Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too!, 14 April 2014
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
Only 30 years after CD players appeared we finally get these two albums released on CD to replace our ancient and played-to-death vinyl!

At first glance this looks expensive for an old album, then you realise that it is actually the two Spizz albums in their entirety. It is a bit of a shame it was not packaged that way to be clearer and also to include the cover art from Spikey Dream Flowers.

In an ideal world, this would be a 2-disc package, with each album having its own extras. Do A Runner could include the non-album singles and B sides (No Room, Spock's Missing, Hot Deserts, Legal Proceedings) while Spikey Dream Flowers could include the unreleased 12" single version of Soldier Solder and the 'doctors and nurses dub' version of Central Park from the B side of the single release. Until then this will have to be enough.

Spizz himself is still alive, well, and gigging and many of these songs still play a prominent part in the set list, as they should. In fact I have a long drive to see the current incarnation of Spizzenergi next week and this CD is going to be on the car stereo to get me in the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my brainwashing time . . ., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
The return of Spock at last!

At last one of my all time favourite albums has been released on CD way behind all the other reissues of the time. I must admit I had to play track 12 onwards first which consist of the second Spizz album Spikey Dream Flowers and it doesn't disappoint!

I have now deleted the poor vinyl-rip I had stored on my iPod!

I wasn't so smitten with Do A Runner even though it's a great record it lacks the energy and consistency of SDF, but with a fresh listen there are some stand-out tracks - New Species and Red And Black to name two.

Red And Black along with Soldier Soldier are reworkings of earlier Spizz days when the band were ultraminimalistic and just recorded guitars, vocals and broken bottles! They are great reworkings too.

Every track on SDF is a winner delivered at breakneck pace. Check out some Peel, demo and 12" versions of this period of Spizzenergi/The Spizzles if you can - they're also great particularly Soldier Soldier Extended Version and Downtown radio sessions.

Sadly there's no bonus material as the two albums take up the time limit for one CD. We can only hope these 'other versions' will see the light of day one day. But let's be happy with what we've got here!

If your interested enough in the band to be reading this then you should buy this limited edition CD while it's available.

Thanks Spizz-everything (Oil, Energi, Athletico, etc), CP Snare, Furry Records and everyone involved in bringing this to light . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hierarchy in motion and the velocity crushes my senses..., 1 April 2014
By 
Nogsy (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
Ok, so let me set it straight from the outset, Athletico Spizz 80’s, Do A Runner is and has been a huge favourite of mine ever since its initial release way back in 1980, so it was highly probable that mine would be a five star rated review. The only element likely to diminish that rating was the effectiveness of the remastering job and I am delighted to discover that this highly cherished music has not been marred in any way as a result of 21st century tampering. Quite the contrary – unearthing the original A&M tapes and subjecting them to a digital overhaul has yielded fabulous results on both Do A Runner and The Spizzles, Spikey Dream Flowers.

But what of the music? Well, Do A Runner is simply astonishing stuff - it’s lush, infectious, giddyingly joyous and eminently deserving of multiple rounds of ‘rapturous applause’ – in short, it’s a luxuriantly textured, witty and delightfilled masterpiece. It’s worth noting that the original sequencing of Do A Runner is retained here – and that matters. This is no ploddy 4/4 affair – this set of songs undulate, swoop, dive and plunge, creating eddying pools that ripple and dazzle as gales of Spizz’ singular humour peal forth in a torrent of superb vocal performances. A truly class act. Mention ought to be made of the fact that no singles were drawn from this LP – no cash-ins or any such tawdriness. True, Red & Black had an earlier birthing on Spizz Oils’, Cold City EP –but Athletico Spizz 80’s reversioning is a way more muscular affair by far.

Touched kicks-off proceedings in a relatively laid back manner but within the bounds of that song there is a clearly discernable sense of a band straining its leash – eager to reach its full and frenetic stride. Even during their somewhat more introspective moments, such as the completely brilliant Personimpersonator, the band retains tautness and a refusal to be reined in. ‘Somewhere the fever stops’ sings Spizz on the astounding lollopfest of Rhythm Inside – well after 34 years of listening to this remarkable LP I’ve yet to discover where the music even hints that it might let up on its insistent inventiveness. The majestic LP closer, Airships, driven as it is by Mark Coalfield’s seemingly impossible sub-bass tones and CP Snare’s insistent drumming, soars with all the grace of a sedate albatross. As hinted, this LP is never far from my turntable – I’m currently on my third copy of it such is the extent of airings it’s enjoyed down the decades – so taking delivery of this remastered CD has been a total joy. There is one slight niggle here though – there is no lyric sheet! Now, as it happens I’m fully conversant with Spizz’ oeuvre so I’m not personally at a loss - and to be clear, there are no deficiencies in the ridiculously charismatic frontman’s enunciation. Nevertheless, there is an abundance of lyrical gems on these LPs and I reckon a newcomer would revel in the opportunity to scan the wonderful wordage of Spizz.

At any rate, niggle aside, pretty much all of the superlatives above and more can be as readily appied to The Spizzles, Spikey Dream Flowers – though the humour quotient on the latter LP is cranked up to and beyond the mythical notch 11. One thing that strikes me as totally amazing is the fact that this is the first CD release of the LP! I sincerely hope that this reissue is picked up by younger music fans as the sounds herein are bound to delight any discerning listener as much as they do me, still! Seriously, if you’re pondering buying this fantastic disc ruminate no longer – just take the plunge – I’m entirely without a shred of doubt that you’ll derive huge pleasure from both Athletico Spizz 80’s and The Spizzles’ consummate skill and inventiveness – honestly, it’s shocking how good this music is. This is absolutely a must have item – don’t be ‘devoid of life and hollow within’ - grab it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
This CD to me is all about Airships The first album is total class but Airships is on another level. Didn't go much on spizzles album when I bought on vinyl but it is just there anyway. Nice packaging as well like the mini LP look! long overdue as someone else has correctly stated. Grab It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. C. Turner "Craig Turner" (Enfield, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
I gave this 5 stars as there is absolutely no doubt about the fantastic quality of the music on both the albums on this CD. I have loved Spizz's music since it was originally issued ~1980, and after over 30 years of trying, managed to see him live in concert last year - one of the highlights of my life (no jest). The energy and uniqueness of the original recordings speaks for itself.

The 2 albums are different from each other, but satisfyingly similar (i.e. you know it's Spizz).

I was fortunate to speak to Spizz personally in conversation when I saw him in concert last year and I can honestly say he is a gentleman and a scholar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only complaint is would have been nice with a booklet containing some pictures and, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
I had copied this album from vinyl to CD myself but luckily it has been given an official release. As an added bonus there is The Spizzles' Spikey Dream Flowers album included. Only complaint is would have been nice with a booklet containing some pictures and lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five scary blokes staring out from the cover - like the KGB!, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
Heard this band on the radio BBC 6, for the first time last night, and loved it, and the album was no disappointment. There are 21 tracks here, spanning the groups two album releases apparently and its brilliant. There seems to be a couple of different singers in the group, the keyboard player, and main singer, and the music is bursting with originality and energy. It sounds like a lot of post-punk bands like New Order, The Smiths, The Police, and REM, dark and tuneful. The best tracks are Scared, Risk, Downtown, Red and Black, and Personimpersonator (odd?!) The lyricist must have been interesting, as a lot of it misses out some essential words - a MYSTERY!!

The whole minimalist atmosphere of the package feels like Kraftwerk, New Order, Magazine, Depeche Mode - you know, austere, stark German autobahns, and brutalist architecture. All there is, is five scary blokes staring out from the cover - like the KGB!!

The bass guitar seems to take the melody tunes a lot of the time, with guitars keeping the rhythm and drums criss-crossing round it all. Some very competent and talented musicians, and great music. Since then, I have seen the band were in a punk film called Urgh! A Music War, so I am going to get that too- good day for Amazon! I’d like to see them in the flesh. Was going to give it four stars then thought - well.. it’s a gemaroon. A great find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Paul Florence (birmingham england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: Do a Runner (Audio CD)
Ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do a Runner
Do a Runner by Athletico Spizz 80 (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews