Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets
Widely bootlegged since year dot, this has long been hailed as one of the finest Mk 2 performances caught on tape. And time has not withered it's impact. If anything, the remix and remastering has made it even better than on the several other 'unofficial' versions I have lying around.
To be fair, "Speed King" is a bit uneven, but by the time they hit "Into The...
Published on 22 May 2005 by Mr. H

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple Live In Stockholm (remastered)
Except for Made in Japan this live album is close to being right up there with it,unfortunately even though the sound quality is better on this version the authenticity for me has been ripped out of this album i will stick to the Scandanavian Nights version anyone who has got a copy of the latter make sure you listen to the remastered version by downloading a song before...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Gordon Bryce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 22 May 2005
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live In Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
Widely bootlegged since year dot, this has long been hailed as one of the finest Mk 2 performances caught on tape. And time has not withered it's impact. If anything, the remix and remastering has made it even better than on the several other 'unofficial' versions I have lying around.
To be fair, "Speed King" is a bit uneven, but by the time they hit "Into The Fire", this is the sound of a band that knew they were white hot. Even that hoary old chestnut, "Child In Time" sounds fresh and vital. Which it was in 1970!
But then, it's off into my favourite of all Mk 1/2 worlds - "Wring That Neck". Shorn of Gillans histrionics, Deep Purple were peerless, when it came to instrumental mastery. And this one of the finest versions of "Wring That Neck" going. Twenty minutes of sheer magic.
I never liked the Purple version of "Paint It Black", regardless of the drum solo, so skipped on to that other gem, "Mandrake Root". Of all the tracks here, this is where the remix seems to have done most good, with the muddy bass cleaning up well. Then it's hit single time, with "Black Night", and we're off home.
So, should you buy this, if you've already got "Scandinavian Nights"?
Well, yes. First of, the running order is right, the sound is clearer (and louder), you get the usual high quality Purple Records booklet (and reproducing the ticket on the CD is a neat touch), and this is as good as Mk2 Purple gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS MADE IN JAPAN !!!!, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Live In Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
DEEP PURPLE's 'Scandinavian Nights' or as this re-issue is called 'Live In Stockholm 1970', is a fantastic concert of Deep Purple mark 2. It's a 2 cd set. And has a complete concert from 1970 in Sweden. EVERY song is awesome and features extended soloing, improvisation and incredible playing and singing. This is one of the best if not the best live performance of the band available on cd. Tracks are 'Speed King', a 10 minute version with pin dropping quiet middle section, 'Into The Fire', 'Child In Time', an amazing 17 minute plus version with jazzy improvisational middle passage, 'Paint It Black', Ian Paice's 10 minute drum solo, 'Wring That Neck', extended to half an hour, 'Mandrake Root' another half hour long version of intense playing, and 'Black Night', which includes the most amazing singing and guitar dueling from Ian Gillan and Ritchie Blackmore, it's stunning, they just go higher and higher !
Better than 'Made In Japan' ??? Well 'Made In Japan' is the acknowledged classic ! As it should be. But this archive album release is easily as good. BLACKMORE/GILLAN/GLOVER/LORD/PAICE ARE THE BAND, ARE ROCK, ARE DEEP PURPLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Live in Montreux 1969Deep Purple - History, Hits And Highlights 1968-1976 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC]Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Live Music Love This, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
Third in the set, can't wait for the rest of them. If you love the thrill and song differences of live music you will love the old concerts on these CDs. Don't expect studio quality, these are LIVE concerts warts and all. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great live album, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
The recent series of live albums is building nicely and this is another excellent addition to one of my fave bands of all times.
It is great that we are now able to hear classic concerts from years gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW This will blow you away!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
Without doubt Deep Purple at its best. In my opinion tops Made in Japan. Fantastic musicianship and energy that still makes you wanna jump around... 44 years later. Highlights for me are Mandrake Root, Speed King, Into The Fire... well I could almost list here the whole album. If you like DP's In Rock, this is a must buy. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best live recording from DP ?, 15 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Live In Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
Made in Japan is known as the best live recording ever in rock history and probably is. But Live in Stockholm 1970 as nearly as good. The performance recorded here is absolutely superb. The set list is classical for that period and starts with Speed King, probably the best version available so far. After Into The Fire, we get THE best version of Child In Time. Everything is just perfect, especially JL and RB in the instrumental section, phenomenal ! THE highlight of the record for me. And then we have Wring That Neck, a great version too, except maybe the JL solo. But the firt ten minutes are just exceptional.

The second disc is also of very high standard, with a great Mandrake Root (only the Live in Aachen version could be better) and a very energic Black Night to end a fantastic show.

So even if there is nothing new as it was already available before as Scandinavian Nights, this record is one of the best live recording in DP history, and shows the band at their first peak during the In Rock tour : fresh, lively, inspired on stage. Machine Head (and MIJ) will follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reissue, 18 May 2014
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
I bought the main part of this set years ago on vinyl when it was entitled Scandinavian Nights and again on CD as Live In Stockholm so it's a bit of a disappointment to see this reissued yet again albeit with a few extras added on. The same thing happened with the Live in Copenhagen CD which is just Live In Denmark with a couple of extra tracks. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the performances they're all excellent, those that I've heard, in fact they're some of my favourite renditions of these tracks. If you haven't got the earlier issues of these concerts then this is probably the version to buy. Purple never failed to produce exciting live performances back then, they knock spots of the releases from recent concerts. All in all good value for money but not if you already own most of it. Is this the band or the record companies cashing in on the fans loyalty?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
I was a teenager again. A must for all D.P fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep purple rock again., 1 May 2014
By 
M Hisbent "silkiemh" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stockholm 1970 (Audio CD)
We are so lucky to see this rare material finally hitting the light of day. My favourite era deep purple bringing the house down again. I won't review track by track. Great extra video performances included in this package. Buy it and enjoy musical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime purple, 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is excellent. The sound quality is just fine. The band, especially Richie, are well on form. The improv sections are typical of the time-more exploratory than simple showing off. The version of Child in Time is mind blowing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews