Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !!! Please can I have more, sir?
I had been resisting buying this for a while, because my expectations were very high, in the sense that I did not expect that the people behind 'Weeds' would be able to make something as good as 'Weeds' again, but they did. I was not disappointed, at all. On the contrary. Looking forward to the DVD (or blue-ray) of season 2.
Published 1 month ago by oyarzun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good fun. More for a female audience tho (and ...
It's good fun. More for a female audience tho (and not because of the lesbian theme, it's just a girly thing).
Published 17 days ago by mooch


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !!! Please can I have more, sir?, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been resisting buying this for a while, because my expectations were very high, in the sense that I did not expect that the people behind 'Weeds' would be able to make something as good as 'Weeds' again, but they did. I was not disappointed, at all. On the contrary. Looking forward to the DVD (or blue-ray) of season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic and Humorous, 9 Jun 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I first heard about Piper Kerman on 'Fresh Air' in 2009 when she was publicizing her new book about her life I. A woman's prison. I read the book, and found it a telling picture of a young woman from a very good family, educated at Smith, found herself caught up in an affair with a woman and moving money around gated world for a big time crook. She ended nip in a woman's prison in Connecticut. Her life in those 18 months is very well documented, and joe has become a televised series on a Netflix.

This is the perfect vehicle for this type of story. A story rich I. The various shades f color, races, nationalities and all started by a young white woman. This is their storyline rising and we have been able to see the inside of their lives in prison and on the outside in the real world.

Junji Kohan is the creator and writer of this series showing Piper's life and interweaving everyone else's stories therein. We have a privileged white woman being put in prison, Piper Chapman, played by taylor Schilling. The show evolves into a character ensemble about the women prisoners. The actors except for Laura Prepon and Kate Mulgrew are all new to us, black, brown white and yellow. This is a story of every woman who has gone wrong and what occurs inside the prison walls. We also meet Piper's fiancé, Larry, played by Jason Biggs, and his life as he tries to soldier on, supporting Piper and finding his life. And, then there are the Correctional Officers, their stories and their lives. The female warden who is a witch and who may have some sorry of questionable activities on the side.

I am in the middle of Year 2 of this series, and it gets better very quickly. I love this series, realistic, funny, sad and true life all the way. The writing is the best I have seen, superb!

Recommended. prisrob 06-08-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orange is the New Black is the new Breaking Bad!!, 21 May 2014
I had signed upto Netflix for a free trial to finish watching Breaking Bad as I only had the first four seasons on DVD. Once finished I was suffering from Breaking Bad withdrawals. I found Orange is the New Black on Netflix and me and the wife have watched all but the last episode of season one. It's quirky, sad, intelligent, quite rude but often very funny. I love the different characters and the way it often skips back in time to their lives before prison and the fact that most of them had pretty normal lives before their incarceration. It is great to watch the interaction between the characters and the politics of prison life. A real breath of fresh air and stands up to Breaking Bad in my humble opinion. Season 2 is due out on Netflix on June the 9th and season 3 has just started filming.
The only reason I am on Amazon is that I wanted to see if it was on DVD because it is going to be in a few Christmas stockings this year for definite.
Buy it and watch it, you will not regret it!! Especially if you enjoyed Breaking Bad. Hopefully if it becomes a great success there will be more seasons, happy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is good. Im hooked, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard about this dvd thought i would see if it matched what i heard. Is good. Im hooked, ill need to buy the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Orange is the new Black Season 1, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
I wasn't sure I would like Orange is the New Black, I find drama comedy can sometimes be a hit or miss with regards to the comedy element, but OITNB is good, comedy moments are often sparse compared to the drama but they are easy to relate to and offer genuine smiles in such a bleak situation; for me that's quite an accomplishment. Taylor Schilling has excellent expressiveness to her face which makes the surreal situation and comedy moments entertaining. Kate Mulgrew as 'Red' and Uzo Aduba as Suzanne are personal favourites of mine, with the latter gaining most of my sympathetic shoulder. It has been said that this is more for females than for males to watch; even with the graphic sex scenes and to be honest I would agree with that statement, I definitely think this is best for women simply because the drama that unfolds is more understandable to girls just like prison drama 'Oz' was probably more easy to relate to for men ; I like both shows but for me I find my heart strings pull more easily at some of the stories in OITNB simply because as a female I 'get it'. A certain moment at the christmas panto in season one certainly got me teary eyed. OITNB is an easy prison comedy drama to watch its not as bleak as the likes of 'Oz' and provides enough humour to give it that comedy drama title. I'm midway through the second series and like the character of Piper; the show gets grittier as it settles into its sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go get it already!, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
seriously one of the best tv shows currently available. wonderful socially relevant and responsible writing, great charakters in the most unusual setting on tv so far, great acting, and a bucketful of real suspense and sympathy for the charakters. I'm terribly impatient for season 2 on dvd (or for netflix to start streaming in my country).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No its not revenge, its divine retribution, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This is beyond doubt the best tv show i have seen in years bar game of thrones.

Piper is engaged to Larry and gets arrested and has to surrender to prison for a crime she committed 10 years prior.

She was in a relationship with the very stunning Alex who asked her to carry money into Brussels for her international drug running business.

Piper is a very well to do girl, bought up by rich people, was a debutante etc and so finding herself adjusting to prison life is actually quite funny.

There are some fabulous supporting characters in this which in some instances have more screen time than the leads,

Nicole, the red haired lesbian, Miss claudette, the voodoo killer, pornstache the pervy guard, healy the judgemental counsellor, red the russian mob lady who runs the kitchen, sophia the transgender ex fireman, taystee the poor black girl off the streets, crazy eyes who decides that piper will be her prison wife, daya the hispanic girl who doesnt speak spanish and falls in love with a young guard, boo the softy, poussey the act tough gangster, and tiffany i am jesus christ reincarnated.

There is so much going on all the time and in the beginning you think all of the other characters are the mean girls and what transpires throughout the show is that these women are making the best of a bad situation, but pipers transformation into nasty girl is by far the most spectacular.

Rude, very graphic, funny, emotional, gut wrenching and extremely well written.

Not sure of the comparison to breaking bad however as its nothing like it in any way and so just wanted to make a point of that before you bought it because if you buy it and expect more of the same you will be very disappointed.

I have a subscription to netflix so watched it on there, its worth the subscription fee all by itself.

I think the dvd is overpriced if i am being honest, there are only 13 episodes and considering a subscription to netflix is only 6 squid a month, i would sign up for a free trial and watch both seasons as season 2 is out in its entirety to stream as well.

Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good fun. More for a female audience tho (and ..., 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orange Is The New Black [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's good fun. More for a female audience tho (and not because of the lesbian theme, it's just a girly thing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good tongue in cheek drama., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard about this from a friend so decided to buy the box set....took some getting into as we hadn't realised it was a tongue in cheek drama :0) the characters all reveal themselves as the story goes on and makes for a really great watch....we are already looking to buy series two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really liked - need to stick with it through the first few episodes though!, 7 July 2014
For me, this is not the next Breaking Bad. Don't get me wrong - I really enjoyed it. However, you have to get through the first few fluffy episodes before you can really begin to understand what journey you are meant to on.

In fact the plot and characters built nicely and it got more and more hard core as the episodes went on ending with quite a "wow!" shocker moment which will definitely mean I have to watch Series 2 when out on DVD.

Can't believe it's only rated a 15 - the language is awful (which it would be in prison!)

Don't always like the flash-back scenes but they do help the viewer to understand that everyone in prison has their own story and reason for being there so it does add to the authenticness of the show.

Didn't warm to Piper or how boyfriend but don't think that really mattered. As it's a true story, they had to portray her as she really was and therefore she came across as weak and annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orange Is The New Black [Blu-ray]
Orange Is The New Black [Blu-ray] by Taylor Schilling (Blu-ray - 2014)
£27.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews