Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and as always he delivers his brilliant brand of sophisticated and different pop
Nowadays I think it's quite rare to have such a huge pop star how can actually play instruments and produce his own music. Pharrell played every instrument and was executive producer for his second solo studio album, and as always he delivers his brilliant brand of sophisticated and different pop. Though a lot of people would buy this album for the two massive singles...
Published 3 months ago by Will. B

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Just buy the single. There are no more gems to be mined here.
If this album could have been described as a one-note wonder it would be better than this. If every track was along the same lines a Happy it would be repetitive but at least listenable and catchy. Instead it is a one-hit wonder with Happy standing apart as totally different in style and quality to all of the other tracks. I would love to have watched the record execs...
Published 23 days ago by Def Jef


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and as always he delivers his brilliant brand of sophisticated and different pop, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
Nowadays I think it's quite rare to have such a huge pop star how can actually play instruments and produce his own music. Pharrell played every instrument and was executive producer for his second solo studio album, and as always he delivers his brilliant brand of sophisticated and different pop. Though a lot of people would buy this album for the two massive singles 'Marilyn Monroe' and 'Happy' it is riddled with juicy pop tunes with an edge that reminds me of the N*E*R*D days. 'Marilyn Monroe' is one of the fav's on this album and it works brilliantly as the opener, combining sweet strings with a heavy and funky drum and bass back up. Then before 'Happy' kicks in on the fifth track there is 'The Hunter' the most N*E*R*D song on the album dripping with sexuality and achingly slow paced to enhance the seductive vocals. As the album progresses the production varies even more with songs like 'Lost Queen' with it's African tribal beats and a classically arranged R&B ballad 'Know Who You Are' featuring Alicia Keys. But the song that I feel is the most impressive, alongside 'Marilyn Monroe' is 'Gust Of Wind. It's trippy chorus ripe with auto-tune gives the atmosphere that the song needs and like 'Marilyn Monroe' it is laced with lovely strings.
Yes it is pop, yes it is the album with the most over played song on the radio but it is also Pharrell, one of the most inventive pop stars of the past 5 years. The pop music community always needs someone like this.

Essential Tracks:
Marilyn Monroe
Brand New
The Hunter
Happy
Gust Of Wing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky, sexy and smooth, 4 Mar 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
Pharrell is really on top of his game here. He is the go-to vocalist, producer and writer, and this album will just stamp his name on the music hall of fame. Despite some smooth, funky, disco tracks that could have been written pretty much any year since about 1970, they are produced with a 21st century slickness that just makes you tap your feet.

Happy is still the stand out track, and would the one track I'd keep coming back to. But this is a party album, full of celebrity guests, funky beats and disco bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oozing class, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
This album wasn't an instant success on the ears for me,the best albums in my collection weren't immediately great, but after a couple more listens it sounds better and better. I was also afraid that this album would be so commercially produced but its quite the opposite. The first few tracks are fairly reminiscent of his N.E.R.D. days and the use of a funky bass in the album is superb.

Hunter is a massive tune, from a very solid album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pharrell, the producer genius, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Pete (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
All songs are great, Cant be any happier!!! My favourite tracks are Happy, Gush and It Girl

Five out of Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 5 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
Just when I thought Pharrells chart-domineering era was over, he goes and released this gem. Honestly, I thought 'Happy' was going to be the best song on the album and there wouldn't be a point releasing a full-length LP.

Every song here has the potential to be a hit single.. And at £8.99, it's a bargain really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bought it.....but heard it, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
Mr Williams just knows how to rock the house. This album is just very good........If you do not get up to this album you are dead inside!!!!

I very happy album full of summer soul funky beats and very little hip hop, a bit old skool 1970s, 1980s feel to it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars C O O L, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
Despite being ludicrously consistent in supporting roles, he's never had much success as a leading man: N.E.R.D., the early-'00s rap-rock band he led with fellow Neptune Chad Hugo, and his no-fun 2006 solo album, In My Mind, are mostly best forgotten. That bad luck ends with Pharrell's second solo disc. Girl is a simple, even slight record – and that's definitely meant as a compliment. Everyone in pop owes him a favor, but the superstar cameos are few and easefully turned: There's Timberlake harmonizing on the mirror-ball fantasia "Brand New," and there are the robots of Daft Punk vocoding along to the spiraling astral-groove come-on "Gust of Wind." The music is just as uncluttered as the track list, riding the light, euphoric vibe Pharrell established on the album's Number One hit, "Happy." The only requirement for getting into this club is admitting your own joy.

The 10 songs on Girl are steeped in sunshine, air and the most natural, universal strains of Seventies and Eighties R&B. The thick, juicy beats are full of hand claps and falsetto sex; the overall vibe is less $300 champagne behind the velvet rope than Miller High Life on the stoop in summertime. Where Jay Z big-ups his Basquiats and Kanye namedrops Le Corbusier, Pharrell plants his flag on the stanky soil of American pop culture at its most goobery: "Duck Dynasty is cool and all/But they got nothing on the female's call," he teases on the elegantly asinine "Hunter," a daffy blast of disco slapstick.

When Pharrell first tickled our collective trunk 15 years ago with genius-establishing Neptunes cuts like Mystikal's "Shake Ya Ass," his go-to beat was dirty and Southern. Lately, he's drawing from a broader, smoother palette: "Hunter" evokes New Wave sophisticates Kid Creole and the Coconuts, and the high-gloss strings and jazz-kissed keyboards on "Gush" could give 1979 Quincy Jones the vapors.

Girl plays like a concept album, the concept being that Pharrell likes girls a lot. But he's never pushy or gross about it. On opener "Marilyn Monroe," he includes OG strong woman Joan of Arc in his historical canon of hot chicks. And the album's most charming song, "Lost Queen," is a Lion King doo-wop valentine with trace elements of South African mbube, beautifully sung with a lovely, generous sentiment: "Though my planet's full of warfare, you make it feel like a dream." Times like these, it's nice to see such a good dude winning.

Read more: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/albumreviews/g-i-r-l-20140307#ixzz3HZTxhuTi
Follow us: @rollingstone on Twitter | RollingStone on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 reasons to be happy, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G I R L (MP3 Download)
Brilliant, feel good & funky album. Makes me feel like summer is on the way. Listened through a few times now & love it. Well done Pharrell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah good!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G I R L (MP3 Download)
Great album - If you like Disclosure and Daft Punk's albums this year you just have to buy this one. Winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pharrell Hits It Again...., 4 Mar 2014
By 
Robert S. Whitaker (Lakenheath,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: G I R L (Audio CD)
I've been a huge Pharrell-Neptunes-Nerd fan since the very first Nerd CD. I've had the pleasure of catching Nerd live twice and both times they ROCKED IT!!. Unlike his first solo project, GIRL took a few rotations to really grasp the quality of all of the tracks. I'm there now, the thing that I've always loved about Pharrell's music is that it is unique! He has hit again. And, oh-yeah, I've loved ''Happy'' from the first time I heard it. Now, I can play it to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

G I R L
G I R L by Pharrell Williams (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews