Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dr finally will see us!
Since I first saw these movies as a child, my love of Vincent Price and the Dr Phibes films have never waned.
At last those wonderful people at Arrow have issued a limited release (3,000) box set that not only incorporates both Phibes films with a clutch of extras but also a superb 100 page book to accompany the Phibes phenomena.
A shame that no deleted scenes...
Published 11 months ago by P Goodhead

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing lacking release...
This at first glance promises to be an exciting little release however you soon realise it is not worth its price tag

Both films ate presented in high definition, however both films are completely unrestored, the first film being the worst affected, there are several moments when the grainy images on screen seem to wash over the entire picture and whomever...
Published 9 months ago by Q. Finlay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dr finally will see us!, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
P Goodhead (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Since I first saw these movies as a child, my love of Vincent Price and the Dr Phibes films have never waned.
At last those wonderful people at Arrow have issued a limited release (3,000) box set that not only incorporates both Phibes films with a clutch of extras but also a superb 100 page book to accompany the Phibes phenomena.
A shame that no deleted scenes or such-like was either found or indeed around for inclusion but the quality of the movies on Blu-ray are superb, at times so sharp it belies the age of the movies themselves.
Along with Theatre of Blood and Madhouse, the Phibes movies are important for anyone who was interested in Price's career as they represent a clutch of fine English output with Vincent in the early seventies. Arrow have given us Theatre of Blood and now the Phibes box set, please let's have a similar issue for Madhouse to complete that Price (ly) period of Vincent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Vincent Price Fans, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have to say from the start that the content of the first movie in my opinion echos that of Theatre of Blood, but that apart it is a brilliant movie, and some of the ways Vincent Price despatches his victims has to been seen to be believed. The first movie follows Vincent Price as Phibes in his endevour to liquidate the surgeons he holds responsable for the death of his beloved wife. An enjoyable movie on any level. The second of the two movies covers Dr. Phibes quest to find the river of life before his rival. In my opinion not quite as good as the original, then sequels rarely are but very enjoyable just the same. I would recommend this set to any and all Vincent Price fans and anyone else who enjoys black comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And what a delight it is, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This treasured gem of a movie and it's sequel have been lovingly restored and presented on blu-ray. And what a delight it is. If you love the retro horror films of the 50's, 60's and 70's you will love this. Vincent Price was a major Horror star for over 30 years. So many of his films are classics of the genre. These two feature great supporting and cameo performances from other great actors and actresses. The packaging is great also. Even two commentaries for the first film. One featuring the 'League Of Gentlemen'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall looks great but the double page spread of nearly all the ..., 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Kevin D. Jordan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The box set is very well presented but what happened to the quality control on the booklet? Overall looks great but the double page spread of nearly all the photos has the main facial image in the middle of the booklet so means that the composure of the photo is totally ruined. I only mention this because it is a collectors box set and my comment should be seen as constructive feedback. Other than this Arrow are still the best at what they do, offering fans titles in the UK with great extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One great movie, one not so great, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
A C SHIELDS (melbourne , australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One great movie, one not so great. However, the horror fans love this sort of collection and are glad that Arrow (who seem to be more highly regarded as the years go by) keep releasing them. Long may they continue. I only wish I had more money, so I could buy all the Vincent Price titles. Good packaging, spoiled only by poor design and placement of photographs in the booklet, making them hard to appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Gore but lots of Fun, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's a classic two-film trip for fans - especially if you saw the films in their original release age - half the attraction of the story is in the comedy touches and the over-the-top art and design. Not a modern day shocker but of an age where costume and sets set the scene as much as the acting - no computer graphics but real physical sets - with the odd in-camera affect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "ARROW" RULES, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The item came really fast in perfect condition, brand new as described.The movie is good and funny, all-time horror classic.The picture quality and sound are great."Arrow" did perfect job as usual.There's beautiful booklet with info about the production.So, don't think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful films, 31 Mar. 2015
By 
Jesper W. Rasmussen (Copenhagen, DENMARK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Classic double-bill now on bluray and looking wonderful. Have have loved these film since forever. There's a poetry to them that's hard to explain. Two of Price's finest films - they go great with Theatre of Blood, now also available on bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tow good films, very good transfers, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
John Hogg "hoggy" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
tow good films, very good transfers,though i did not know when o bought them it was just one case with two films, comes with a nice booklet to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another superb release from Arrow video of both classic Phibes films, quality film print & great extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray]
The Complete Dr Phibes [Blu-ray] by Robert Fuest (Blu-ray - 2014)
£25.50
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews