Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easily the best new tv drama of 2013
There were two great new tv dramas that came out in 2013... The Vikings and The Americans. Out of the two I think the Americans just edges the best drama.

Considering who they are supposed to be playing and the paranoia the acting is great. Each episode adds to the story and fill in episodes are minimal and where they do occur, they provide essential background...
Published 13 months ago by Nym

versus
21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good thriller
This cold war 80's set drama has a slightly shaky start but soon settles in to a satisfying spy thriller. A family where the parents are spies and the kids are totally unaware are in the midst of the cold war and things are starting to get tricky.

Each of the 13 episodes is punctuated with some good action and a tense story. Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys are...
Published 20 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easily the best new tv drama of 2013, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were two great new tv dramas that came out in 2013... The Vikings and The Americans. Out of the two I think the Americans just edges the best drama.

Considering who they are supposed to be playing and the paranoia the acting is great. Each episode adds to the story and fill in episodes are minimal and where they do occur, they provide essential background knowledge to the storyline which is unlike many tv dramas these days.

Each episode has some action but almost everything is absolutely believable. This is no Jack Bauer/James Bond type set of spies... these are people who make mistakes, who ride their luck and who recruit others to do the dirty work... which makes this spy drama one of the more believable TV spy dramas in some time.

The whole perspective from the position of the KGB buys into the recent trend of making the traditional 'bad guys' the heros. You are never sure whether you want them to get caught or whether you want them to get away.

The only bit that stretches reality is the role of the FBI spy catcher... but I really like the coincidential nature of the story because it allows the viewer to see him live like a normal person and make the same mistakes and successes as someone in that role would actually make. FBI agents have families and live in the suburbs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real breath of fresh air, 26 Aug. 2013
It is so refreshing to watch an American-made TV series that doesn't fall into the usual patriotic cliches. These anti-heroes are beautifully portrayed and wonderfully sympathetic, brilliant performances from all concerned. It's a gripping, unusual, really special series and I can't wait for the next season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive and interesting, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This strongly scripted show delivers the goods in every department. Action and suspense are woven into a series of adventures where the two heroes are soviet agents operating in 80's America. The two leads make a strong screen pairing and their strengths and voulnerabilities are portrayed with commitment and emotion without falling into melodrama or cliche. As well as an uncompromising look at the darker side of spying the show even manages to provide a unique twist on the will they / wont they scenario. The idea that two people are basically forced into marriage and parenthood whilst being given outlandish tasks by their KGB masters is deftly handled in some of the best TV I've seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, furious,thrilling, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Diane Coffey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Americans Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Took a chance on this one and started buying episodes. I wasn't disappointed. Everything from graphics of title to plot is truly thrilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating scenario with great scope for plot development and so forth, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sex, violence and duplicity. People have made much of the 'period' stylings of The Americans, set c.1981, but for whatever reason I ignore them or simply don't rate them as important. What is compelling are those qualities which always make US drama compelling - the exploration of intelligent themes, character development, dramatic irony, engaging retro music. On domestic telly this could be compared with Homeland (also a matter of war and national security). I'd say Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell are the more subtle but also much more physical pairing, in contrast to Claire Danes and Damien Whatsit. The Americans doesn't have quite the bravura of Homeland, but it's much easier to believe in.

Sleeper spies (Directorate S) go active in Cold War era Washington and undertake various missions to keep Moscow apprised of what's developing in US defence. The real interest is in the psychological turmoil inculcated when two people assume false identities, a fake marriage, but create a real family with 2 kids and a car in suburbia, right across the street from the friendly neighbourhood FBI agent and his brood. I can't say I believe in every detail: Elizabeth's bloodymindedness and her sparring with Claudia in particular, or certain other plot contrivances. All in all, The Americans is brimming with tremendous scenes and a superb impersonation by Welshman Matthew Rhys of a Russian pretending to be an American. No lack of action and it has the potential to be developed further and make itself unmissable (Season 3 is due soon).

Good show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part Of The Family, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
'The Americans' is such a good series, not difficult to get caught up with the storyline. We learn as we go along that this series is really about marriage. At first a marriage of convenience, then a marriage of love.

In 1981, Philip Jennings played by Matthew Rhys and Elizabeth Jennings, played by Keri Russell are Soviet intelligence agents from the KGB's Directorate S, operating in Washington, D.C.. They live with their children, Paige and Henry who do not know their secret. This is an ordinary American family except they are Russians under deep cover and will do anything for their 'mother country'. Remember this is in the 80's when Russia and the US were involved in many nefarious misdeeds. As luck or not would have it, FBI counter-intelligence agent Stan Beeman, played by Noah Emmerich moves into the neighborhood. He and his family become good friends with the Jennings.

We, of course, can see all that goes on, the wigs, aplenty, the mustaches, the clothes, the counter espionage and the killings. Stan becomes suspicious once, but nothing ever pans out. In fact he is set up to fall in love with another Russian woman, who reports everything. Stan's mistress becomes all important to him. Margo Martindale,one of my favorite actresses, is the supervisor to the Jennings, and she is as ruthless as anyone. It is quite interesting watching the Russians spying on the US, and the stories they tell.

This is such a well acted series. Superb acting along with the superb scripts boil down to one heck of a series. This marriage of convenience leads to love and to many secrets, and we feel part of the family.

Recommended. prisrob. 03-08-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, well acted Cold War drama from the "bad guys" perspective, 9 Mar. 2014
Great acting. Great overarching storyline and mini storylines. Gives an examination of the mindset of the "bad guys" of the Cold War, and makes you think maybe they weren't so bad. Can't recommend it highly enough: buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold war spies drama., 19 Mar. 2014
By 
A. Pestell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining and intelligent script writing with good plot development. Makes you wonder how much mof the plot is based on real events and experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comrades, Watch Now!, 11 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Americans is a terrific show. It concerns the lives of two KGB agents living in the early 1980's
U.S.A. They are the perfect model of the American dream. However they are dedicated to the Soviet cause
and are involved in espionage, kidnapping, sabotage, blackmail and murder. This show can be very dark.
On the other side we see the life of an F.B.I. counter intelligence agent who is equally dedicated to catching
the Russians.
The plots are gripping, the acting superb, the writing brilliant and the attention to detail regarding life in the 1980's
Is wonderful.
This show is on a par with Breaking Bad, not quite as good but very close. It really is a terrific show and after a couple of episodes you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been watching it since episode 1 and am totally gripped by it. Yes some episodes are a bit 'racy' but I find the whole thing enthralling and cant wait each week for the next episode. One or two episodes were a bit difficult to follow but they are building the characters and plots and reflecting on the cold war. I find it very authentic and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews