Customer Reviews


1,376 Reviews
5 star:
 (846)
4 star:
 (312)
3 star:
 (131)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds...
Published 3 months ago by Jack Croxall (Author/Journo)

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it
The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it. JK Rowling’s strength is her character development and this shines through again with the hero Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin, and you are left wanting to know more about them. The characters are extremely well thought out and there are lots of details to feast on. I particularly like...
Published 3 months ago by S A Jubb


‹ Previous | 1 2138 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!, 5 July 2014
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds himself in and amongst London's squabbling literary circle, caught up in the mess created by Quine upon circulation of his latest manuscript; a libellous book in which he viciously attacks almost everyone he's ever worked with.

`Write what you know' is the age old adage and, where Rowling dipped into her experience of fame for The Cuckoo's Calling, The Silkworm deals with a publishing world going through an identity crisis. Traditional publishing, self-publishing and the internet's influence are all fleetingly examined, and you can't help but wonder how many of Cormoran's suspects include portions of the real-life people Rowling encountered during her remarkable rise to superstardom. But then, given the repercussions of Quine's own manuscript, Bombyx Mori (Latin for silkworm), borrowed traits might well have been too ironic an inclusion for even the most cavalier of writers - an enjoyable conundrum to deliberate whilst reading.

A literary yet accessible crime thriller, The Silkworm is, like its predecessor, an excellent read. The mystery is moreish, the characters well-crafted, and the side plots - particularly the continuing animosity between Strike and his assistant's fiancé - are genuinely enjoyable. One of the few complaints is that Strike unravels the mystery with a bit of a clunk, and that the quotes at the beginning of every chapter are somewhat pretentious for a trashy (in the very best of ways) crime thriller. Yes, even one with such a literary heart.

Jack Croxall, author of Tethers (The Tethers Trilogy Book 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it. JK Rowling’s strength is her character development and this shines through again with the hero Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin, and you are left wanting to know more about them. The characters are extremely well thought out and there are lots of details to feast on. I particularly like all the pieces about Strike’s past at Oxford, him being rock star Jonny Rokeby’s son and his doomed love affair with Charlotte. Rowling has also clearly done her research with Strike’s disability and the problems it could cause.

Although I enjoyed this one, and its predecessor A Cuckoo Calling, I did find the plot a little clunky and, perhaps I missed them, there were no real clues throughout the novel as to who the villain was. It felt a bit like ‘pulling the curtain back.’ Plot is certainly not JK Rowling’s strength and if you like plot driven novels, you’re probably better off looking at some of the more established crime authors.

In summary, I think Rowling has hit on an excellent few characters and I expect there to be many more adventures of Cormoran Strike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about character, not plot, 17 July 2014
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I read and enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and so was looking forward to this follow-up. As with the first book I was much more taken by the characters than the plot. Strike is extremely likable and very well-rounded and the relationships between the main characters are really believable. Location too is great; I know that corner of London very well and it was lovely to read it brought to life so evocatively.

Sadly, it’s the plot that lets the whole book down; it reads like a crime novel written by someone who hasn’t read much crime. It lacks the pace of a Val McDermid or a PD James novel and so my main reason for finishing the book was because I was enjoying the character development.

I’d read another one, but hopefully it will be about a hundred pages shorter and have a bit more pace behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I seem to be missing something, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I was not blown away by the first book and didn’t really see myself picking up the follow up. But the reviews were good so….

I was underwhelmed again, while very strong on character and descriptive narrative. It felt weak on plot. Much like the first one. So I enjoyed Strike as a character and his developing relationship with his assistant Robin, his backstory also has some interesting aspects but there was as much focus on his leg as there was on the plot!

Very much aware of the affection for the author and there is no doubt she has a great deal of talent, my concern in these two books is she hasn’t quite got the right balance between the characters, the relationships and the plot. It comes to something when the most interesting aspects in the book are Robin’s relationship with her husband and Strike’s relationship with his family. This just feels like a missed opportunity, but I am aware I seem to be in a minority and am missing something that so many others are seeing in the books and enjoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirms unwritten rule that the sequel is usually better than the first part, 19 Jun 2014
Be advised: Spoiler alerts

`The Silkworm' written by J. K. Rowling (no more) hidden by pseudonym of Robert Galbraith is second novel in Cormoran Strike series, a private detective from London with turbulent history. Though first novel in series `The Cuckoo's Calling' was good and in the most part interesting work, initially it attracted the attention of the public and readers because of the whole fuss about author hidden identity.

So it was interesting to see what the author of the novel will deliver as the second installment, especially because little time has passed since the publication of the previous one, and the first sequel opened up a lot of space for the development of the story and the characters who appeared in it.

Therefore, after reading `The Silkworm' most important to say is that the second installment is lot better than the first part, and its reading can certainly be recommended because what was good in the first remained on same level of quality, while for some elements on which there was room for improvement now are much better.

For those few on the globe who still don't know, main character of this novel is strangely named London detective, Cormoran Strike, which was firstly a kind of stereotypical detective type, but as the story unfolds and the reader gets to know him, he reveals as guy with a troubled past because of disturbed childhood and military career because of which he lost his leg fighting in Afghanistan, but equally difficult present because og money problems and the inability to establish a closer relationship with the people from the environment.

In his life, because of a combination of circumstances will enter the assistant named Robin and together they solved the case of famous and high profile supermodel who had allegedly committed suicide several months ago though Strike's client (brother of the supermodel) was sure she was murdered.

Though I don't want to spoil the fun of reading, `The Silkworm' story is about the search for missing novelist Owen Quine who wrote a bit controversial text which is on the border of fiction and reality. As reader can assume, unfortunately he will not be found (alive), therefore Strike and Robin Ellacott will attempt to find the murderer and solve the mystery surrounding the death of novelist after they have been called first to investigate his disappearance.

The biggest strength of previous novel was the fact that these two characters, one who is detective and the other who dreams about becoming one, together with exciting investigation produced interesting story with many twists and turns. But most importantly, J.K. didn't fell for some cliché, speaking about possible love affair between main two characters.

In sequel, the author does not change her decision on this matter, though her two characters become even more developed, put into more complex story which will be intriguing for reader to discover and keep guessing. Again her novel is rich in details, though it seems that that unlike the first book, it does not slow down the pace, but gives the depth of the story.

Besides that, author in this sequel decided to introduce some interesting references to the events that occur in real life these days, such as phone hacking and non-compliance with journalistic ethics therefore her book provides an interesting overview on some of the events around us.

Overall, J. K. Rowling with `The Silkworm' confirmed unwritten rule that the sequel is usually better than the first part, creating a piece that will be delight for the fans of mystery and thriller novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bombay Mix, 12 Oct 2014
When I first saw the Latin title of the scandalous work at the heart of this novel, I misread it as Bombay Mix, hoping that the author had spiced up her tale with saucy references to nubile Indian maidens. But no such luck! Instead, we have lots of quotes from Jacobean Revenge Tragedy/Renaissance Drama and Restoration Comedy to evoke a refined literary atmosphere of envy and debauchery. At first, I found the story slow-going, even tedious at times, and kept comparing JK Rowling unfavourably to Sophie Hannah whose books fizz and sparkle, dragging the reader along in a whirlwind of breathtaking originality and frenzied passion. In contrast, this is more like flat champagne, lacking sparkle and natural flair. The author does provide plenty of controversial material but it comes across as contrived and forced, as though at the back of her mind she has a kind of inferiority complex as a children's writer and is trying too hard to be taken seriously. So, there is an overkill of literary quotes and references. Unlike a lot of reviewers, I don't think it's as good as the first book. This time, the author moves on from the fashion scene to the literary world in order to take potshots at various celebrities and wannabes. The main mitigating factor, though, is the ending when the book finally snaps into life. If I could, I would have given it 3.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as good as the first., 29 Jun 2014
By 
A. Janes "alix" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a readers of crime thrillers the book at the centre of the plot was miles away from what appeals to me, and the author was portrayed as some sort of weirdo so I found it hard to relate to him. The other characters are equally as awful with the exception of Robin and Strike, so it was not a good start. The story is complex and the method of death seemed gratuitous. I will continue with the series but hope the next one is better.

I found the literary quotes at the start of each chapter pretentious and annoying and I gave up bothering to read them. It felt a bit like the author was showing off by including them as they didn't add anything for me.
I got bored by the constant references to Strike`s false leg and sore stump, point made so stop going on about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed "The Cuckoo's Calling" (not to mention all the other books of J K Rowlings) I was keen to see how the second book would fair. Although I found it darker, it was more enjoyable, possibly because I was familiar with the main characters. Once again the setting is atmospheric and beautifully observed while the characters, even the minor players, are carefully moulded to show depth and personality with all their idiosyncrasies, hang ups flaws and redeeming features.
The central plot twists and drags the reader through the streets of snowbound London, but I will not give away the main tenet as I feel spoilers are a curse. Suffice to say I hope Ms Rowlings (aka Robert Galbraith) in her literary circle does not come into contact with the seamier side of the publishing world.
A word of warning to those of a sensitive disposition; the language is often ripe, as befits the characters, and description of the body, luridly graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good to see Cormorant Strike and his sidekick Robin back again, these characters are enjoyable to read, but what a letdown! What should have been another great story has been spoilt by the ridiculous, unbelievable plot line of Quine's Bombyx Mori, with pretentious, dislikeable characters throughout. Disappointment isn't the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this - really enjoyable fiction, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the first in this series, I was very excited to see this was coming out. There's a strong chance that I have a big Cormoran Strike crush - I think he's a really well-written hero - but I enjoy Robin's character just as much.

Didn't see the ending of this whodunit coming - another pleasure of this book. Some gory details that slowed my progress at times, but I am very pleased that persevering led to such a satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2138 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews