Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soda Pictures DVD will work in UK DVD players
For some reason lots of reviews of the Region 1 DVD are showing up on this page saying that the DVD does not work on UK DVD players. Just to clarify, this Amazon page is for the UK DVD distributed by Soda Pictures, which is a Region 2 DVD that WILL work on UK DVD players - order with confidence!
Published 4 months ago by J. Flower

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
Fascinating subject that should have been so much better.
Pretentious, art-house approach made the film at least half an hour too long!
Published 4 months ago by Ian Strachan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soda Pictures DVD will work in UK DVD players, 18 Mar 2014
By 
J. Flower (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
For some reason lots of reviews of the Region 1 DVD are showing up on this page saying that the DVD does not work on UK DVD players. Just to clarify, this Amazon page is for the UK DVD distributed by Soda Pictures, which is a Region 2 DVD that WILL work on UK DVD players - order with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful documentary, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the cinema in London, knowing nothing about fishing - but I do now
It's a gorgeous film, absorbing and peaceful. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully told and produced with delicate drawings as well as good photography. A treasure if you like rivers and people. My husband and son loved the detail of the fly fishing and moments of gentle humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique person remembered, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone interested in the history of fly dressing will find this fascinating - also records a lost way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating subject that should have been so much better.
Pretentious, art-house approach made the film at least half an hour too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual masterpiece, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully sublime of a forgoten tranquillity, i could watch this over and over. Go and buy this film, even if your not into fly fishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important tribute to a Sutherland craftswoman's skill, 25 April 2014
By 
Paul Stanyer (Milton Keynes United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful pastoral film: it was significant that Megan Boyd documented her artisan skills, so that we can learn and copy if necessary.

The film rightly leaves out the politics of river life (despite including a shot of the unpopular Golspie statue of George Leveson-Gower). I recall being tugged between my Lower Brora poacher neighbour, and the water baillie (who wanted me to watch the water while his class were at Kirk on Sunday mornings). This DVD is a keeper, to be enjoyed again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy hubby, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
saw this and read the reviews and thought my hubby would like it and I was right ! one happy man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
As a flytying afficinado and fly fisherman, this is a story of a person in love and at one, and dedicated to their craft, any fly fisherman who loves fishing and fly tying should watch this video. The product arrived in in a timely fashion and well packaged.Definately recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars grossly overrated, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Water [DVD] (DVD)
as a documentary on a flytyer it lost it's way from the very beginning

the funding and production of the film indicated that it was treated as an art house product that exploited a person with eccentric habits who happened to have some connection with royalty. there have been many equally talented and more innovative fly tiers in the past.

how a person could live in a house with foxes in the basement is beyond me - do you know what foxes smell like?

the flies that she tied were out of fashion even in her hay day

there was no physical description of Megan or even any photographs

the fishing scenes were stilted and strongly suggest that they were staged

even the hyped graphics gave an esoteric view of fly fishing and even bought Diana in to the frame - together with reference to a blue and gold fly. there was no mention of the queen mother - from whom Charles developed a love of the sport- and many fly patterns were invented in her honer.

to sum up- if you have any experience of flytying this is a total disappointment. as an art house production that chose to focus on
an artisan working in isolation who developed royal connections i'd give it 1 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss The Water [DVD]
Kiss The Water [DVD] by Eric Steel (DVD - 2014)
16.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews