Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'feature-length' finale to the series
As I wrote in my Blood C series review this is the true ending to the series, I see this as more of a 'feature length episode'
It was a strategic move to make more money but if you're like me then you wanted to see how it all ends.

The animation looks slightly more polished but that's probably because this is a film, there's a homage in the beginning with...
Published 4 months ago by Kuro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not as good as it could have been
The Last Dark is the theatrical finale of the Blood-C series and while the film was quite entertaining, I feel that it could have been far better. A year or so after the events of the series, Saya has followed Fumito to Tokyo where his company, Seventh Heaven, is heavily involved in politics and policing. While on the subway Saya saves a girl, Maya, from an Elder Bairn...
Published 7 months ago by T. R. Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'feature-length' finale to the series, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [DVD] (DVD)
As I wrote in my Blood C series review this is the true ending to the series, I see this as more of a 'feature length episode'
It was a strategic move to make more money but if you're like me then you wanted to see how it all ends.

The animation looks slightly more polished but that's probably because this is a film, there's a homage in the beginning with a train scene that had me clapping with a sense of odd nostalgia.
We finally find out just why everything that happened in the series happened and I understood the reasoning to a degree.
The ending is....so-so but I think the openness of it was done for a reason. Plus whoo the school uniform is back though not as nice as the one from the series again I saw the reasoning.

We see cameo's from other characters from CLAMP that I loved, it gives me a 'Kingdom Hearts' feel for some reason.

This film had it's flaws but if you look past it they did a good job tying up some of the loose ends in the series with the little time they had in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHE IS LIKE COMPLETELY AWESOME, 12 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I have not seen the series, so watching the final episode I was slightly lost, although much is explained during the feature. Blood C consists of both regular animation and 3d graphics. Our super hero Saya is after the bad guy Fumito who is connected to an organization called the Tower. They are in cahoots with the government in enacting curfews in order to capture Saya. Saya in turn hooks up with a group of computer hackers who are trying to bring down the system and Fumito. In order to kill Bill, er ah Fumito, Saya must first get an Uma Thurman blade.

The characters in the feature seem to be geared toward a younger audience, but one that is old enough to watch the blood, violence, and cartoon nudity. This is a series I might obtain should they get it all together as one unit. 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully animated sequel., 30 April 2015
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blood-C: The Last Dark is a movie sequel to the Blood-C tv series produced by Production I.G (Ghost in the Shell). The story follows Saya Kisaragi, a half human girl on a quest for vengence against her tormentor, a man named Fumito Nanahara. When an Elder Bairn monster attacks passengers on a train, Saya's fight with it brings her into contact with a group called Sirrut who are after Fumito for their own reasons.

The animation to The Last Dark is utterly stunning. It's extremely crisp and detailed with great art designs. It's largely traditional animation but there are sequences using CG mixed in that look fantastic, I was very impressed with the production values. The voice acting is also pretty decent all round with Alexis Tipton returning as Saya and Robert McCollom returning as Fumito in the English dub.

There is plenty of action throughout Blood-C with Saya wielding a katana with some fantastic bloody results versus various monsters, it's pretty exciting stuff but well balanced between quieter interactions with the members of Sirrut. The ending however, though it looks great is a little anti climactic, I expected more.

The Blu-Ray has a few extras, anime rarely have many features but Blood-C isn't actually bad with some commentaries, trailers and promo videos. It also has a reversible cover, but it's identical on both sides for some reason.

Overall I really liked The Last Dark. Fantastic animation, great voice acting and decent action sequences result in a very entertaining film.

Recommended.

+ Stunning animation.
+ Great voice acting.
+ Decent bloody action.
+ Not bad extras for an anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not as good as it could have been, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [DVD] (DVD)
The Last Dark is the theatrical finale of the Blood-C series and while the film was quite entertaining, I feel that it could have been far better. A year or so after the events of the series, Saya has followed Fumito to Tokyo where his company, Seventh Heaven, is heavily involved in politics and policing. While on the subway Saya saves a girl, Maya, from an Elder Bairn only to discover that she is part of a small organisation of hackers who are fighting back against Seventh Heaven.

'Blood-C: The Last Dark' is an entertaining film that nonetheless feels far too brief to finish off the storyline of the series in a satisfactory way. The plot was somewhat light and there were many aspects that could have done with some more focus and development. The hackers of SIRRUT in particular could have benefited from some more exploration as other than Mana we discover little about them and sometimes come across as little more than plot devices. Yűka Amino, the only other survivor from the series, is another character who was very much underused with only a couple of brief cameos and the 'xxxHOLiC' crossover was a little too brief and came off as a little gratuitous.

On the plus side, the animation for the series was very good with the CGI used for the car chase at the beginning and the final battle being particularly spectacular. The action was well choreographed with some nice moments but unfortunately, as with a lot of the films good points, the final battle (despite being beautiful) was far too short.

The English dub of the series was good with Alexis Tipton, Robert McCollum, Martha Harms and Todd Haberkorn reprising their roles from the series and with most of the new cast doing good jobs at portraying their characters. Due to the brief 'xxxHOLiC' crossover, I did find it amusing that Colleen Clinkenbeard, who voiced Yűko Ichihara in that series, is voicing a rather minor character in this movie. The subbed Japanese version is also included for the movie as well of course.

For special features the DVD contains a cast and crew commentary and a number of promotional videos and trailers for the movie. The DVD also includes the NoNeNoNe Theatre specials from the 'Blood-C' series (these are only subbed).

Overall, while 'The Last Dark' was entertaining it could have been a lot better than it was with the animation not quite overcoming the underuse of certain characters and as such I would give the film around three and a half stars in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but doesn't capture the essence of the series., 3 Jan. 2014
Taking place a year after the events of Blood C, there is legislation in place that introduces curfews for minors and regulates the use of the internet, and some young people continue to fight for their own freedoms via underground methods. One such group calls themselves Surat, whose target is Fumito Nanahara, a man who wields great influence over the political world, and secretly controls Tokyo with an iron fist. While using the internet as a weapon to discover more information about Fumito via clever hacking skills, they learn about "Tower", the secret organization behind Fumito which engages in human experimentation.
When members of Surat attempt to set up an ambush in the subway to expose the truth behind "Tower", a creature suddenly appears and attacks the passengers. During the attack Saya appears, a young girl who uses a Japanese style blade to slay the creature. The same Saya who lost everything that she cared about in the horrific "experiment" in Ukishima Province, she has followed Fumito to Tokyo in search of revenge. What sort of "experiment" is Fumito and "Tower" trying to conduct using the Old Ones? And can Saya finally achieve her goal of vengeance on Fumito?

I enjoyed Blood C a lot, with its excellently animated action scenes and clever storyline, the series made me want more and when I saw at the end of the series that there would be a follow up movie, I was excited because I thought any loose ends from the series would be wrapped up.

Blood C: The Last Dark just fails to capture the essence of everything I enjoyed about the series, it neither has the same level of action scenes nor the cleverness of the series storyline, and just felt rushed to me, and although I got some answers to questions left over from the season, I was given more questions that could have been easily dealt with.
At first I thought it was a problem with the dubbing and things got messed up in translation/interpretation, but then I watched it again in Japanese and was left with the same feeling.
Don't get me wrong this is not a bad anime film, but for me was a little disappointing and is more of something I would watch again if it happened to be on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another "Blood (insert whatever here)" Cash Cow., 24 May 2014
This review is from: Blood C - The Last Dark (DVD)
What can be said about this? This franchise was never meant to be a franchise in the first place, but in spite of all that Clamp, and Production I.G. did a excellant job of creating the animation CGi and drawings, too bad they had to do it on such a weak convoluted story suffering from too many plot holes and unanswered questions with an ending that was such a blatant rush job that I presumed the money was running out sooner than they thought. The original "Blood, The Last Vampire" movie, though had cinema showings, was basically a stand alone, 45 minute promo show reel to highlight Production I.G.'s new 3DCGi investments back then for any producer, creator with a good story and a good budget to utilse their "New toys". that's all. But because it turned out to be such a boxoffice success that it had the later alternate stories to cash in on that success, but alternate stories because there was nothing before it to go on like a running manga, or TV series. So five stars for the brilliant animation minus 2 stars for crappy story. Good anime for a rainy weekend, but nought else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A real ball fumble, 23 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Changes both style and the story, and for a long time you'll keep thinking what has this story to do with the previous disks? That thought won't change until almost the end O_o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love my moive it, 23 April 2015
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i love my moive it good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd rounded off the story line of SAYA and her ongoing fight this is a must for all blood c fans brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C: The Last Dark [DVD] (DVD)
GRAND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood C: The Last Dark [Blu-ray]
Blood C: The Last Dark [Blu-ray] by Naoyoshi Shiotani (Blu-ray - 2014)
Ł6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews