Customer Reviews


9 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest and enlightening, humorous and entertaining
Having lost my mum to breast cancer whilst never being able to go through the daily grind of her treatment with her, I found Lynne's story helped me to understand what they both went through and that with faith, courage and support you can get through anything and still have a smile on your face!
Published 16 months ago by jack morris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
ok
Published 6 months ago by roy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest and enlightening, humorous and entertaining, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
Having lost my mum to breast cancer whilst never being able to go through the daily grind of her treatment with her, I found Lynne's story helped me to understand what they both went through and that with faith, courage and support you can get through anything and still have a smile on your face!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
Lynne Mattick brings us through the trauma of breast cancer and mastectomy with a lot of humour and a lot of self understanding. The story leads you on, running from episode to episode, eager to show us the next steps in her journey.

Everything is described with enormous emotional clarity; we know her better and better as the book progresses (and like her more and more too).

This book should be given to all health care managers and practitioners to help them get a better understanding co what their subjects go through ... Not fun, but always helped by a show of interest or humour or care. But anyone facing major hospital involvement in their lives will also be encouraged and supported by this book.

Loved it! Laughed with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
A warm, humorous and insightful view of a woman facing breast cancer (again), how she felt, what she went through and the choices she made.

I'm fortunate not to have suffered with this myself, but know all too many that have and this gives a more in depth understanding of the feelings and emotions of how the patient feels and all the tests and treatment they face.

And well done, Lynne, for giving that doctor a piece of your mind. What he did to you (and undoubtedly many others) was downright cruel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true reality check!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
A brave story, giving those of us fortunate enough not to have been in this predicament and understanding of the opportunities and challenges and helping us to understand the power of family and friendship. An excellent read and in no way morose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Life, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
David Taylor "Bigdave" (Christchurch, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
A funny and honest - but deadly serious nonetheless - comment on an illness that frightens most people and I hope that this helps some people at least to deal with the trauma of cancer. It also reflects the determination of the author to deal with the merry-go-round of the NHS and highlights the good, bad and very bad aspects of the service supposedly in place to treat and support us during the identification and treatment of any illness.

Perhaps this should be regarded as essential reading for those in the NHS - and perhaps the ignorant politicians who allegedly know best - as it gives an insight into the Service, good and bad, from the patients perspective. Maybe they will learn something that leads to a NHS that reflects patients needs rather than political/bureaucratic whims and wishes and give us a service fit for purpose. After all we pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this in one sitting......., 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
Frank, honest, humorous and compelling. I read this in one sitting as I just wanted to keep reading. There is not a hint of "why me/poor me" despite the subject matter and Lynne is more forgiving of other peoples failings than I think I could be. A must read for anyone to understand the trials and tribulations that women go through pre, during and post cancer treatment. wishing Lynne health and happiness for the future, your strength and humour are inspirational and to that one women who chided you for being "unfeminine" I think she should hold up a mirror to herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars much appreciated, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought for my sister in-law and she told me she had thoroughly enjoyed and could relate to it completely as she has just been through the exact same thing as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 23 May 2015
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful book. Funny and thought provoking.
It shows the courage that women display when faced with cancer.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socks and Stuff: One woman's humorous look at her breast cancer treatment (Kindle Edition)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews