Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Magic.
What can I say? - you either love him or loathe him (surely there's no-one who's undecided on the Master?)
Of my friends, family and acquaintances I am alone in loving Vincent Price. And, believe me, this is the pinnacle of his acting career.
It's really not just him- everything from the inventive storyline, witty script, creative directing (whatever happened to...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by marcusmuck

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray disc fault
First up - I love this film and never tire of watching it. My gripe is with Amazon and their customer service response. After pre-ordering this many months ago I was disappointed to find a pixellation fault on one of the extras. OK...maybe just bad luck? I informed Amazon of this and they sent a replacement - same issue I'm afraid. Not overawed by Amazon's response...
Published 2 months ago by TheYesMan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Magic., 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say? - you either love him or loathe him (surely there's no-one who's undecided on the Master?)
Of my friends, family and acquaintances I am alone in loving Vincent Price. And, believe me, this is the pinnacle of his acting career.
It's really not just him- everything from the inventive storyline, witty script, creative directing (whatever happened to Douglas Hickox?) to the various excellent supporting actors, this film is the best you'll get- in the genre....
Other reviewers have given this the once over & done a good job so I'll let you read those but there are also various sub themes as well; is it not ironic that Price's melodramatic acting is the central theme here? And your like or dislike of what's before you could be pivotal to your survival.....
The DVD itself is disappointing- there's an awful trailer and not much else; but IS there anything they could have dredged up? An interview or documentary perhaps?
Also- I'm finding that a lot of these DVD releases have awful sound quality. Ho hum.
Even so- this is pretty much my favorite film in this category and if you've got this far BUY IT!!
P.s: the locations (London) are also very effective- deserted post-industrial landscapes). Most of these will now been bulldozed or commercialised so enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray disc fault, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theatre of Blood Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First up - I love this film and never tire of watching it. My gripe is with Amazon and their customer service response. After pre-ordering this many months ago I was disappointed to find a pixellation fault on one of the extras. OK...maybe just bad luck? I informed Amazon of this and they sent a replacement - same issue I'm afraid. Not overawed by Amazon's response the 2nd time, I contacted Arrow films (the maker) who confirmed the fault and that they had already advised Amazon who should have not issued any faulty stock. Despite speaking to Amazon at some length about this...it didn't register...and was given no reassurance the disc would be "swapped" for a corrected version.,,merely send it back and we'll give you a refund. As such, both faulty items are being returned and have decided to buy from Arrow direct. 3rd time lucky?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price has a ball, 8 Oct 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Price decided to ham it up for the Abominable Dr. Phibes and Dr. Phibes Rides again. Riding on a tide, he took up this high camp film, and some of England's biggest name actors came out to play his victims. In Phibes style, you have a series of set victims - in this case, Stage critics - and the much scorned Shakespearian Actor Edward Lionheart extracting his revenge by killing his victims through acting out a scene from Shakespeare's plays. Deliciously witty Diana Rigg is there to support Price as his doting, darling daughter Edwina, who mourns her father's recent death, and hisses at the critics who refused to honour his talent while he was alive.
Price's all-star victims include his real-life wife, Coral Browne, Harry Andrews, Ian Hendry, Jack Hawkins, Robert Morley (especially funny twist on the tale!), Denis Price and Diana Dors and more. Hot on the trail of the killer, with Hendry in tow, are Inspector Boot (Milo O'Shea) and Sergeant Dogge (Eric Sykes), but Price and his "helper" are one step ahead.
It's Price at his wickedly delightful best. And great to see the funny takes of the Bards tales being used as a murder medium. Douglas Hickox (Zulu Dawn, Sitting Target), ably orchestrated the marvellously talent crew of actors through this black humour marathon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the extras alone deserve a standing ovation., 12 April 2014
By 
J. Rae (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Theatre of Blood Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Here is an update on this amazing new steelbook blu-ray...

Special Features:

High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) presentation of the feature, transferred from original film elements by MGM
Original uncompressed mono PCM audio
Optional English SDH subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing
An audio commentary with The League of Gentlemen, Jeremy Dyson, Mark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith
A Priceless Pot-boiler – Victoria Price discusses Theatre of Blood
A Fearful Thespian – author and film historian David Del Valle discusses Vincent Price in Theatre of Blood
Staged Reaction – Star Madeline Smith remembers Theatre of Blood
A Harmony for Horror – Composer Michael J. Lewis remembers Theatre of Blood
Original Trailer and a reproduction of the original press book material, illustrated with original archive stills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Taming Of The Critics!', 6 July 2007
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful movie. Vincent Price plays the brilliant but one dimensional Shakesperian actor Edward Lionheart. Lionheart's desire to perform in nothing but Shakespear earns him some pretty 'sour' and mocking reviews over the years from film critics. Subsequently ignored each year for the award of best actor because of this by these said critics, Lionheart decides to murder each one of them to get his revenge. To add to the sweetness of his revenge, Lionheart murders each one by replicating the death scenes from various shakesperian plays. Price is at his brooding, menacing and unnervingly calm best in this film and, despite the black comedy element to the film, there are moments which make you feel decidedly uncomfortable. As others have said, this is not a particularly good transfer to DVD and there are no extra's of note either but if you love 70's horror and or Vincent Price you should buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Guignol Classic, 17 July 2007
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Along with the fabulous casting, and the career defining performance from the greatest horror (and comic horror) actor of all, the best thing about this film is the story itself, what a corker! But I would still love to be told whose idea this actually was, did it get a theatre run first, as these sort of films often did, or was it taken from a short story or novel? If it's an original idea from the screenwriter, then someone from BAFTA ought to recommend they be given a special award, however belated, for coming up with one of the greatest ideas for a film there ever was. The whole structure, though, was very firmly based upon the slightly earlier Price vehicle, The Abominable Dr. Phibes. In fact it is slavish to this film's framework, but nevertheless it helped produce a much better realised film here, indeed a classic horror comic, perhaps the best ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'It's Lionheart alright, only he would have the temerity to re-write Shakespeare!', 6 Mar 2007
By 
P. L. Rock (Brighton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Vincent Price puts in a bravura performance as Edward Lionheart, a frustrated thesp, who is shamefully passed over by the critics for the 'Actor of the Year' award he so richly deserves or so he thinks! He exacts his revenge on the critics who variously describe his work as 'Lacking in originality' and 'Hammy' by 'dispatching' members of the critics circle using the plots of his most recent tour of Shakespeare as his inspiration.

This film is a real treat for fans of Vincent Price, who gives a 'highly theatrical' (in other words CAMP) and twisted performance as the deluded Lionheart. Price's comic timing is superb and the subject matter of the actor's relationship with the critics is underlined by a strong supporting cast of heavyweight actors who appear in the film. The plot is both absurd and tongue-in-cheek but deliberately so. As another critic meets his untimely demise by drowning in a vat of wine (from Richard III) Lionheart says sarcastically, 'I wonder if he'll travel well!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alas, poor Lionheart, 9 Dec 2002
By 
I. Kirby (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
One of the blackest black comedies I've ever seen. Vincent Price is characteristically OTT as the terrible Shakespearean actor Edward Lionheart, and Diana Rigg gives a touching performance as his fanatically devoted daughter Edwina. Together they cook up a plan (along with a load of old meths drinkers- and why not) to slaughter the critics who panned him during his lifetime (did I mention he'd faked his death?)
The cold hearted critics are played by a roll call of Great British Character Actors- Harry Andrews, Arthur Lowe, Coral Browne, Ian Hendry, Michael Hordern, Robert Morley, Jack Hawkins, Dennis Price and Robert Coote. Watching Price and his accomplices gleefully butcher them in bizarre Shakespeare-derived ways is great macabre fun. You could say the film's not much more than a string of gruesome deaths, and you'd be right. It is a bit lacking in plot and it's best viewed as a sequence of terrific set pieces.
Oddly, it seems as if the revelation of Edwina's involvement in her father's scheme is meant to be a surprise, so Diana Rigg spends most of the film wearing a false moustache and doing a deep voice. But that's nothing compared to seeing Vincent Price as a gay afro-headed hairdresser called Butch. Cinema doesn't get much more bizarre. Although the DVD's a bit cheap (a wonky trailer's the only special feature), it's still highly recommended. It's even got Diana Dors in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU ARROW, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theatre of Blood Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My daughter bought me this disc for fathers day and i am over the moon with it .I have liked this movie since i first saw it in the 70s and have tried high and low to get a good print well now thanks to ARROW my search is now over.The movie is a nice clear picture i have read some people have not been to happy with the picture but i can say it looks as good on this disc as it did on 35mm all those years ago..I think a lot of this comes from the fact it was made by UNITED ARTIST just take a look at HANG EM HIGH or CARRIE that were made around the same time and all have that grain look.Anyway back to the disc it has very good picture quality sound is okay but in parts could have been a bit better and the extras are very good.As for the story think DR PHIBES as an actor going around killing people in funny ways you get the idea.This was the last of the great horror movies PRICE made and is a must for fans.ARROW are showing the so called big boys how it should be done yet again please keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Price of Murder, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Jack Heslop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theatre Of Blood [DVD] (DVD)
Though its transference to DVD leaves much to be desired, with washed-out colours and patchy sound, Vincent Price's Theatre of Blood is still a funny, gripping thriller, elevated by the master. When you hear the premise - disgruntled actor (Price) serially murders his critics - it sounds like pure camp; fun, but devoid of pathos. What's truly extraordinary about the film is that, at times, Price actually brings real drama and tension to it. His Edward Lionheart is not just a pantomime villain but a wounded soul, deceived by an undernourished ego. He's also, of course, very amusing; the comedy and melodrama offset the goriest moments.

Aided by a gang of squatters, Lionheart, thought to be dead, plots revenge against the Critic's Circle, who denied him an award then mocked him when he reckoned with them. A passionate Shakespearean, Lionheart's murders are modelled on the Bard's. One critic is led to a trap and butchered by assassins, like Julius Caesar. These critics include Robert Morley as a dog-loving dandy, Coral Browne (who'd later become Price's third and last wife) as an ageing bitch-about-town, and Ian Hendry at the forefront as a kind of protagonist, though this is Price's show. The Avengers' Diana Rigg also shows up, as Lionheart's daughter.

Price must have relished the opportunity to dress up and perform as some of Shakespeare's most famous characters. He was a real actor, who'd studied fine arts and worked with Orson Welles. Though I'm sure he would have owned the stage I'm glad that horror films found him; he gave a lot to the genre, even if the "stars" that followed were mostly screaming slasher queens. Here he strikes a perfect balance between camp and menace. I was surprised by how moving the scene of his critical humiliation is, as he strides across a veranda reciting Hamlet. A scene of him feigning a tryst with one critic's wife, on the other hand, belongs to comedy, and he handles it like a pro.

As aforesaid, this is Price's show. The script almost feels engineered to background his supporting players. The most notable among them is Morley, who's like a cross between Christopher Biggins and an old money earl. Rigg, however, is perfectly good as Lionheart's daughter, and contributes to the pathos of his humiliation. Hendry's a bit of a no-trick pony, but to be fair his character's not deep. He vaguely fills the role of hero, though he's not particularly likeable. I can't really tell if that's his fault or the script's.

Without giving too much away, my favourite murders were those taken from Henry VI and Titus Andronicus. This is quite a gory film, considering its date and comic overtones. The Shakespeare motif reminds me of a comment Robert Barnard made about Agatha Christie's The ABC Murders, in which a killer targets those with alliterative names: "A total success - but thank God she didn't try taking it through to Z."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theatre of Blood Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Theatre of Blood Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Douglas Hickox (Blu-ray - 2014)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews