Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC read
I PICKED THIS BOOK AT RANDOM,AND HAVE ENJOYED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ,THE DETAIL WAS AMAZING AND GIVES THE READER A FANTASTIC INSIGHT IN TO THE WORLD OF SUBMARINES AND THE PEOPLE WHO MAN THEM.
Published 7 months ago by andrew Graham

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Compared to Previous Books
I've read and enjoyed all previous books by Larry Bond so this one was a let down compared to past experiences. Don't get me wrong it's not a bad book just not the normal type of plot which Larry Bond is known for.

So what's the plot? 20 years after the end of the Cold War (2009) the Russians launch a new attack submarine with a an inexperienced but skilled...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by normngrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Compared to Previous Books, 21 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Hardcover)
I've read and enjoyed all previous books by Larry Bond so this one was a let down compared to past experiences. Don't get me wrong it's not a bad book just not the normal type of plot which Larry Bond is known for.

So what's the plot? 20 years after the end of the Cold War (2009) the Russians launch a new attack submarine with a an inexperienced but skilled captain. The US sends out an attack submarine to do geological surveys of the sea bottom in the Barents Sea but it is detected by a new passive underwater sonar system. In the game of chicken which follows when the two submarines tangle things go wrong and a major disaster happens. We then get lots of Cold war posturing amongst the senior Russian naval officers whilst trying to recover the submarine which has gone down. Mixed in with it is modern family action using the internet to pressure the Russian naval staff into providing answers to various questions. The US try to provide assistance which is initially rebuffed until what they offer is seen on the internet then a little entente cordiale comes into play.

It's a straightforward plot with no red herrings or guessing to be done. Not bad for a long journey or a rainy day but not a must buy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC read, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Jerry Mitchell Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I PICKED THIS BOOK AT RANDOM,AND HAVE ENJOYED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ,THE DETAIL WAS AMAZING AND GIVES THE READER A FANTASTIC INSIGHT IN TO THE WORLD OF SUBMARINES AND THE PEOPLE WHO MAN THEM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Jerry Mitchell Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
top class reading could not put it down the first class book from cover to cover hope there are more books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars FLOP 2, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Hardcover)
I have bought more of this authors books on the back of his earlier books-which were excellent;

Disappointingly this is another PC/Factory production that lacks characterisation and simple storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Fowler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product is the most brilliant item I have ever bought and I really enjoy the simplicity that it brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 Sept. 2010
By 
Mike G (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its OK but nothing really special. If you've read earlier books you may be disappointed as this is very predictable. A decent holiday read as it won't tax the old grey cells
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Choices by Larry Bond, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cracking good tale of the modern era, and, just as good as his previous stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Techno-thriller from under the sea, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Jerry Mitchell Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a modern day, post-Cold War submarine thriller, which is technically and technologically well developed. Some interesting angles on undersea operations, and interesting character evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Submarine rescue, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Jerry Mitchell Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent submarine rescue novel in the Arctic following a collision between the latest Soviet submarine and a US submarine. Excellent action and descriptions of submarine life and warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An extremely exciting read, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Choices (Jerry Mitchell Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
From start to finish a very gripping read. One of the best submarine fiction stories I have read to date. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in this world of nuclear submarines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews