Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big
The idea of the child in an adult's body (or adult in a child's body even) has been done in films before this, in films after this and will probably be done again in the future.
Whether "Big" is the best of the bunch is a pretty subjective matter but in my humble opinion it simply has to be.
Tom Hanks is simply wonderful as the 13 year old Josh Baskin and was...
Published on 2 May 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
No subtitles which I did not spot in the description, very unfortunate.
Published 7 months ago by Matthias


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, 2 May 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The idea of the child in an adult's body (or adult in a child's body even) has been done in films before this, in films after this and will probably be done again in the future.
Whether "Big" is the best of the bunch is a pretty subjective matter but in my humble opinion it simply has to be.
Tom Hanks is simply wonderful as the 13 year old Josh Baskin and was quite worthy of his Oscar nomination. He brings an innocence to the role that is absolutely perfect, he never goes childishly silly and he never acts like a young boy pretending to be grown up, he simply acts like a 12 year old and the performance is incredibly realistic.
I think this is where this film scores over some of the other of this ilk, in that it concentrates on the golden times of childhood and doesn't become just a situation comedy. It reminds you of how wonderful it was to be 12, when the summer days seemed endless. It reminds you of how central your family was when you were young and how "best friends" really were the best.
Apart from Hanks there isn't really much room for anyone else. Robert Loggia as the kindly toy company boss is good value and Elizabeth Perkins as Hank's love interest performs with sensitivity. Special mention though for two fantastic child performers in both David Moscow as the young Josh but especially to Jared Rushton as Josh's best friend Billy.
It is sentimental, make no mistake about that, but I don't think it can be accused of being sloppy and I'm sure it will delight watchers both young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Film That Brings Out The Child In Everyone, 11 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
A wonderful mix of humour and sensitivity. Tom Hanks is undeniably great as the 12 year old in an adult body, with little peculiarities that you would expect a 12 year old to have in the adult world. The way he is oblivious to certain subtleties in how we interact like flirting. Although the progression of the story is not all that believable it is, of course, not supposed to be taken seriously under those terms. All of this film makes for good humour, and in some ways fulfils our childish desires, like running round the toy store playing with the laser guns, having a trampoline in our apartment.
It also of course tackles bigger issues and also questions certain concepts, like marketing. Does it really work with children, of course our man Josh has all these great ideas (he is a child) and he challenges all the ideas of the Right Hand Man McMillan, who represents the competitive, arrogant businessman who appears never to have had a childhood and understands nothing but what the figures and statistics say. In all of this Big Bad World Josh still manages to woo the woman with his childish charm and his reactions to sex, before and after, are the clichéd reactions of a child.
But the underlying story while he is having all this fun is his longing to return home, and despite a child's wishes he still cares about his mother who is desperately seeking the return of her son, believing him kidnapped by the adult Josh. The whole film is a build up to make us fall deep into Josh's world appealing to our child inside, and then suddenly he has to make the choice between his love and his family (his real life). Hanks' performance is touching, and an early indication of his strength in a lead role. A superb film and one I'll never forget from my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big comedy with a big heart., 2 April 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Tired of being small, 12 year old Josh Baskin makes a wish on a funfair fortune telling machine that he wants to be big. He awakes in the morning to find that he is in the body of an adult but still the same young Josh within. Chaos quickly takes hold and Josh has to flee to the city. Where, aided by his best friend Billy, they hope to track down the now moved on "Zoltar" machine and wish Josh back to his normal self. But it's going to take time to track it down so Josh has to take a job and things are about to get interesting indeed.

Tom Hanks (Adult Josh) was literally just around the corner from hitting the A list of Hollywood. His performance in this smashing, bittersweet comedy bagged him an Oscar nomination and helped him turn that particular corner. Directed by Penny Marshall, Big is arguably the best of all the body-swap comedies that have dotted themselves along the plentiful cinematic road. Receiving critical acclaim on release, its success lies not just in its appealing for the majority fairytale formula, but also with the star turn from Hanks, astute writing (Gary Ross/Anne Spielberg) and adroit direction.

It's not just a ball of fluff movie either, in amongst the plentiful laughs and heart lifting moments, there's food for thought involving life and its pacing. And there's a big intriguing ponder constantly hanging in the air; viewing the world thru a child's eyes may actually make more sense, especially in business! These things are given impetus by Hanks' fabulous show, from his terrifying first night in the city alone, to the sexual awakening brought out by his relationship with Elizabeth Perkins' (sparky and effective) Susan Lawrence (the latter of which is smoothly handled by Marshall), Hanks convinces and takes us with him into his new confusing world. Fine support comes from Robert Loggia as the boss won around by Josh's playful approach to work, and Jared Rushton as best friend Billy gives the film a firm footed axis between the old & young Josh.

There's some itches there, such as the barely registered grief of the parents missing a child, and there's always the old inevitability chestnut to linger in the background. But they are but mere small flaws in an otherwise wonderful movie. A film that both children and adults can watch and garner some form of resonance from. 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Keith Sanderson (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This is one of those films that you can take out of your library and enjoy over and over again.
Tom Hanks' portrayal of a young boy in an adults body is, in my opinion, simply superb, as he "fast-forwards'" over puberty and discovers love, before the realisation of his missed youth brings him full circle.
As already mentioned in other reviews, Jared Rushton's performance as Josh's best friend is simply outstanding, as is that of the beautiful Elizabeth Perkins. I love the way her character (Susan) reacts to the child-like innocence of Josh, as their relationship begins to grow.
There are so many great scenes but the one where Susan first returns with Josh to his apartment is one of my favourites, I mean, seeing her unceremoniously dragged on to the trampoline in an evening dress, and her reaction to that is so amusing, as is Tom Hank's line when he clarifies the sleeping arrangements prior to that.
John Heard puts in a good performance as the bullish, career-minded, company executive as does John Loggia as the boss of the company.
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hanks' best ever role?, 2 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
In his first Oscar nominated role, Tom Hanks (Forrest Gump) gives an outstanding performance as teenager Josh who makes a wish on a fair ground machine to be big. The next morning, Josh wakes up to find his wish has come true.

Director Penny Marshall's second film is a wonderful tale about the differences between teenage life and the grown up world with Hanks a catalyst in perhaps his best ever role.

The film contains many typical elements of both the young and the old world. From playing computer games at home to organizing promotion meetings, Big truly captures how life can transform quickly; just overnight for some of us (which was a brilliant idea to capture the true meaning of growing up).

It's a very good natured comedy and some very clever jokes are encoded to justify the genre beautifully.

There are some good feel moments, watch the piano scene in the toy store, comedy and enjoyment at its very best.

Jared Rushton (Honey, I shrunk the kids) has a marvellous role as Josh's best friend. Their song is really heart warming and humorous and the adventures they have together are great fun and epitomize childhood.

But its Hanks who steals centre sage with his dedicated performance as Josh. On build up to the film, he followed David Moscow around, who played young Josh, to see how he acted in real life and portrayed his actions in the film, a wonderful achievement and a great role.

Though the film follows a few clichés towards the end it is one of the best family comedies ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible- Hanks shows off his skill!, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
A. Perryman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting an awful lot from this film, if I am going to be honest. I am a huge Tom Hanks lover and I admire his work so much, but when this film was suggested to me, "old news" ran through my head. Swapping bodies? Waking up old? It's been done in a lot of films, before and after Big.
But Big will forever be the best.

It's just a purely charming, funny, easy-to-watch film which can be watched over and over again! Hanks' performance is really sublime; he places into that small cache of actors that just seem to be, effortless. One moment in this film struck me, and it's not an exciting moment at all! The time when he is watching TV and eating oreos I think completely shows off his fantastic acting... his feet brushing the wall, the way he eats, his expression, everything. It perfectly contains his ability to portray a 13 year old boy trapped in a man's body. Fantastic.

Elizabeth Perkins is of course beautiful and plays this part very well, complimenting Hanks (although it's hard to hold your place next to him!) Loggia is absolutely awesome as always, his character is very fun. The two young actors are just as they should be, free and funny.

This film will always be fantastic. The piano scene is of course one that has been parodied over and over again, and is pure genius.

Maybe a hidden gem, this film, especially for the younger generation who don't refer to the 80s for films! Must be watched! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger than ever!, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Big [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant edition of a great film. Lots of extras,but the standout is the extended cut of the film,a whole 26 minutes longer. It really enhances the storyline. Great disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Intelligent Film of how a boy transforms overnight into a grown up, 4 July 2008
By 
M. C. Crawley "Martin Crawley" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
There was a time when Tom Hanks had a boyish look about him...thus as an adult and this role fitted him perfect. Big is a delightful light hearted simplistic yet sentimental comedy drama about a young boy awakening the next morning as a grown up after a magical transformation was in the making the day before....A boy in an adults body helped him in getting a job with a toy manufacturing store only to be an expert in the genre because he was still a child in mind....Elizabeth Perkins plays the confused girl-friend when Hanks does well at his job becoming the flavour of the month then very popular as the new face on the block....Hanks plays the role with great realism as his child like mannerisms within adult surroundings are fantastic so much so you almost feel sad for the boy with his dilemma...Perkins plays a touching kind soul knowing there is something not right but wanting to protect all the same....This is a classic delightful film that is so simplistic it works a treat with great acting performances from the lead roles.......top rated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks as a 30 year old child. Amazing!, 3 Jun. 2010
This is a great family film for all ages. A story about a boy who wishes to be big and finds that his wish has been granted overnight.

Tom Hanks plays a 13 year old child in a 30 year old body as he makes a wish on a fortune telling machine. From there, he has to put up with new challenges set before him in the adult world until he finds the machine again. Now I think that is a well written story with a nice combination of comedy, romance and a few memorable scenes. Very good performances from the main actors too, especially Tom Hanks and Elizabeth Perkins. If you're over 30 years of age, you trying acting like a 13 year old. I'm sure it's no easy task.

This 2 disc special edition contains deleted scenes, commentaries and two versions of the movie, the theatrical version and the extended version (which contains all the deleted scenes.) Mind you, the extended version, I think has some scenes that may slow the plot of the movie down or are irrelevant to the story but other than that, I like both versions.
So I recommend this film to all those who are fans of Tom Hanks and those who like sweet romantic comedies. In my opinion, this is really a one of a kind movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks is a great actor!!!, 21 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Big [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This film is good and has humour in, as well as a bit of sadness at the end when he returns back home, as an adult, with his adult girlfriend, then changes suddenly back to a boy. He waves, then walks into his house to see his mother that he hadn't seen for ages because (when he was a teen/boy) he went to a fair and had a go on a machine. The machine asked what his dream was, and he said, 'To be big', so that night he went to bed as usual, and in the morning he was big - but he was an adult!! He went downstairs, and his mother screamed (she though he was a stranger) so he had to go out into the wide world, for two reasons. One is because he had to find the machine so he could wish to become small again. Two was becuse otherwise he couldn't go home again. So he began his strange, grown-up life.
This DVD/story is very good and quite funny. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Big - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Penny Marshall (Blu-ray - 2014)
£12.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews