Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good compilation, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD as a back up to my VeeJay vinyl and I am generally happy with the choice of recordings. Great to see the inclusion of Priscilla Bowman and her excellent up tempo blues recording of 'keep your hand off my baby' although there could have been a couple of more female blues artists included .Jimmy Reed,John Lee Hooker,Roscoe Gordon ,Billy Boy Arnold (why not his 'I wish you would?')are all represented here and with the knowledge that it is difficult to satisfy every taste I find this VeeJay compilation to be a good buy. Vee Jay was an excellent Chicago based company and issued many fantastic blues recordings during 1950's.During 1960's they issued some fine soul recordings but personally I shall never understand why they suddenly started to issue the Beatles early recordings in the States.Many will say,'money'but the fact is VeeJay went into administration soon after!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little gem to own, really happy, 26 Sep 2012
This CD set is a great bargain. It is part of a series of Rock n Roll and Rockabilly Cds released by this label.
Amazed at how its remastering allows older artists to still be heard with such clarity. For the price of a pint, this is an absolute top album to own and an excellent way to build up your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Home Chicago!, 10 Aug 2014
Vee-Jay out of sweet home Chicago!!!! Besides the blues, there were commercial successes featured here: Gene Chandler's "Duke of Earl" (No. 1 in 1962), Jerry Butler tunes, the Dells' "Oh What A Night"..etc.

Dee Clark's "Raindrops" is not the song I grew up listening to; the one I know begins with a heavy rain storm.

Highly recommended tracks include the Staple Singers' "Uncloudy Day" (I bet you'll get goosebumps!) and the Hi-Liters' "Bobby Sox Baby" for some pure '50s R&B experience. Rosco Gordon is good too with "Just A Little Bit" and "No More Doggin" and the original "You've Got What It Takes" by Bobby Parker, later re-recorded by Marv Johnson for Motown.

All in all, pretty decent compilation for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Cheap!! A Must Have, 12 Nov 2013
By 
P. ROBERTS "bluesmanpete" (Torquay, Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection and such good value. A must have if only for Gene Chandler's Duke Of Earl, which possibly has the most humorous lyrics of any song that crossed the pond to England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big boss man, 24 Oct 2012
By 
K. Carruthers (cumbria, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cant believe i am hearing these artists and recordings for the first time,recorded in the late fifties and early sixties.where have i been,these are absolutely fantastic sounds.i want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money.., 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. J. G. Tomlinson "Johnny T" (London U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great compilation for collectors and new comers to this wonderful 50's and pre Beatles Era of Music. Excellent compilation to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Boss Man- The Vee Jay Story, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music reminds me of my childhood and will play it on a regular basis, you should have it in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vee Jay story, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD; a good range of rhythm and blues and doowop with many tracks that I had never heard before. Many excellent performances and a CD that I listen to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An embarassment of riches for old school R'n'B fans., 24 Nov 2012
By 
D. Sainty (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A treat from start to finish for lovers of music on the cusp of r'n'b and rock'n'roll.By turns bluesy, soulful and rockin' this is music to get you moving,grooving and shaking all over, although not necessarily in that order. A snip at the price too.I really did quite like this. A lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews