Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to raw excellence
Despite all the praise it got (uplifting, etc) I wasn't a fan of the last album Wonderful, Glorious. Too much uplift to the detriment of music quality (although I accept this is a personal thing and others may love it). This album, however, is what I love Eels for. Raw, close to the bone lyrics, simple but great melodies, I just think it's a great album. I also like...
Published 13 months ago by Y. Robin

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, but slightly deflated
I was expecting a bit more from this latest release after (in my eyes) the disappointing last album. It's better then Wonderful Glorious, but it's not up to the standard of my 3 favourite Eels albums (Electro Shock Blues, Daisies of the Galaxy and Blinking Lights). Must admit, I've struggled to like a whole album of Eels material since Blinking Lights - like about...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr E Rules again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great! Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Eels, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
mitd2004 (Turin, Italy) - See all my reviews
I can't stop listening to Eels music as I know I will always find, after 10 records, some gems buried among Eels standards. This album is good, but nothing really stands out for me. Just more of the same. I would be excited if it were my first Eels record, but it's not. Better than Hombre Lobo, End Times, and Tomorrow Morning, anyway.
Best tracks are Parallels, Lockdown Hurricane, Agatha Chang, and Mistakes of My Youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
2929 (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
As expected, prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars E'S ON A SADEE AT THE MOE..., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
This album is ok but as I suspected in the title it might be one of his more sadish albums, as E can be quite emotional about his past, dont get me wrong I think the guy is a genius, got nearly all his stuff, I dont think I will be going to see him tour this time round as its all seated arenas, when I saw him tour last year with Wonderful glorious he absolutely rocked at rock city Notts, best gig I had been to for years..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael David Treacy (Lewes, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slippery Genius, 23 April 2014
By 
Mark A. Burt "mark79724" (Paisley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
No messing here. I really love this album, not a duff track in site. Yes it's a bit mournful and very chilled and as always, thought provoking. If you love EELS then it's a no brainer. Alongside Beck's Morning Phase it's easily the best release of the this year so far. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
Cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett (Audio CD)
Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews