Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dierks Bentley's most personal album yet., 17 Mar 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
"Riser” is the eighth album by country music artist Dierks Bentley. As he made this 12 track album during a period when his father died and his first son was born, it is no surprise this is his most personal album yet. Dierks co-wrote 6 of the songs, and this album is sure to appeal to both lovers of country and lovers of rock.

The album features ballads like the moody “Bourbon In Kentucky” (which has Kacey Musgraves on backing vocals), the love song “Hurt Somebody” in which he sings about a beautiful girl who is a real heartbreaker but concludes that “Girl, You're gonna hurt somebody, God, I hope it's me!” and the wistful “Say You Do” and “Riser.”

The real heartbreakers on this CD are: “Here On Earth,” a song inspired by the death of his father and the tragic Sandy Hook shootings in 2013. “I ain’t the best of believers, Ain’t at the front of a church, I’ve read the words of the teacher, But I still struggle with what it’s all worth,” he sings. And “Damn These Dreams,” about the price one has to pay for having his dream come true: being a country artist like his heroes, but having to leave his family behind when on tour.

Although the album features some very personal and sad material and therefore might seem a bit ballad heavy, this is more than compensated by the more up-tempo songs like the fun “Drunk On A Plane,” “Pretty Girls,” “Back Porch” and “Sounds Of Summer” that bring the album back into balance.

All 12 tracks are great, there's not a dud among them, but my personal favorites on this album are “Damn These Dreams,” “Here On Earth” (which really touched me emotionally), “Drunk On A Plane” and “Back Porch.” To sum it up, “Riser” is a great country/rock album that I would recommend to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dierks Bentley rocks!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Great album for new country lovers!!!

We saw this guy perform at the O2 at the Country2Country concert last weekend.....excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 April 2014
By 
Miss Jacqueline MacGregor (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Saw Dierks Bently live at "Country to Country" 2014, he was fantastic....hope to see him again next year at 2015 C2C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!, 3 July 2014
By 
Reet (Mealisheen, Leap, Co Cork) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
This is my new favourite CD. I really cannot stop playing it. You can't help but love this man's voice.
The songs? There are some very personal ones to Dierks, some fun ones and some really heartfelt ones, but you can't help but want to sing along to all of them. This CD really does make you feel good. I have become a huge Dierks Bentley fan from this CD, as have the few I have introduced him to. So do yourself a favour......and just buy it. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
First Dierks CD ever purchased introduced to his music by my friend in USA, so many good tracks hard to pick a favourite but Drunk on a Plane is really good to sing along to at full blast!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Great CD with no disappointing tracks.
If you love country you will love this too.
What a voice - what a star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dierks keeps rising, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (MP3 Download)
Another awesome album from Dierks Bentley. Every album he releases is slightly different in its sound, but they're similar in their brilliance. I saw Dierks at the C2C Festival at the O2 Arena, and he was fantastic. Like his set that night this album is vibrant and full of energy. It's got a very summery feel to it, its gonna sound great in the sun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Another great album. I love Dierks voice. There is something different about it. I found all the tracks to be of a great standard. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Have to say got this a few days before the C2C event at the O2 and I cannot stop playing it great tracks from a a great artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 22 April 2014
By 
A. Baxter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riser (Audio CD)
Having bought his previous album, Home, before going to the County to Country festival at the O2, i wasnt convinced it was my type of music, but after his set, I bought this album straight away and haven't stopped playing it since. Not a bad track on the album with I Hold On being one of the stand outs along with Here on Earth, about the death of his father. Having gone to the concert to see especially Zac Brown Band, he stole the show for me in front of Zac, Dixie Chicks and Martina mcBride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riser
Riser by Dierks Bentley
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews