Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2010
Champion of a cinema cheaper, able to manage the low-budget and to match the pure kind of culture is not trivial to subpoenas, Roger Corman is a special case in American cinema that has inspired with his talent and his strength production, several directors from the generation of Spielberg, Coppola and Scorsese already in ¹. His adaptations of Edgar Allan Poe, initially taken very seriously, are now considered classics of children to be taken for example. "The Pit and the Pendulum," from a very famous story of the author of "The Black Cat", is a quick and fun horror movie that lives, due to the great Vincent Price, which crowned the irony of holding star such an era, the English Barbara Steele: good insights spectacular, the pace of narration and screenplay ,the film is a pleasant sight and square sophisticated than has been assessed at the time of removal. Wonderful, no special effects, without retouching virtual short acting and above all true Gothic setting realistic as anybody like.
Only that little suspense,necessary To tell the truth, if not the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 August 2011
I first saw this Vincent Price classic many years ago. It is part of Roger Corman's series of Price classics, including Raven The [DVD], Fall Of The House Of Usher [DVD] and The Masque of The Red Death [DVD] [1964]. Very atmospheric, but with hokey special effects. The lighting is wonderful, and they raided the European Dust Mountain to furnish the sets, and some of the most rotten curtains you could imagine.

The cast are not major Hollywood A-List stars (aside from Price, of course), but they do the subject matter justice, and if you like Edgar Allen Poe, you'll love this.

Vince Price plays a completely over-the-top madman who has buried his wife whilst she was still alive.

Problem? Her brother turns up to check on her, and ultimately locks horns with him.

Complication? The Pit and the Pendulum!

And what became of the woman who was buried alive? That's answered in the finale.

Enjoy! But watch late night, with friends and some suitable refreshments...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Excellent service arrived Thursday, to day, the film speaks for itself, I remember watching all these movies at the cinema and going terrified, now I know that they are still available I will get some more, and eventually the Peter Cushing Dracula but at the price it may be sometime as a pensioner now have to watch the pennies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2013
Roger Corman films of this era always seem to follow a similar path. However the pit and the pendulum had such an intriguing story that i think others (like the fall of the house of usher) didn't quite have. People always use the phrase 'Price hams it up' when describing Vincent Price's various portrayals of troubled men. However I always felt this did a disservice to Price's acting as he always drew the viewer in to his creepy, trouble persona without feeling he was, so called, 'ham acting'. The pit and the pendulum offers a tale of betrayal and has a neat twist at the end. It reminds me of house on haunted hill as it's got a great story to go with all the spooks and creepiness. I also like that Barbara Steele is in it as I really loved her performance in Black Sabbath and it's no less effective here (even if, sadly, she has been dubbed again). It's a great one for Halloween.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Was disappointed as I had seen as a young child and thought spectacular at time but looking at it from adult point of view pretty disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
this is the best of the price poe AI movies i have seen so far price delivers yet again.the plot is great but everyones acting except for price is poor it is his acting that brings this film up to a good level without him it would be lost.this film is worth watching for the ending and prices usual overacting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
On first impression this seemed quite dull, low-budget and cheesy, however it wasn't long before I was drawn in and hooked on the mystery. Amazing that a film coming to 60 years of age does atmosphere and character much better than modern horror and gore-fests. Well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
I was delighted to receive this item before its due date. And the price was very fairly reduced. I'd been looking forward to seeing this classic in blu-ray form and it by no means disappointed. A marvellous buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Loved everything about this movie. The hammy acting, everything! i first seen this film years ago when I was about 12 and it scared me then. Funny how over time things change"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
I love the old movies and Vincent Price. If you like old classic horror movies then this is a great one for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)