Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book
Really enjoyed this book. Obviously it is a huge subject and this book could simply be read as an intro into the subject. For me it gave me a grounding on what the Mongols were all about. On the back of this I will most certainly read more on this empire and its people. Highly recommend.
Published 2 months ago by john macleod

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more importantly it was very tedious. In future I will stick to real historians
I was looking forward to understanding the Mongols: though an avid reader of history, I knew little about them. However this book was more a story than a history. As such it was chaotic and uncritical, more importantly it was very tedious. In future I will stick to real historians, who possess a clear writing style and strong grasp of all facets of their chosen period...
Published 6 months ago by Bob Mckenzie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 22 Feb. 2015
Really enjoyed this book. Obviously it is a huge subject and this book could simply be read as an intro into the subject. For me it gave me a grounding on what the Mongols were all about. On the back of this I will most certainly read more on this empire and its people. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal Genghis, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Mcpherson "roymcp" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongol Empire: Genghis Khan, his heirs and the founding of modern China (Kindle Edition)
I liked the book but the sheer scale and breadth of it probably means I could read it two or three times to fully absorb the detail. What an amazing man Genghis was, what an astonishing legacy and what an amazing empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Very well researched by John Man who obviously knows his subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
Peter M. Dignam (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongol Empire: Genghis Khan, his heirs and the founding of modern China (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read with the events presented in an easy to digest way. I am thoroughly enjoying the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he enjoyed reading, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my husband,he enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be mandatory reading for all western politicians one man ..., 2 Oct. 2014
By 
K. Cooney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Should be mandatory reading for all western politicians one man starts to pursue his dream of domination and swept all before him chilling parallels with whats happening with isis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written discussion of the development of Eurasia. People and events came alive on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Authoritative and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read indeed, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. G. Reading (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read indeed,gives the reader an insight to the forming of China as we know it today,and how the Mongol hordes seem to have. disappeared off the face of the Earth.I can recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews