Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Blue Horizon
For me, this is the best Wishbone CD in quite a few years. Elegant Stealth was good but Blue Horizon totally blows that away. For me there isn't a bad track on the album and I'm constantly impressed by the great musicianship displayed throughout. Favourite tracks are Take It Back, Deep Blues, Way Down South, Tally Ho and American Century. There's a great depth to the...
Published 3 months ago by Trevor

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wishbone Ash fans - Don't waste your money on this one.......................really!!
Dear Wishbone Ash fans,

I bought this CD as I am a Wishbone Ash fan and became a fan after listening to the original band's first four albums which are some of the greatest albums ever put together by a rock band........but you will of course know this already.
This incarnation of Wishbone Ash has as its front man one of the original band - Andy...
Published 28 days ago by Mr Ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Blue Horizon, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
For me, this is the best Wishbone CD in quite a few years. Elegant Stealth was good but Blue Horizon totally blows that away. For me there isn't a bad track on the album and I'm constantly impressed by the great musicianship displayed throughout. Favourite tracks are Take It Back, Deep Blues, Way Down South, Tally Ho and American Century. There's a great depth to the playing and each time I play this album I hear something new. My overall favourite track is way Down South - which has a very catchy first section and an amazing second section starting after 4 minutes. If I'm in the car, the sound level gets cranked right up for the second half of totally brilliant soaring guitar work and driving bass. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTHY ADDITION, 1 April 2014
By 
Mr. Alan Dawson (BOLTON, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
So yet another album from W.A. For a fan of the band to give this very good album 1 star is bewildering to say the least. Can't really give it 5 stars as it isn't as good as Argus. However it is their best album for some time & a great guitar rock/folk/prog album. The tunes are better than Elegant Stealth & the opening track 'Take It Back' is a truly memorable song. If you like guitars & you aren't bothered about liking cool & trendy bands then this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
a triumph of craftsmanship, melodic tuneful and executed with a high degree of musicality.

Elegant Stealth was always going to be a hard act to follow but this does the trick and for Wishbone addicts like me it was well worth the wait.
there are may stand out tracks and such a range of melodies, Joe Crabtree's drumming is awesome, driving, tuneful, the rythm combo with the excellent Bob Skeat lays a firm foundation to the classic twin guitar 'licks' from Andy Powell and Muddy Manninen.

initial listens favoured tracks like Tally Ho and American Century, but I just cant get Way Down South out of my mind, almost poppy in a rocky way, my current favourite is All there is to say- it starts like a homage to old days and Throw Down The Sword and becomes anthemic at times, it sounds really corny but it has a 'religious' quality to it, its a very special track to end the album with and compliments the opener Take it Back, those lovely guitars building on the repeated base line-luverly.Tally Ho has a real message of corporate greed veiled behind great vocals and some excelllent drum licks , very very nice indeed.

special mention to Andy Powell's vocal prowess, his voice just gets better and the vocal harmonies with Skeat and Manninen throughout are great.

I look forward to hearing some of these tracks live but meantime this CD is playing and playing......
Thanks Wishbone Ash - this album adds to your growing Canon of superbly mastered rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 27 Mar 2014
By 
David Whitlam (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
The album arrived on Monday and has been on continuous play in car ever since. It gets better with every repeat. I love the guitar playing which is at its usual high standard. Nice to hear Muddy taking lead vocals and Joe getting to play lead guitar! Ihve been following this band since 1973 and they get better and better! The Real Deal is what they are! Well done boys the album is brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Bryn M. Jones "flying V" (Anglesey, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
After the disappointment of Elegant Stealth I wasn't in any rush to get Blue Horizon. I succumbed and was immediately impressed with the standard of the songs. Elegant Stealth wasn't a bad album, just uninspiring. This one is far superior and would get 5 stars if the guitars wailed a bit longer! Just like the Allmans, I prefer Ash live with their 15 minute pluse renditions, but as studio albums go, this is pretty damned good!
After several plays, it became obvious to me that Way Down South was the standout track. I would go as far as to say it's the best number Ash have written since their classic 70's albums. The guitar solo at the end is gorgeously sublime, and sends shivers down my back. ASH ARE BACK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 16 Mar 2014
By 
David R. Walters (Huntingdon, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Horizon (MP3 Download)
I had to cancel the order with Amazon as they did NOT have it in stock. Got it somewhere else eventually. I think 5 stars is reserved for the best albums, classics, and that takes time to realise, but 4 is certainly a good album. It's a real mix of their styles from over the years. The first listening I was a BIT disappointed after the raving reviews as I thought it might rock-out a bit more, but now I am enjoying it for what it is which quite classy. Lots of fluid guitar playing though not extended enough. Elegant Stealth finally gave us some twin-guitar workouts, which the band MUST have known we wanted, so I thought that would have continued more on this one. Anyway, a nice CD, and certainly better than Clan Destiny and the one before. Both pleasant enough, but this is better. Worth noting that Andy Powell actually only gets MUSIC credit for ONE track on the whole album, which is a bit worrying....

Now mid-June and I am enjoying it even more. Maybe 2-3 tracks not that essential, but mostly very classy. No - not Argus but better than some late 70's / early 80's albums. Martin may have been a vital contributor on the first few albums, but not his last 2. Maybe he will return with some new stuff. I hope so. In the meantime, whether this is Wishbone Ash in name only, it could only be that band when you hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking to the future with a nod to the past, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
With all the legal turmoil surrounding the battle for the band's right to it's identity you might expect an introspective and safe album from Andy and the band.

None of it! This album is full of optimism and propels the band into a bright future.

"Take It Back" written by Andy Powell's son Aynsley is the perfect opener for the album setting the mood as one of optimism and the theme as empowerment. The folksy tune with fiddle by guest Pat McManus gives a nod back to the first three Wishbone Ash but as right up to date with intelligent, adult lyrics.

"Deep Blues" is rocking number with a classic Ash riff. The words on the surface about a failed love affair could easily be interpreted as a reference to the battle surrounding the band's ownership of it's name. Andy and Muddy Mannenin as always don't hold back on the guitar solos.

"Strange How Things Come Round Around" is written by ex-guitarist Roger Filgate and is relaxed number. Lucy Underhill adds backing vocals. The only niggle is that the slow, dreamy sections jolt at first and break up the flow of song, but I'm getting used to it now.

"Being One" is proggy and jazzy with some really great guitar work in the extended solos. Like it more and more with every listen.

I wish I'd never heard "Way Down South" - I wake up in the morning with closing solo in my head and it's still there in the evening. The feel and tone of it reminds me a lot of Summer Lightening by Camel. The song with lyrics by Ian Harris is perhaps the poppiest moment on the album and it first the lyrics seem light-weight pop but again they fit perfectly with the theme of empowerment - if you're fed up then it's up to you to make a change. Should be a single.

"Tally Ho!! by Muddy and Ian is another call to arms - it's up to us to stand up to the fat cats if we want a better world. The folksy, slow blues is a perfect antidote to Way Down South, building up to an Argus-esque anthem.

"Mary Jane" is classic blues and is Muddy's lead singing debut. Muddy doesn't prang it. Great stuff!

"American Century" is a complex tune with many twists and turns to keep you guessing. Again Lucy Underhill adds backing vocals. Perhaps the slowest burner on the album - give it time to percolate through your mind.

"Blue Horizon" starts slow with a grandeur and anthemic sound and a wince-making couplet of "I've got my eyes on the blue hor-i-zon" - ouch! The fast guitar solos at the end are brilliant.

The final track "All There Is to Say" is Andy's heart-felt story of the battles that have beset him and the band now resolved in court. The sound is very "Throw Down the Sword". A great finish to the album

Just a quick mention for Bob Skeat and Joe Crabtree. Joe's drumming throughout is truly outstanding. Bob is probably one of the best bassists in the rock world right now and I would have liked to have Bob's bass a little higher in the mix but that's just being pernickety as the production by Tom Greenwood is truly brilliant.

Wishbone Ash just get better and better. Roll on the autumn UK tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ash for ages, 14 May 2014
By 
G. Roberts "vid-wiz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
This has to be the best ash album since there's the rub. It's all here! Great riffs, extended solos in several tracks some with twin guitars. Never the greatest vocals but not at all bad.

Elegant stealth was in and back out of the car within days but this is still there several weeks later. If you like wishbone ash you should like this. Looking forward to seeing them live and hope they play a few of these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over the Horizon and far away...., 6 May 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
.. well thats how it felt,it took so long for the disc to reach me,was it worth the wait,definitely,its a great album,the first thing that catches the eye is the quite striking cover on the digi pak.

The music well unlike say Magnum's fist pumping rock on their recent release,this is more laid back,like an old pair of comfy slippers,an easy fit just sit back and let the music wash over you.

Having spent the last few albums stating that they are as far removed from ARGUS as you can get,then its with much irony that opening track 'Take It Back' immediately reminds me of that disc.

The likes of 'Deep Blues/Way Down South & Mary Jane,keep a smile on my face and my foot tapping,excellent stuff.

Favourite tracks - the title track's laid back class and the folky feel of album closer 'All there is to Say'.

There are some great individual performances on here,yes its laid back and the 'rock' days are long gone but its still worth purchasing for some genuine class music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Horizon (Audio CD)
This is a great disc. I was lucky enough heard them play some of the tracks in the making at the afternoon session of Ashcon 2013, they do not disappoint on disc either. Blue Horizon is a real stormer. I look forward to seeing and hearing them extend some of these live on stage later this year. Keep on rockin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon by Wishbone Ash
Buy MP3 Album6.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews