Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julius Tregarthan - Dead
Ernest Elmore was a theatre producer and director as well as an author. Although he did write under his own name when it came to his crime novels he chose to write them under the pen name of John Bude. He was also a founding member of the CWA although when you think of the greats of that time his name isn’t one of them. Bude’s novels are competent and easy to...
Published 4 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by a weak ending
I am delighted the British Library are republishing such books; for years one could only get this kind of Golden Age stuff from the USA. This story, an early work by the author, starts well, with an interesting setting, and a good puzzle. The topography of the countryside in which the murder is set is crucial to the plot, so I am surprised the author did not include a...
Published 1 month ago by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 415 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing read, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy reading Agatha Christie books then you will enjoy this.
It is such a relaxing read with the 'notable' people in the village - the vicar and doctor getting involved helping the police - that it flows with you rather than needing to keep reading to keep up with the plot.
If you have not read one of these books it is worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, old-fashioned, ponderous murder mystery set in Cornwall, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Debbie Young "Debbie Young" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
A good old-fashioned read, more cosy mystery than thriller, and a possibly a bit slow and ponderous for those who are used to gory modern TV detective shows, but for me that was part of its charm, evoking a slower, pre-digital way of life in a setting in which everyone knows everyone else, and is unafraid to walk out of doors in a storm after dark. (Ironically, the murder takes place indoors under the glare of electric light!) I really liked the characters of the doctor and the vicar, who top and tail the story and do a fair part of the solving of the mystery - although from the blurb I'd expected them to be more the focal point of the story, rather than the rural policemen, and I'd actually have liked to spend more time in their company. There's also a pleasing piece of self-referential irony in there as the doctor and policeman are keen readers of thrillers delivered weekly from their local library service, and the experience of encountering a murder "in real life" puts them right off!

To be honest, I'd be up for any thriller with a cover like this (from an old railway poster) and a title that makes me fondly recall memoirs of holidays in Cornwall, and I expect that's why it's currently very high in the Amazon charts, although the author's long gone, and I must admit I'd never heard of him before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic christie type read, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
easy reading old school stuff but good-would look for similar titles or types of fiction from author or other writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cornish Coast Murder, 30 April 2014
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
This was enjoyable and kept you guessing on the murderer. The language was old fashioned in places, but this is an old novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uniformed inspector and vicar solve crime!, 27 April 2014
By 
Janet Gogerty (Southbourne-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
I read about this author in our local paper, bought it on Kindle and enjoyed it. I certainly didn't guess who did it, or what the motive might be, but was glad they didn't need to call in Scotland Yard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of it's time, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
If you're a fan of Agatha Christie this one's for you. I prefer the modern psychological approach but this novel is pleasantly diverting. I could hear and see the characters. If you think old fashioned murder mystery you have it. It's a good rainy day read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good old-fashioned murder mystery!, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
A good,well-written old-fashioned murder mystery! As it was written in the 1930's you were really taken back to a different world, when life seemed much simpler, although love, jealousy and greed were still major components! Am planning on reading The Lake District Murder soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Agatha Christie you'll like this., 14 May 2014
By 
Mr. Martin J. Owen "Martin Owen" (Sawtry, Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a simple story, compared with modern detective fiction, but there are some interesting plot developments in unexpected directions. Echoes of another time when ordinary middle class people like doctors and vicars had servants!
A pleasant read and not too demanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue on the coast!, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
This was a delightful novel. Genuine characters who were, in the main, kind and collectively interesting. Although perhaps a little naive, the story moved along pretty well with sufficient threads to keep the pages turning. Not a major blockbuster but a jolly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first in this series that I have read and ..., 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish Coast Murder (British Library Crime Classics) (Kindle Edition)
The first in this series that I have read and I will probably read more of them. An old fashioned who done it type of story, you cannot see what is going to happen but you get slight hints. I still have 10% to go and still do not know for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 415 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews