Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra and Riddle swing their way through Cole Porter, 14 Jun 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
"A Swingin' Affiar" is one of the albums Frank Sinatra released in 1957 in what was arguably the greatest year a single artist had for turning out albums. This was the fifth of six albums Sinatra put out that year, predated by two other classic records, "Come Fly With Me" and "Where Are You." However, "A Swingin' Affair!" will most remind Sinatra fans of his 1955 album "Songs for Swingin' Lovers!," since it follows the same formula in providing up-tempo, swing material arranged by the great Nelson Riddle. However, this time around Riddle employs more brass giving the songs more of a hard jazz edge. The featured composers are Cole Porter, who has the opening track "Night and Day" and three others including "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To." You will also hear songs by Gerswhin and Duke Ellington. As a bonus track we also get a version of "The Lady is a Tramp," which makes for a nice finale. I would not put "A Swingin' Affair!" on my list of Ten Essential Sinatra Albums, but it would definitely be on the next ten I would list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
If you are just starting to build up a Sinatra collection start with this CD and "Songs for Swingin Lovers". They are both superb and epitomize the "swinging" sound that Frank Sinatra and Nelson Riddle developed at Capital in the 50s. Every track is a classic - it should be in every record collection. Forget "My Way" this is Sinatra at his peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swingin' Indeed, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
This follow-up album to "Songs for Swingin' Lovers" is every bit as good. The opening cut of "Night and Day" has become a classic, but each and every track is arranged- by Nelson Riddle- and sung perfectly. "Affair" differs from "Lovers" mainly in that, although the songs are linked stylistcally, they are not connected thematically, which does rob the album of some focus. However, no Sinatra fan's collection is complete without this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra and Riddle swing their way through Cole Porter, 18 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
"A Swingin' Affiar" is one of the albums Frank Sinatra released in 1957 in what was arguably the greatest year a single artist had for turning out albums. This was the fifth of six albums Sinatra put out that year, predated by two other classic records, "Come Fly With Me" and "Where Are You." However, "A Swingin' Affair!" will most remind Sinatra fans of his 1955 album "Songs for Swingin' Lovers!," since it follows the same formula in providing up-tempo, swing material arranged by the great Nelson Riddle. However, this time around Riddle employs more brass giving the songs more of a hard jazz edge. The featured composers are Cole Porter, who has the opening track "Night and Day" and three others including "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To." You will also hear songs by Gerswhin and Duke Ellington. As a bonus track we also get a version of "The Lady is a Tramp," which makes for a nice finale. I would not put "A Swingin' Affair!" on my list of Ten Essential Sinatra Albums, but it would definitely be on the next ten I would list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affair or Lovers, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
I differ from most Sinatra fans by believing that this album is even better than the legendary Swinging Lovers. On this album Sinara's voice has matured to the level of perfection that he held for a dozen or so years. His popularity both as a singer and actor has given him that aura of " ring a ding ding" confidence which give the song performances the credibility of life 's experience. The program of songs flows with perfection . His interpretation on " I wish I were in Love again" and "Stars fell On Alabama" are lothario personified. I would guess that most Sinatra fans have both albums ,but for those unfamiliar with both this and Swinging Lovers,they should buy both poste haste and give Robbie Williams plagaristic Swing while... and even Michael Buble albums to Oxfam and listen to the master crafstman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
This album is Brilliant. If you love music you will love this. Great tunes and a great voice. I haven't listened to all Sinatra's music but there can't be much that is better than this. Another Amazon review of his music said pour some bourbon; I would echo that sentiment. Buy it then buy some bourbon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and uplifting - this really swings!, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
The 'Nelson Riddle' era of Sinatra swing and jazz-balladering is my favourite period in the singer's career. I tend to pass on his earlier and later material for a variety of reasons, but the 'fit' between Sinatra and Riddle is uncanny and if you've already got 'Songs for Swingin' Lovers' (which I've had for years) this album is just as good. We are treated to Sinatra's interpretations of a variety of composers and authors, including the Gershwins/DuBose Heyward (I Got Plenty o'Nuttin'' from 'Porgy and Bess'), Rodgers and Hart, and of course Cole Porter, who provides the splendid 'Night and Day' which the producer had the foresight to put right at the beginning of the album where it's a real grabber. A must for fans - and recommended if you are just interested. A propos of which, there are good sleeve notes. It won't break the bank, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to songs for swingin lovers!, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
1957's "A Swingin affair" is very much the sequel to the previous years "Songs for swingin lovers" Again with Nelson Riddle on arrangements Sinatra again assembled 15 songs of swingin numbers laced with classic Sinatra vocals. This album almost drops a star for me only because track to track comparisons with the aforementioned "Swingin lovers" have that album come out on top in terms of the material but it's still a fantastic album and one of sinatra's best albums still. That's not to say because it's not as good as SFSL this is any less worthy an album for your collection because it isn't, but this is a slight notch below but only just. We have the classic Riddle arrangement of "Night and Day" to kick off the album,one of Sinatra's most famous songs and the amazing "I Wish I Were In Love Again" is one of my favourite songs of all time from Frank and should have been performed by him more. "A Swingin affair" would definitely rate in my top 5 Sinatra albums of all time along with "Songs for swingin lovers" and several others.

If your new to Sinatra and want to get just a few classic albums for your collection then i'd certainly recommend this be one of them as it shows him and Nelson Riddle very much at the top of their game.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing Mono, 24 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swingin Affair (Audio CD)
Once in a while something happens that makes you smile, a contentment settles across your face and you realise that it is Frank. No matter how I try I cannot escape the fact that this guy produced a sound like no other. This sacd which is recorded in MONO produces some of the best sound I have heard in years. One or two of the tracks sound slightly different to the others but nevertheless are outstanding by any standard. 1957 recordings they may be but 2014 technology has made them sound just too marvellous for words. I paid the money, received the cd in forty eight hours and played it immediately. Finished and content that money was well spent. I feel like filling the page with all the adjectives i can muster, but you have seen it all before. So just buy it, settle down and know its just brilliant. By the way on headphones it just blows your mind really it does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Sinatra, 21 Oct 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Swingin' Affair! (Audio CD)
This is a joyous Sinatra recording,featuring some marvellous songs.
The whole album is non stop entertainment with Frank Sinatra showing off his talent in spades.
This is an album that is in a similar bracket to "Songs For Swining Lovers" & although not quite as good as that masterpiece, is a swinging, upbeat collection of Sinatra classics.
My personal favourites are "Stars Fell On Alabama" & "I Got It Bad and That Aint Good" but every song is hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swingin Affair
Swingin Affair by Frank Sinatra (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews