Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars796
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

For Sheer Entertainment value - It's a FIVE.
Former Cop 'Bill Marks' (Liam Neeson) now an Air-Marshall has little in the way of
self esteem these days, events of the past has left him a shadow of his former self.
He's on a routine Flight from 'New York' to 'London'
The Marshall receives a Text from an unknown passenger, a threat is made, the
mysterious caller says he will kill a passenger in 20 minutes time, unless the sum of
150 million U.S dollars is deposited into a designated account within the given time.
'Bill' has to step-up to the mark, he desperately tries to identify the source, however
with the absence of a suspect what can he or indeed the crew do, they have a situation,
arrange the deposit or suffer the consequences.
Early on he believes he's identified the threat, however the Text's keep on coming.
He engages the observational skills of stewardess 'Nancy'(Michelle Dockery) and 'Jen
Summers' (Julianne Moore) who had sat next too, 'Bill' earlier on in the Flight.
Circumstances turn on 'Bill' he becomes a suspect himself.
The situation becomes increasingly desperate and intense as time runs out, passengers
are becoming agitated, realizing there is a problem, but having no answers.......just when
you think it can't get any worse.....
An enjoyable tense affair, set, 40,000 feet high and at 500 miles per hour.....a roller coaster
ride indeed, watch this, you may never want to fly again ?
Features -
* Suspense at 40,000 feet featurette.
* Non Stop Featurette
* Interviews with 'Liam Neeson' - 'Julianne Moore' - 'Michelle Dockery' - 'Juane Collet -Serra'
and 'Joe Silvers'
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Liam Neeson, A Plane, A Hidden Terrorist, Guns. what more could you want? This film is more of a Mystery film compared to Taken but overall an enjoyable fim that can easily be compared and could easily fit into The Taken Trilogy
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2016
VIDEO:

Non-Stop flew onto blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. The transfer was pristine. The film was shot with 35 mm film, faithful to Collet-Serra and cinematographer Flavio Martínez Labiano's intentions. Resolution is excellent, with fine detail evident in facial features, hair, clothing, and the airplane's interior surfaces. Contrast is well balanced with deep blacks and revealing shadow delineation. Though the airline interior doesn't burst with vibrant hues, the bluish seat upholstery and various costume accents look bright and bold, with deep blacks. This is a filmic visual experience. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Universal's DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track effectively recreates the tight, confined spaces of an aircraft with precision-crafted directionality, slick pans and a suitably claustrophobic soundfield that crams the listener right alongside Liam Neeson. The sense of confined aircraft ambiance and atmosphere is excellent. Dialogue is consistently intelligible. The orchestral music score is actively engaging, with a wide and deep soundstage that extends aggressively to the surround. This is an excellent, thrilling, engaging and immersive experience. (5/5)

MOVIE:

The movie plot is quite engaging, keeping you guessing until the very end. A brooding atmosphere of tension pervades the proceedings, and a gallery of cold, suspicious characters populate the scenario, making it a real challenge to figure out who is the devious mastermind behind the murderous plot. Liam Neeson leads the charge, coupling the part's required square-jawed strength and gravity with a welcome dose of vulnerability, insecurity, and sincerity that makes him an instantly relatable everyman instead of a robotic, cardboard superman. Who could have predicted Taken would spawn such a drastic - and lucrative - career change? The movie is suspenseful and thrilling, with surprise ending. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

1 Did you know that while shooting the final scene of the movie, Liam Neeson suffered a stroke but he didn't break character?
2 Liam Neeson's character name in this film is Bill Marks. In Taken (2008) and Taken 2 (2012) his name is Bryan Mills. Both share the initials 'B.M.'
3 The set for the plane was built very slightly larger than a standard commercial airliner to accommodate Neeson's 6'4" height for filming.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I was literally “taken” by Liam Neeson’s performance in Taken. Since then, I followed this new-found action-hero career. He was already an established actor in Schindler’s List and Star Wars. He also had a supporting role as the henchman Bad Cop/Good Cop in the animated film The Lego Movie. In Non-Stop, he was the “soul” of the movie, and did an excellent believable job. It was a totally enjoyable and thrilling 107 minutes. Both the video and audio are top-notched. The blu-ray movie is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Brilliant and would recommend, If you like films such as Crimson Tide and The Hunt for Red October, then this is a must see. Full of suspense, keeps you wondering and guessing right to the end and is definitely an on the edge of your seat ride. If you're a Neeson fan then a must see, but even if you're not, I'd still recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed this way more than I thought I might to be honest - a good fun thriller in a similar vein to flicks such as Flightplan and Red Eye.

Liam Neeson adds another ass kicker to his recent roster (see also - The Grey, Taken, Batman Begins etc etc) as US Air Marshall Bill Marks. On a flight to London he starts to relieve text messages demanding he arranges a transfer of a rather large sum of money or people on the plane will start dying. It's up to our guy to wade through a plane full of red herrings and discover who's doing this and why.

There are various possible culprits set up early in proceedings and the film works well as a whodunit and whydunit. Neesons character has his own personal problems to battle with which adds a bit of depth and he enters a typically tough, edgy performance. Julianne Moore adds solid support as a fellow passenger and the a things pretty decent all round.

There's enough twists and turns and solid action to keep things hurtling toward a satisfying conclusion. Yeah it's all outrageously far fetched but just go with it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Very disappointed with this, because it starts out so well.
The initial premise is one that Hitchcock would have been proud of had he been making 21st century thrillers: Air marshal (Neeson) on the plane keeps getting text messages from someone else, claiming to be on board, threatening to kill people every 20 minutes. Each time there is a killing Neeson ends up being there just too late to stop it - and it ends up appearing to be HIM who's doing the killing. Who is trying to frame him? Why?

Fantastic idea...but the whole idea falls down in the last 20 minutes with an overblown ending which is cheesy, features some rubbish CGI and completely unbelievable flying elements.

Almost worse for the fact that the opening 45 minutes is really really good...which makes the let down ending all the more disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Bill (Liam Neeson) is an Air Marshall who likes his drink too much. While on a flight he gets a terrorist threat over his secure phone line. A passenger will die every 20 minutes unless $150 million is transferred into a specific account. Thus begins a great game of cat and mouse that was excellently written and performed. The problem I had was when the culprit was revealed the motive was so unbelievably lame. Seriously? That was the best thing 5 guys could come up with?

A thriller worth watching once they get an alternative ending.

Parental Guide: 1 F Bomb near end by co-pilot. No sex or nudity. Implied sex as couple giggles under blanket.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Liam Neeson plays an ex alcoholic, Bill Marks, now an Air Marshall on a non stop flight to the USA. He seems lucky enough to be travelling Business class and ends up sitting next to Julianne Moore who starts to chat him up.
Bill Marks gets a text on his phone to say that the sender will kill one person on the plane every twenty minutes unless the airline transfers $150 million into an off-shore account. Upon investigation the account is in Mark’s name and then they look into his dodgy history and put two and two together to make six and think it is Marks holding the airline to ransom. Meanwhile Marks has to try and stop the real killer and blackmailer from killing people on the plane with no help from outside.

~~~~~~ MY VIEWS ~~~~~~
The plot is quite good and although an unlikely scenario it had us gripped from early on in the film. The acting of Neeson and Julianne Moore as well as others I thought was pretty good and believable. It is tense and there are several false culprits like any detective mystery has although I did find it frustrating at times with some of the suspects as I had my suspect from quite early one and was correct.

The plane inside looked pretty authentic and I would imagine they might have used a real plane on the ground of course for the filming but I might be wrong I suppose. The setting is pretty much the plane and nowhere else. I have since discovered that in fact the plane was a set and it was built very slightly larger than a standard commercial airliner to allow for Neeson's 6'4" height for filming.
The music score by John Ottman really added to the tension. It was orchestral and the sort that makes background to a film rather than being really memorable tunes. It went well with the film’s action and tension and helped to build the atmosphere.

Things like the fact that there was much talk about not being able to throw the bomb out of the plane because the pressure would make it explode and then a bit later gun shots were fired and this caused the cabin to become depressurised at 28,000 feet, so why did the bomb not explode then?
“Non-Stop” didn’t win any prizes as it is not really that original nor did it do anything very deep or different from the run of the mill escapist thriller mystery. It was easy watching and a fun film that did keep us hooked till the end despite having flaws. It was far from perfect but a bit like an Agatha Christie detective mystery novel it had all the elements of an action adventure mystery film and was well acted and even though there were times when you had to suspend belief , as my husband says “It’s a movie ….” We did enjoy 106 minutes of tense watching and neither of us suggested switching it off as we have dome with some recently. It was rather like reading a holiday type beach read book, it required little brain power and kept us entertained for the entire film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
I was debating whether to give this film 3 or 4 stars and decided to be generous as it is difficult to come up with an original plot nowadays.And despite the fact that Liam Neeson has basically played the same part in every film he's done lately,he still does it well and is probably the only action hero I can take seriously in this new age of tongue-in-cheek action flicks starring muscle bound 70 year olds and washed up actors who seem impervious to bullets and can still crack bad one-liners after being blown up fourteen times! The reason for my indecision - for a film called 'Non-stop' it starts off quite slow and a bit seen it all before,but is saved as the situation becomes quite tense and genuinely unpredictable,before the quality dips again with a slightly over the top climax.But it did keep me entertained and I didn't figure out whodunnit,which is a rare thing, so it gets 4 stars accordingly.Thriller fans will find something to enjoy and Liam Neeson fans will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Wow gripping. You don't need another disclosure of plot there's a few of them in reviews already but just to say the plot is good and almost holds up 100%. I'd say it holds up 85% but with the sheer pace of this film it feels like 95%. There's just no time to question it while watching, it's only when it's over does some of the plot appear a bit raggedy. Very entertaining worth a view. In my top 10 best films viewed on Amazon.
Not a fan of the over emphasised English accents in this film but it's not a big deal.
I must mention the excellent Sound track. John Ottman is the composer. His writing and the editing are superb with holding tension and plot line resolves. Great timing, no one appreciates being signalled too early or too late. A good seamless partnership between Sound and Visual in the story telling. Really enjoyed the whole experience, Thanks guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.