Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love in the key of B
Following the immaculate series of the expanded CD/DVD reissues of last year ("Heaven on earth", "Runaway horses", "Live your life be free", and "Real"), Edsel now releases 2 career-spanning anthologies of the gorgeous Belinda Carlisle. "The Collection" features 17 hit singles from Belinda's solo career, plus new song "Sun" from 2013's retrospective release "Icon", and an...
Published 4 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor DVD Quality
Firstly I am a fan of Belinda and have all her CDs, I bought this purley for the DVD of the videos to her songs. I have an old VHS "Runaway Videos" that is some 15-20 years old and it plays back in better quality than the videos on this DVD, I was expecting clean and crisp video, it looks more like they down loaded them from YouTube and not very vell at that...
Published 1 month ago by HUGH G ARTHUR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love in the key of B, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Following the immaculate series of the expanded CD/DVD reissues of last year ("Heaven on earth", "Runaway horses", "Live your life be free", and "Real"), Edsel now releases 2 career-spanning anthologies of the gorgeous Belinda Carlisle. "The Collection" features 17 hit singles from Belinda's solo career, plus new song "Sun" from 2013's retrospective release "Icon", and an entirely brand new song ("Goodbye just go"). And, for the very first time, a compilation of 18 promo videos is also presented on DVD. Featuring lyrics, artwork and new notes, all nicely packaged in a beautiful casebook edition, this is the most comprehensive greatest-hits package of hers so far, out of the many that have been released over the years. Belinda is an iconic figure in recent pop culture. Previous compilations failed to present nothing but a list of hits and rather poor booklets. This time, though, everything has been well looked after. This best-of release is the one that makes justice to both the material and her image (she has had stunning photos taken over the years being the beauty that she is!).

"The Anthology" collects 3 CDs and 2 DVDs of hits and rarities. The first 2 CDs are devoted to all singles released from her solo debut "Belinda" up to her last English studio album "A woman and a man". CD3 features 5 non-LP tracks (unfortunately, the much sought-after "In my wildest dreams" is not included - a master for the track is still untraceable), and a live set from Tokyo in 2013. DVD1 offers the promo videos to all singles, and DVD2 features promo material and live performances on various UK TV programs. It is presented in a glossy 48-page 12"x12" hardback casebound book, featuring an array of photos, a true delight for any BC fan. Obviously this edition is aimed mainly at avid Belinda fans and completists. Both releases showcase Belinda's immensely successful trademark pop-rock profile. Back in the days when pop music was meaningful, and pop artists were worshipped by their fans, Belinda has been consistently delivering exciting songs and videos. She may have been relatively quiet since the late 90s, however in recent years she seems to slowly finding her way back to pop music. I wish that these retrospective collections mark a much-welcomed return with new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the perfect Belinda Carlisle collection, 11 Jun 2014
By 
R. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Belinda Carlisle has had a fair few Greatest Hits or budget compliations over the years but they have always missed out her IRS years (on the UK compilations) or her later years (Real onwards on U.S. compilations). Finally, we have a compilation that spans all her English studio albums with a couple of new tracks added on. The quality of the songs are great and serve to remind people what a force Carlisle was in the world of pop.

The collection of songs is slightly intriguing - the majority of the hits are present along with some minor hits (interestingly the 1991 remix of Vision Of You which hit #71 is on here rather than the original) and the minor hits of La Luna (#38) and Runaway Horses (#40) are favoured over higher charting hits such as Lay Down Your Arms (#27) and Love In The Key Of C (#20), though the former two are bigger fan favourites and regular staples of Belinda's live sets.

The main drawback/ sticking point with this compilation is that despite the songs, Belinda only had 7 UK Top 10 hits and one of them is notably missing - Always Breaking My Heart - which seems rather careless (even if it is widely known that Carlisle no longer likes the song), particularly as 19 tracks is a rather odd number for a compilation.

Despite that, this is probably the best compilation released for the casual fan - just go and download Always Breaking My Heart afterwards and manually stick it into the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Collection, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
80's legend Belinda Carlisle is back with a greatest hits collection of her most famous back catalogue, an amazing voice and great rich pop songs there is nothing to not like about the songs chosen here, Summer Rain, We Want The Same Thing, Into Deep and of course Heaven Is A Place On Earth the classic legendary song that made Belinda who she is and a step on from the Go Go's group. 2 new tracks a thrown in for good measure Sun being one of them. Sit back or get up and dance either way enjoy the songs here on this album it's easy listening and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor DVD Quality, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Firstly I am a fan of Belinda and have all her CDs, I bought this purley for the DVD of the videos to her songs. I have an old VHS "Runaway Videos" that is some 15-20 years old and it plays back in better quality than the videos on this DVD, I was expecting clean and crisp video, it looks more like they down loaded them from YouTube and not very vell at that.
Buy if you have never bought a BC CD before, her music is fantastic, if like me you are already a fan and are buying for the DVD then think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wife is exstatic, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
every so often the wife will hear a song on the radio and give me a name of the artist that she remembers from her youth this one came up a few weeks ago, although she only could remember a few of the songs she was overjoyed that it came with a dvd aswell it brought back memories for her and the collection is a good title I think I remembered more than her great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Belinda, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Thomas Ross "Troot" (Dunbar, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
DVD and CD all the hits, good price, saw her live in Glasgow roundabout the time of Runaway Horses, totally recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music at its very best, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
great big hits and exellent dvds too,wow..!!.fantastic value for money,and gives you a realy happy feeling inside..i even remembered my first kiss after listerning to this album..lol..x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD with extra songs too, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I love the new song Sun the most - was very surprised plus it was great to have Runaway Horses and Half the world which are often missed from her greatest hits collections . dvd picture quality was ok but it was nice to have all the videos on one dvd - you also get the words to the songs aswell which was cool - nice collection so thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I've been wanting to buy a Belinda Carlise collection for some time now and all the ones listed seemed to have a key track missing. This has them all, plus a DVD to relive all those 80's hits visually. There's one or two tracks that i don't care for but there are some that I'd never heard before that I absolutely love. Normally I buy best of's, play them one and then put them away until my next bout of nostalgia but this has been blasting from my speakers/headphones since it arrived. Worthy addition to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews