Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars160
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

At long last the end of the Red John saga, Patrick confronting the man who destroyed his family and taunted him so sadistically ever since.

Flashforward two years. Now taking life easy on a tropical beach somewhere, Patrick is tracked down by the FBI. They want to make use of his skills, but strictly on their terms. As if! Ever the maverick, he is soon running rings round his bosses and colleagues - complete with a fine new couch where he can recline whilst they work their socks off.

A move thus from the sombre to the lighthearted, throughout awesome observational skills causing villains to be brought to book.

Critics will find loopholes in plenty, inconsistences, cliches. They may claim creators probably decided the identity of Red John by tossing a coin or drawing the name from a hat. Examples of well worn themes? How about the old one of a man on Death Row, his execution due within hours, team racing against the clock to find vital new evidence? Elsewhere is the desperate race to a plane about to take off with the love of one's life.

Away with such criticisms! They are part of the series' charm. This is light escapist entertainment doing exactly what it sets out to do.

At times irritatingly cocky? Yes, but Simon Baker's Patrick Jane as usual radiates charm. Colleague Tim Kang remains impressively expressionless. Welcome additions are Rockmond Dunbar as FBI's Dennis Abbott and Joe Adler as computer whizzkid Wylie.

22 episodes. A bonus explains how the needed change came about.

Perhaps occasional signs of spacefilling and over-casual plotting hint the series is running out of steam. Season 6, though, still offers much to enjoy, not least the sight of Red John getting his comeuppance.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Brilliant conclusion to the Red John story, watched it again the next day because it was so good. Simon Baker just gets better and better in his role as smarmy - but likeable - Patrick Jane. The series has the perfect balance of drama, mystery, moving moments and laugh-out-loud moments. The new characters in the FBI take a while to grow on you (especially Kim) but eventually become integral. Kimble Cho just gets better and better, with some of the best lines in the entire series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
We are really hooked on these. Its based on a sad story but the comedy mixed in is brilliant. Every one of the team deserve a medal for working with Patrick. Although he's quite rude, he gets away with it because of his charm and naughty,schoolboy attitude. I hope they do make some more. Everyone in the family, from 16 to 68, thoroughly enjoy it and its one of the few programmes we all watch together.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
The Mentalist is in my opinion one of the most enjoyable of crime solving series. Even my ninety four year olds mother is quite hooked. Patrick Jane, a paid consultant for Theresa Lisbon's CBI team, uses all his psychic skills to cold read the subjects, closing cases as he does. He is fun, unpredictable and at times heart wrenching as he hunts for the killer of his wife and little daughter. All the characters and their individual stories have depth. Not one series has disappointed and it will sit on the shelf marked 'watch again, and more'. For me the psychology of this character is very real as are those of the other four... However, change is afoot for the team...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
You must be a fan if you're watching this amazingly clever series.There is nothing to dislike,it's total brilliance is the well written scripts and the acting is superb,and truly convincing.The main characters always get you involved and you feel like you know them so well and are a comrade in arms.Patrick Jane is dynamic and we all wish we had a friend like him.This series is never boring or predictable but has all the elements needed for compulsive viewing.Excellant series,it just does'nt get better than this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
I have followed the TV series from the very beginning and absolutely loved it. I think he is funny, clever and there isn't too much violence in the episodes. I like a good detective plot rather than violence just for shock tactics with bodies pilling up. Sorry the series has ended but hope there is room for a follow up film or a spin off of sorts. Very good buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
There is a calmness that commands about the whole series of seasons. This episode just reassures you

It's unbelievable fantasy fiction mixed with compassion and an understanding of human nature. As this season 6 grows to a close I look forward to starting season 1 again. Thank heavens for Amazon Prime
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
A unicue serie that should have same type of series. Not allways bodies and police or detective series without a solution You can quess beforehand. And the main star looks out so mormal person You can meet at any street. He has allready age and is not such a young bestlooking man ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
I loved this new season of The Mentalist. It was very dark at the beginning with the hunt for Red John drawing to a climax. I think this built really well but I found myself longing for the lighter times of series 1 - 3 before Patrick became so intense. Well the second half of the series delivered! There was some fun back in it but also tense moments which is great. Cho didn't get to interview very often, I love his interviewing techniques, they are really funny. I'm looking forward to a new lighter series 7 which will hopefully sprinkle in mystery, tension, danger and Jane just being Jane again. Great series, will be buying the DVD.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
6 years on, it still has not lost its charm. the new episodes post Red theme is actually as good! Looking forward to the next season
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)