with?

Despite a couple of slightly dodgy cgi moments, it looks fantastic on Blu-ray, but the plot has more than its fair share of irrationality. I won't go into details, but if you're prepared to accept these it makes for a more than an acceptable entry in the ongoing story of Riddick's journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fast and the Furyan, 4 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure why this film is getting the roasting it is. While it may not be the deepest of films, it is a superior action/SF film that more than holds its own against the competition.

I will admit straight away to liking the unloved Chronicles of Riddick, so you may want to throw up your hands in horror and walk away now. While that got slated, at least it tried to do something different to Pitch Black. Vin Diesel worked hard to get Riddick back on screen, and if nothing else it shows his commitment to the character.

The film Riddick is taking the story back to basics. The first 20 minutes are so are excellent, when you see Riddick abandoned for dead on a nameless planet, his struggle to survive and then how he rears and befriends an alien dog. After he kills an alien beast, he finds an empty outpost and entices 2 rival groups of mercenaries down on to the planet. This effectively reestablishes the character, and demonstrates why the mercenaries who are hunting him see him as such a threat.

There is an all-too-brief flashback of Riddick among the Necromongers after Chronicles, and then the main story shifts to the mercenaries, and Riddick playing cat-and-mouse with them, picking them off while using them to get transport off the planet.

A lot have people have said that Riddick is too much like Pitch Black, however for much of the film, Riddick is more like Rambo in Space, as he uses his stealth and wits to play the mercenaries against each other until he can take them on on his own terms. And the film nicely portrays the characters of the mercenaries too, so they are not just mindless grunts.

The film isn't perfect - budgetary constraints mean the FX are a bit dodgy in places, and the final sequence were Riddick fights off hordes of alien monsters IS too similar to Pitch Black for comfort. But even here they seem to have taken the original idea and revamped it, giving more thought to the ecology on the planet so it makes more sense.

Don't believe all the bad press, this is well worth seeing. And fingers crossed it makes enough money so the final 2 films will be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "There are bad days and then there are legendary bad days. This was to be one of those. Whole d@mn planet wanted a piece of me.", 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I didn't expect much from this film, after the putrid abomination that was "Chronicles of Riddick", but I was VERY pleasantly surprised! Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

PRECISION: this is the review of 122 minutes long extended version of the film, 8 minutes longer than the cinema version; those additional scenes are quite welcome, but they are not really essential for the story.

Twelve years after the events of "Pitch Black", Riddick (Vim Diesel) finds himself again stranded at a hostile planet - but this time he is alone and also badly wounded. This film tells the story of his struggle to survive and ultimately escape from this anonymous planet (which we know only as "not Furya"). The escape will be made ultimately possible by arrival on this planet of two ships - but it will be also a difficult thing, as the tough and experienced crews of those spacecrafts have terminally hostile intentions... I will not say more about the story.

This is a very honest SF/adventure film, not as good as "Pitch Black", but still a well done thing. There are many treasures in "Riddick", not the least of which is the very limited place accorded to this whole "Necromongers" nonsense, which completely destroyed the second film in the series. There are two moments showing Riddick in his functions as Necromongers Lord Marshall (and allow Karl Urban to appear in a cameo), but they are mercifully short and all the rest of the story takes place on "not Furya" planet.

This planet is a very hostile place, every bit as dangerous as desert planet in "Pitch Black" - albeit not really as lethal as Crematoria from "Chronicles of Riddick" (incidentally the only thing worth watching in this latter film). Riddick's adventures in its deadly wilderness are shown very, very well indeed.

People who come to the planet looking for Riddick are tough and unpleasant, albeit one of them, the youngest of all, seems to be in the wrong line of work... Amongst those unpleasant bounty hunters there is a sadistic, machete wielding thug named Santana (Jordi Molla), a middle aged, highly professional and deadly serious guy named "Boss" Johns (Matthew Nable), who has a personal score to settle with Riddick and also, last but not least, a very athletic and very lesbian amazon/sniper named Dahl (Katee Sackhoff). Their interactions amongst them and with Riddick are actually better shown than in most action movies - although some opportunities for better dialogs, more drama and better jokes were wasted, there was still a clear effort on the level of scenario here.

This film actually reminded me of some old westerns as indeed we have here three groups of very different people (Santana's crew, Johns' crew and Riddick who is a kind of one man army) in an abandoned "town" (OK, a couple of barracks) in the middle of a deadly wilderness - and we know that the Apaches (here known as Mud Demons) are never far and will ultimately show themselves...

There are some developments in this film, centred around character of Dahl, which are soooo deliciously not-politically correct, that I howled with admiration...))) It begins with giving to an athletic amazon/sniper lesbian character the name which is pronounced as "doll"...))) But it actually gets even better and I think that any feminist and especially a lesbian feminist who would dare watch this film would probably get a heart attack towards the end...))) So a friendly warning ladies, stay away from "Riddick" - in every posible sense of these words...)))

It is worth noticing also that if two first films seemed indicate that Islam is the dominant religion in space civilization of future, in this one we finally have a devout Christian - although the director couldn't resist the temptation to give him the name Luna (like in "lunatic"). Incidentally, the existence of this character gives Riddick an occasion to place a killer one-liner, one of the best in the whole film...)))

In this film we also have one more time the confirmation that deep inside all men, even the most macho, are little boys at heart - and it is well known that a boy should have a puppy to play with...))) Another thing we learn in this film is that in space "everybody has a box"...))) I am not explaining that one - you will have to watch the film...

Even if I liked "Riddick" much, much more than I expected, I still cannot rate it five stars as some moments are weak and the drama initially build into the confrontation between Riddick and "Boss" Johns ultimately doesn't deliver. Still, a nicely done thing. I think I will keep my DVD for another viewing in the future. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Chronicles, this is Pitch Black part 2, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great to see the return of Riddick and in general this was an immensely enjoyable piece of sci-fi action in the same style as its previous two parts. Definitely a worthy addition to the series and Riddick himself is on top form as the lethal anti-hero in peril. The love and devotion to the franchise shines through in this movie, it was made with great care for the material and it shows.

Problems? There are a few. First and foremost the lack of a decent opponent or any real threat to Riddick as he seems able to fight his way out of anything and lacks any sort of fear or vulnerability. The character of 'Johns' is meant to be his nemesis here but Johns never provides any real threat or indeed presence.

Second problem is the poor continuity with the previous movies. The ending of 'Chronicles of Riddick' is dealt with and forgotten within the first few scenes of 'Riddick' and then we are back to square one with Riddick as a lone refugee stranded on a strange world with dangerous aliens and monsters. Sound familiar? That's because it becomes a re-hash of Pitch Black pretty soon into the movie.

The aliens/monsters are great, and especially the dogs. But the human cast are lacking in motivation and threat. I would like to see Riddick up against a real human antagonist able to challenge him physically and strategically. What about somebody with see-in-the-dark ability or some equal power to his?

There were odd moments that remind us (rather uncomfortably) that Riddick is not a nice person and we should not like him. (He even hints at rapist tendancies at one point). For me these moments spoil him as a character, or perhaps that is the idea, to make us feel uncomfortable rooting for him?

Despite its issues, this is a solid chunk of science fiction and it only disappoints in comparison to 'Chronicles of Riddick' because it doesn't take the story forward in a way that expands that universe at all. Fingers crossed for a part 4 to address that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
Slightly disappointing for me after the other Riddick installments. Still worth a watch but it certainly won't blow your socks off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, simple, thoroughly entertaining back-to-basics sci-fi action., 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This, perhaps surprisingly, is a very good film. It doesn’t pretend to be anything it isn’t and doesn’t take itself too seriously; it’s just a well constructed sci-fi action film with atmosphere and lots of stuff happening.

The action begins some time after Riddick’s ascendancy to the throne of the Necromongers with him injured and marooned on some godforsaken planet where the local fauna is far from friendly. A rather long flashback dream sequence documents his fall from grace and then, in true Riddick fashion he just gets on with the business of recovering and battling the aforementioned wildlife, befriending a rather improbably dog-like creature along the way.

This preamble does seem a little slow (it is probably shorter in the theatrical release), but it is really setting the scene and drawing the viewer into the Riddick universe before the action begins in earnest. The action arrives in the form of a couple of bands of mercenaries / bounty hunters both of which want Riddick but for different reasons. Their numbers are, of course, whittled down and it is pretty obvious what is going to happen in the end, but along the way we’re treated to hardcore action and some splendid sci-fi movie references; most notably the splendid wtf moment from Alien3. Marvellous.

Refreshingly, the narrative dovetails very neatly with Pitch Black (still a firm favourite) and, considering the cast of monolithic stock action characters, the atmosphere is consistent, the pace & tension are well managed, there is a surprisingly witty side to some of the dialogue and the whole thing just rolls along very nicely indeed. Being written and directed by the same chap who brought us Riddick’s previous two outings, this splendidly simple and engaging movie brings a very welcome dose of brain-out brooding sci-fi action. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More,More!, 12 July 2015
By 
I. Baxter "the wingnut" (lincs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
Though it shows signs of of financial constraints compared to "chronicles", this is still a worthy successor to the first two movies.You get few extras with the main title, but that's more than some budget releases.
You get your monsters, both animal and human, your futuristic machines and weapons, your marvellous alien landscapes, and of course the eponymous Mr Riddick. It's another scenario where the harder the Mercs chase him, the harder he hunts them down and knocks them off like a one-man pack of Aliens, using whatever comes to hand in true Furyan style.
The FX and sets both digital and practical, are well up to expectations and used intelligently to get maximum milage out of them. The characterization and acting is good for a blood and thunder action movie.
If Mr Diesel would kindly make a couple more "faster" movies and get the dough to make another like this, I for one would be highly delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch but dont bust a gut, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quite average really and just a re-telling of the movie which started it all (Pitch Black) Its worth a watch just because Vin Diesel brings a great performance to the screen. The Script and structure of the movie is a little lacking. Some great kills and gory scenes will keep the actions fans happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been bolder, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Riddick (Blu-ray)
I liked Pitch Black and I loved Chronicles. I'm not saying I don't like this, but some scenes are almost picked straight from Pitch Black, eg, sitting on top of the spacecraft, fighting face-to-face with the creatures. I was hoping to learn more about Furyan and the Necromongers, but we got a low budget, but superior, remake of Pitch Black / Starship Troopers 2 / Alien v Predator, etc. What happened to Karl Urban as Lord Vaako? It's left me wanting more, and just a little dis-satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Riddick, 25 May 2014
By 
Rick Trivett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
The film started well but it quickly became apparent that what should have been the first part of the film became the plot for the whole film. Then it tried to copy pitch black and failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riddick
Riddick by David Twohy
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews