Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds...
Published 12 months ago by Jack Croxall (Author/Journo)

versus
86 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about character, not plot
I read and enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and so was looking forward to this follow-up. As with the first book I was much more taken by the characters than the plot. Strike is extremely likable and very well-rounded and the relationships between the main characters are really believable. Location too is great; I know that corner of London very well and it was lovely...
Published 11 months ago by Sarah Durston


‹ Previous | 1 2222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about character, not plot, 17 July 2014
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I read and enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and so was looking forward to this follow-up. As with the first book I was much more taken by the characters than the plot. Strike is extremely likable and very well-rounded and the relationships between the main characters are really believable. Location too is great; I know that corner of London very well and it was lovely to read it brought to life so evocatively.

Sadly, it’s the plot that lets the whole book down; it reads like a crime novel written by someone who hasn’t read much crime. It lacks the pace of a Val McDermid or a PD James novel and so my main reason for finishing the book was because I was enjoying the character development.

I’d read another one, but hopefully it will be about a hundred pages shorter and have a bit more pace behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The plot however was in my opinion overly convoluted and quite tedious at times, 15 April 2015
By 
J. Osborne (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Disappointing follow up for lovers of Strike Cormoran first novel, The Cuckoos Calling. The characters of Strike and his capable assistant, Robyn continue to be well developed and this aspect of the plot was what kept me going to the end. The plot however was in my opinion overly convoluted and quite tedious at times, the Latin introductions to each chapter added nothing, just irritated me. I cared nothing about any of the other characters and by the end I frankly just wanted the book to end so didn't give a hoot who the murderer was. Sorry, so wanted to enjoy this as my holiday read but will not be recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!, 5 July 2014
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds himself in and amongst London's squabbling literary circle, caught up in the mess created by Quine upon circulation of his latest manuscript; a libellous book in which he viciously attacks almost everyone he's ever worked with.

`Write what you know' is the age old adage and, where Rowling dipped into her experience of fame for The Cuckoo's Calling, The Silkworm deals with a publishing world going through an identity crisis. Traditional publishing, self-publishing and the internet's influence are all fleetingly examined, and you can't help but wonder how many of Cormoran's suspects include portions of the real-life people Rowling encountered during her remarkable rise to superstardom. But then, given the repercussions of Quine's own manuscript, Bombyx Mori (Latin for silkworm), borrowed traits might well have been too ironic an inclusion for even the most cavalier of writers - an enjoyable conundrum to deliberate whilst reading.

A literary yet accessible crime thriller, The Silkworm is, like its predecessor, an excellent read. The mystery is moreish, the characters well-crafted, and the side plots - particularly the continuing animosity between Strike and his assistant's fiancé - are genuinely enjoyable. One of the few complaints is that Strike unravels the mystery with a bit of a clunk, and that the quotes at the beginning of every chapter are somewhat pretentious for a trashy (in the very best of ways) crime thriller. Yes, even one with such a literary heart.

Jack Croxall, author of Tethers (The Tethers Trilogy Book 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed "The Cuckoo's Calling" (not to mention all the other books of J K Rowlings) I was keen to see how the second book would fair. Although I found it darker, it was more enjoyable, possibly because I was familiar with the main characters. Once again the setting is atmospheric and beautifully observed while the characters, even the minor players, are carefully moulded to show depth and personality with all their idiosyncrasies, hang ups flaws and redeeming features.
The central plot twists and drags the reader through the streets of snowbound London, but I will not give away the main tenet as I feel spoilers are a curse. Suffice to say I hope Ms Rowlings (aka Robert Galbraith) in her literary circle does not come into contact with the seamier side of the publishing world.
A word of warning to those of a sensitive disposition; the language is often ripe, as befits the characters, and description of the body, luridly graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirms unwritten rule that the sequel is usually better than the first part, 19 Jun. 2014
`The Silkworm' written by J. K. Rowling (no more) hidden by pseudonym of Robert Galbraith is second novel in Cormoran Strike series, a private detective from London with turbulent history. Though first novel in series `The Cuckoo's Calling' was good and in the most part interesting work, initially it attracted the attention of the public and readers because of the whole fuss about author hidden identity.

So it was interesting to see what the author of the novel will deliver as the second installment, especially because little time has passed since the publication of the previous one, and the first sequel opened up a lot of space for the development of the story and the characters who appeared in it.

Therefore, after reading `The Silkworm' most important to say is that the second installment is lot better than the first part, and its reading can certainly be recommended because what was good in the first remained on same level of quality, while for some elements on which there was room for improvement now are much better.

For those few on the globe who still don't know, main character of this novel is strangely named London detective, Cormoran Strike, which was firstly a kind of stereotypical detective type, but as the story unfolds and the reader gets to know him, he reveals as guy with a troubled past because of disturbed childhood and military career because of which he lost his leg fighting in Afghanistan, but equally difficult present because og money problems and the inability to establish a closer relationship with the people from the environment.

In his life, because of a combination of circumstances will enter the assistant named Robin and together they solved the case of famous and high profile supermodel who had allegedly committed suicide several months ago though Strike's client (brother of the supermodel) was sure she was murdered.

Though I don't want to spoil the fun of reading, `The Silkworm' story is about the search for missing novelist Owen Quine who wrote a bit controversial text which is on the border of fiction and reality. As reader can assume, unfortunately he will not be found (alive), therefore Strike and Robin Ellacott will attempt to find the murderer and solve the mystery surrounding the death of novelist after they have been called first to investigate his disappearance.

The biggest strength of previous novel was the fact that these two characters, one who is detective and the other who dreams about becoming one, together with exciting investigation produced interesting story with many twists and turns. But most importantly, J.K. didn't fell for some cliché, speaking about possible love affair between main two characters.

In sequel, the author does not change her decision on this matter, though her two characters become even more developed, put into more complex story which will be intriguing for reader to discover and keep guessing. Again her novel is rich in details, though it seems that that unlike the first book, it does not slow down the pace, but gives the depth of the story.

Besides that, author in this sequel decided to introduce some interesting references to the events that occur in real life these days, such as phone hacking and non-compliance with journalistic ethics therefore her book provides an interesting overview on some of the events around us.

Overall, J. K. Rowling with `The Silkworm' confirmed unwritten rule that the sequel is usually better than the first part, creating a piece that will be delight for the fans of mystery and thriller novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Implausible, overwritten and trite, 24 Jun. 2015
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
I really wanted to like this novel and did persevere with it to the end, but I found that the interludes between reading it were getting longer and longer as I struggled to care about any of the characters and got more and more irritated by the ridiculous plot and cliched characters. Everything about 'The Silkworm' seemed laboured.
And this is coming from someone who thought the early Harry Potter books were great.

As Rowling got more famous it seems that there was less and less professional editing of her work (notice how the Harry Potter books got longer and longer) and I think that is what has happened here. It feels like the Emperor's New Clothes - no-one can be seen to criticise her work because she is J K Rowling.

This crime thriller is truly awful.

Briefly, Cormoron Strike - a private detective and Afghanistan war veteran (with a prosthetic leg)- is the protaganist and he is tasked with unravelling what has happened to a notorious novelist called Owen Quine, who has disappeared.

There is a cast of characters who are almost invariably stereotypes - the alcoholic editor, the ball-busting female literary agent, the seedy tabloid report who is surprised that Strike doesn't get information by phone hacking. Please! - and too many terrible metaphors and descriptions.

It doesn't really matter what J K Rowling writes; her legions of fans will just lap it up and think it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crying out for an Editor, 21 May 2015
Who can argue that J K Rowling - aka Galbraith - isn't a talented, imaginative and hugely successful author?
But with that success has evidently come the power to stand firm against any attempts to edit her work.
The result here is a tome that is far too long and far too full of description of the angst of the main character, and the reasons for it, until it feels like you're being hammered on the head with his heartache, his past, and of course, his disability - whatever happened to "show, don't tell"?
I also have a problem with the way Rowling takes thinly veiled swipes at all the "types" she doesn't like - and there are many of them - from the rich and successful business man to the lonely middle aged female who is too chatty; there's even a swipe at a very recognisable actor! None of this is done with the humorous satire of other great writers, but with an air of spite that makes me uncomfortable to read it.
In amongst all these niggles was the makings of a good crime story, but in her determination to display her intelligence and observational skills, and her seeming refusal to let an unbiased editor anywhere near it, the author has buried her treasure a little too deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing follow up, 4 April 2015
By 
Richard Barnes (Norwich., England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to this read as Cuckoo's calling was one of the best crime novels I've read and the twin characters were built up so well by JK that it was inevitably going to run to more stories. I have to say though that this was a complete let-down. What happened to the wonderful humour and clever use of language in the first novel? Robin is reduced to a mere girlie in her attitudes and behaviours and why oh why does every third or fourth paragraph have to mention Strike's damned leg and prosthesis? The plot is fine but the characters are two-dimensional, not nearly as well developed as the debut novel and the language is often trite and lazy. PS JK, not everyone from Cornwall drinks Doombar, there are a lot better beers than that nationally distributed version of Cornish ale. It feels like JK was rushed into getting a sequel out or else delegated some of the writing to an assistant. I've rated it OK because it is and if I hadn't read Cuckoo I would not feel so let down by this weak follow up. Bands often have the same problem with their sophomore effort, let's hope JK can get back on form for the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up, with a narrative that is either complicated or vulgar in part, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved The Cuckoo Calling and bought this book on the back of my love of that novel however I was disappointed in this book for various reasons. Whilst having a command of Latin which I find un-necessary she seemed to use it to make a point with vulgarity. I found the novel written by the author complicated and disgusting, did anyone really know what that was about and who on earth would have read such rubbish. This made me wonder what on earth was going on in Rowling's head even as this featured as a fictional novel and its complicated relationship to the people in the mans life, he need never have worried about upsetting people, they would never have understood it. Each chapter was punctuated by a line from a poem or novel, also un necessary and complicated served no useful purpose whatsoever. The narrative progressed in the same way as book one but nowhere near as good. For someone who has such a command of language the swearing was over the top and un necessary. Something about who she is and the way she uses language is just not productive. She seems to have wandered off the point. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this - really enjoyable fiction, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the first in this series, I was very excited to see this was coming out. There's a strong chance that I have a big Cormoran Strike crush - I think he's a really well-written hero - but I enjoy Robin's character just as much.

Didn't see the ending of this whodunit coming - another pleasure of this book. Some gory details that slowed my progress at times, but I am very pleased that persevering led to such a satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews