Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near classic
I have been looking forward to this album for a while as it has been delayed several times.
It is not as quite as good as I was expecting but still arguably the best album of the year.
The album first few tracks are outstanding and except for two tracks in the middle (no regrets and let me love you) it is outstanding.

The two tracks I have mentioned...
Published 12 months ago by Moff itch

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DUMPERTRUK
AFTER HEARING THE SINGLES NUMBERS ON THE BOARDS AND NOSTALGIA I REALLY THOUGHT THIS ALBUM COULD TURN OUT TO BE QUITE SPECIAL BUT IT IS,NT
Published 10 months ago by dumpertruck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near classic, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to this album for a while as it has been delayed several times.
It is not as quite as good as I was expecting but still arguably the best album of the year.
The album first few tracks are outstanding and except for two tracks in the middle (no regrets and let me love you) it is outstanding.

The two tracks I have mentioned are not bad tracks they just feel out of place with the rest of the songs, would have been better if they held back the best songs from the mixtapes (trouble on my mind and blocka).

If you like outstanding lyrics and your rap music with excellent production this is a no brainer. The production is handled by Pharrell, Kanye West, Swizz beats, The Dream and a few others.

The only people who I wouldn't recommend this album to is pop rap fans but then if you were you probably wouldn't be here considering buying it.

I have raised a question to Amazon as it came out today but you can only get the mp3 version, the CD version is stating 28th October???
I've just purchased the cd version and you can download it straight away, guess I will just randomly be waiting for three weeks for the CD.

Best tracks: Numbers on the board, Nostalgia, SNITCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year?, 8 Oct 2013
By 
G. Oduro (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The debut solo album of Pusha T - one half of the critically acclaimed duo The Clipse - has finally been unveiled. With all the release date pushbacks many doubted whether it would ever arrive. It has, and it is worth the wait.

Disciples of Pusha's muscular, drug-driven lyricism will not be disappointed. King Push has delivered a masterpiece that must go down as one of the best albums of 2013. The oft-heard Rolex and champagne rhymes are interwoven with the harsh realities and consequences of a dealer's lifestyle, with a few subliminal stabs at Drake sprinkled throughout for good measure.

In pre-release interviews Pusha revealed that The Wire's fictional drug lord Marlo Stanfield was an inspiration for the essence of this album. The brash up-and-comer with little regard for the rules mirrors what Push feels he represents in the rap game. It's no coincidence the album's title matches one of the character's most memorable lines, and it's another example of Terrence lacing every line of this record with multiple layers of meaning (pun intended).

The star-studded roll-call of features includes Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, Pharrell, Chris Brown, The Dream, Future, Kelly Rowland, Ab Liva, Jeezy, and his G.O.O.D. Music labelmates 2 Chainz and Big Sean. You can't shake the suspicion that the label have tried to maximise the potential for commercial success by tossing in so much big name support, but to be fair the cameos feel organic and compliment each song.

"King Push" kicks off proceedings with a monster beat that Joaquin Pheonix allegedly sent in. "Numbers" and "Sweet Serenade" continue the dark brilliance before "Hold On" offers up introspective respite. "Suicide" harks back to Lord Willin' days as Pusha comfortably hop-scotches over an other-worldly Pharrell classic. "40 Acres" is the standout with The Dream bringing a soft, almost hymnal refrain within a minimalistic dirge. Interestingly, Push channels '97 Ma$e duetting with Kelly Rowland in "Let Me Love You". Unusual, but it works. "Nosetalgia" and "Pain" are classics, simple as.

With My Name Is My Name, Pusha T has unashamedly catered to his core fanbase by serving up pure, unadulterated coke rap. Critics will point to the lack of versatility and repetitive subject matter, but Pusha masterfully confirms his place as one of the finest rappers alive today. Whether there's enough here to attract new fans is debatable but the message is loud and clear; Pusha only knows how to give you that raw. And I for one applaud him for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hip-Hop Album of the year!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is My Name (Audio CD)
Best album of 2013.

Every track is exceptional, other than the one with Kelly Rowland!

A Must have for hip-hop fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neighbourhood Pusha, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pusha T goes hard with some fresh sounding beats. Could do without the Rowland feature. Otherwise great debut. 'Nosetalgia' is a contender for record of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is My Name (Audio CD)
Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is My Name (Audio CD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DUMPERTRUK, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: My Name Is My Name (Audio CD)
AFTER HEARING THE SINGLES NUMBERS ON THE BOARDS AND NOSTALGIA I REALLY THOUGHT THIS ALBUM COULD TURN OUT TO BE QUITE SPECIAL BUT IT IS,NT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews