Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No frills, real soldiers
Before I wrote this review, I read some of the best and worst reviews, and realised that before I even started typing that the film achieved, if nothing else, to polerise people.....I guess just like the war.

This is a war film, not a explosion filled, hero laced, candy topped version with a huge adrenalin filled score. It is a condensed account of a small unit...
Published 2 months ago by Anonymous

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a mess.
what can you say about this? if this really happened. they would all be up for treason. as for the so called sergeant. he should hang his head in shame. his role as any one who has been in the forces. would tell you he is to lead his men. not allow men to gob off like they did. Granted 'BLAIR' has a lot to answer for. he should be charged with destroying a country. for...
Published 3 months ago by frank


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No frills, real soldiers, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
Before I wrote this review, I read some of the best and worst reviews, and realised that before I even started typing that the film achieved, if nothing else, to polerise people.....I guess just like the war.

This is a war film, not a explosion filled, hero laced, candy topped version with a huge adrenalin filled score. It is a condensed account of a small unit of soldiers, put at breaking point in a conflict which was sometimes far from clear. It will not leave you satisfied, it does not make concessions in its language towards non-military people, and will raise more questions than it answers...........and that is the whole point. If you wish to see what really lies behind the term "Soldier" then this is a close as you can get.

I will say only this. I have been that angry soldier, that conflicted Lieutenant, and that Captain struggling to keep it together. I have had Sergeants trying to do right by their men, had territorial and reserve soldiers who either cant or wont be let to fit in (and sometimes out-performed there professional comrades). If you don't believe that any of these aspects can or have occurred, then take assurance from an old hand......they have and they do, all and unadulterated and worse. Soldiers, soldier, not because of orders, not for patriotism, not for money, not for love, food or sleep, they do it for the man next to them, and the respect that comes from that service.....that title 'Soldier'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British failure in Afghanistan, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
'The Patrol' contains a criticism of the British deployment to Helmand Province, Afghanistan. The soliders in the film doubt their commanders, doubt their mission and ultimately the war. The director said in a Raindance Film Festival (which it won) interview that the film that most inspired him was the 'Battle of Algiers', this was similarly a critique of the French policy in Algeria and well worth watching. As an interesting background to the debate around the British in Afghanistan the commander of 22 SAS has called for an inquiry into the Helmand deployment, describing it as a failure, in an article in the Times: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/columnists/article4249666.ece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a mess., 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
what can you say about this? if this really happened. they would all be up for treason. as for the so called sergeant. he should hang his head in shame. his role as any one who has been in the forces. would tell you he is to lead his men. not allow men to gob off like they did. Granted 'BLAIR' has a lot to answer for. he should be charged with destroying a country. for that is what he has done to England. who remembers that great SAS sergeant. 'John McAleese' who died of a heart attack. 'broken heart' when his son. 'sergeant' was killed trying to save another solders life. on TV asked the Labour government Tony Blair. when are they going to kit the British Army with decent, reliable, equipment? some of the solders buying there own boots off the American Army. and guns not firing. short of ammo. how quite that was all kept. I noticed Tony, and Cherie Blair's son was no where to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OURS IS NOT TO REASON WHY,, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
A group of soldiers on on patrol in Afghanistan during a fiction operation known as Icarus. This story is loosely linked to operation Achilles and might be more accurately stated "inspired" by true events rather than based upon. We get to know the characters by their nicknames, Smudge, Stab, Ginge (ginger) and Welch. The banter between them is not the healthy kind as they concentrate on their differences. Once one in the group dies, the troops begin to question the war and their mission while their commanding officer who has the same thoughts is forced to toe the company line.

The film is about the relationships of a diverse unit who question their leadership. The war acts as a background to escalate tension, This is not your classic war film about combat and killing the enemy. It is a war drama, one where young men are placed in combat roles and don't believe the cause is worth their life.

If anything, this is more of an anti-war film, showing how someone like Bowe Bergdahl could do and say the things of which he has been accused, although the message is not heavy.

Parental Guide: F-bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not our war boss, 5 July 2014
This review is from: The Patrol (DVD)
Written & directed by an ex soldier with the help of two military advisors,this gives you a more realistic view of war.It follows a 7 strong patrol in Afghanistan operating in Helmand province,it's a very personal view as its all from their point of view.Other issues outside the patrol aren't really covered,the guys think they're going to be joined by another patrol which means they only have to stay out around 3 days.This does not happen & 12 days later they are still out,short of ammo & awaiting re-suply.
There are no big multi angel action scenes or huge explosions,you never actually see the Taliban but you do get short intense firefights.It's worth watching the "making of" featurette as it explains the no frills slightly documentary feel to the film.
A war film that gives the human side & is much closer to what it's really like,this is NOT Hollywood!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Patrol, 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Patrol (DVD)
Quiet possibly the worst war film, I`ve ever seen EVER. The story line is lame, the acting is shocking. Attention to detail with the regards to the soldiers equipment will have any squaddie cringing. The patrol is made up of two officers, one SNCO, one JNCO, a marine and two toms, one of which is the medic? One of the toms is constantly gobbing off to the officers and NCOs with impunity!! No sorry if you`ve ever served in the British army this film will have you screaming at your TV. Do yourself a favour and pick something else, trust me!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can see what this film is about question weapons ..., 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
I can see what this film is about question weapons choice Yes. Questioning the officers, a no no even if you thought their decision is wrong, a well thought out film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and others like me, need for both moral and intellectual reasons ..., 2 May 2015
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
The comments of 'anonymous' are extremely helpful. As a war film buff I, and others like me, need for both moral and intellectual reasons the appreciation of those who "went through it". Having lived a cushy civilian life, unlike my dad a WWII POW and, yet another quiet hero, and having taught military people in France who know that potentially their lives are on the line, I have great esteem for Britain's professional soldiers. If for no other than educational reasons this film deserves its five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intruiging, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patrol (DVD)
Fairly new territory with a British movie set in Afghan. However the issues of questioning the war, poor equipment, general antipathy of the whole situation are included which is a usual staple diet for these types of war movie. While the characters and story are captivating I found some of the insubordination a bit of a push too far with the artistic license.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A poignant insight into the more human side of war., 17 April 2014
This review is from: The Patrol [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film.

Initially dragged along (to the Ritzy cinema in Brixton) by a war-film loving boyfriend, I thought it would be another powpowpow action film, which have a tendency to bore me to tears/sleep.

Instead, I was subtly drawn into the realities of warfare, gaining an insight I've never achieved before: the personalities, the psychological difficulties and breakdowns, the gentle but gradual shift in mood amongst and between the troops and officers. I loved it, and was left thinking about it for days.

I'd highly recommend this film as a war film for anyone who wants to learn of the realities, rather than the Hollywood portrayal, of war. Unusual for me to make this distinction, but I'd recommend it as a great war film for women to watch as well, as it's not all guns and explosions, and has multiple layers to it. Buy and watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Patrol [DVD]
The Patrol [DVD] by Tom Petch (DVD - 2014)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews