Customer Reviews


1,520 Reviews
5 star:
 (938)
4 star:
 (343)
3 star:
 (140)
2 star:
 (65)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds...
Published 5 months ago by Jack Croxall (Author/Journo)

versus
61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about character, not plot
I read and enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and so was looking forward to this follow-up. As with the first book I was much more taken by the characters than the plot. Strike is extremely likable and very well-rounded and the relationships between the main characters are really believable. Location too is great; I know that corner of London very well and it was lovely...
Published 5 months ago by Sarah Durston


‹ Previous | 1 2152 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up!, 5 July 2014
Eight months after the Landry case and Strike is back. Inundated with rich clients wanting their adulterous spouses tailed, the private detective is relieved to receive a likeable visitor with a quandary actually worth investigating. The wife of not-quite-famous author, Owen Quine, Leonora Quine wants her missing husband found. Cormoran takes on the case and quickly finds himself in and amongst London's squabbling literary circle, caught up in the mess created by Quine upon circulation of his latest manuscript; a libellous book in which he viciously attacks almost everyone he's ever worked with.

`Write what you know' is the age old adage and, where Rowling dipped into her experience of fame for The Cuckoo's Calling, The Silkworm deals with a publishing world going through an identity crisis. Traditional publishing, self-publishing and the internet's influence are all fleetingly examined, and you can't help but wonder how many of Cormoran's suspects include portions of the real-life people Rowling encountered during her remarkable rise to superstardom. But then, given the repercussions of Quine's own manuscript, Bombyx Mori (Latin for silkworm), borrowed traits might well have been too ironic an inclusion for even the most cavalier of writers - an enjoyable conundrum to deliberate whilst reading.

A literary yet accessible crime thriller, The Silkworm is, like its predecessor, an excellent read. The mystery is moreish, the characters well-crafted, and the side plots - particularly the continuing animosity between Strike and his assistant's fiancé - are genuinely enjoyable. One of the few complaints is that Strike unravels the mystery with a bit of a clunk, and that the quotes at the beginning of every chapter are somewhat pretentious for a trashy (in the very best of ways) crime thriller. Yes, even one with such a literary heart.

Jack Croxall, author of Tethers (The Tethers Trilogy Book 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about character, not plot, 17 July 2014
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I read and enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and so was looking forward to this follow-up. As with the first book I was much more taken by the characters than the plot. Strike is extremely likable and very well-rounded and the relationships between the main characters are really believable. Location too is great; I know that corner of London very well and it was lovely to read it brought to life so evocatively.

Sadly, it’s the plot that lets the whole book down; it reads like a crime novel written by someone who hasn’t read much crime. It lacks the pace of a Val McDermid or a PD James novel and so my main reason for finishing the book was because I was enjoying the character development.

I’d read another one, but hopefully it will be about a hundred pages shorter and have a bit more pace behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bombay Mix, 12 Oct 2014
When I first saw the Latin title of the scandalous work at the heart of this novel, I misread it as Bombay Mix, hoping that the author had spiced up her tale with saucy references to nubile Indian maidens. But no such luck! Instead, we have lots of quotes from Jacobean Revenge Tragedy/Renaissance Drama and Restoration Comedy to evoke a refined literary atmosphere of envy and debauchery. At first, I found the story slow-going, even tedious at times, and kept comparing JK Rowling unfavourably to Sophie Hannah whose books fizz and sparkle, dragging the reader along in a whirlwind of breathtaking originality and frenzied passion. In contrast, this is more like flat champagne, lacking sparkle and natural flair. The author does provide plenty of controversial material but it comes across as contrived and forced, as though at the back of her mind she has a kind of inferiority complex as a children's writer and is trying too hard to be taken seriously. So, there is an overkill of literary quotes and references. Unlike a lot of reviewers, I don't think it's as good as the first book. This time, the author moves on from the fashion scene to the literary world in order to take potshots at various celebrities and wannabes. The main mitigating factor, though, is the ending when the book finally snaps into life. If I could, I would have given it 3.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Silkworm is a really good read and I would really recommend it. JK Rowling’s strength is her character development and this shines through again with the hero Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin, and you are left wanting to know more about them. The characters are extremely well thought out and there are lots of details to feast on. I particularly like all the pieces about Strike’s past at Oxford, him being rock star Jonny Rokeby’s son and his doomed love affair with Charlotte. Rowling has also clearly done her research with Strike’s disability and the problems it could cause.

Although I enjoyed this one, and its predecessor A Cuckoo Calling, I did find the plot a little clunky and, perhaps I missed them, there were no real clues throughout the novel as to who the villain was. It felt a bit like ‘pulling the curtain back.’ Plot is certainly not JK Rowling’s strength and if you like plot driven novels, you’re probably better off looking at some of the more established crime authors.

In summary, I think Rowling has hit on an excellent few characters and I expect there to be many more adventures of Cormoran Strike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising second book in the Strike detective series, 9 Dec 2014
By 
Jess (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this series. You get JK Rowlings classic style, which made Harry Potter so readable and engaging and a classic murder mystery plot. She has a knack of creating vivid and often repugnant characters. And if you've read HP you'll know she is also a master plotter. I don't read a huge amount of crime fiction so can't compare to the other big hitters, but coming in as an ex Harry Potter fan and occasional crime reader I really enjoyed this and the previous book. I liked the developing relationship between Strike and Robin, and the atmospheric London setting. Even though its fairly contemporary, JK rowling manages to lend London an eerie gothic air. The actual murder is a bit more grisly than the first book, but not too grim. Only doesn't get five stars as there were just a few recurring themes that started to grate on me a little bit in this book (the reminiscences about Strike's ex occasionally felt like the same sentence pasted in every so often to remind us of her existence). I will definitely read the next one though and if you haven't tried this series out its worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed "The Cuckoo's Calling" (not to mention all the other books of J K Rowlings) I was keen to see how the second book would fair. Although I found it darker, it was more enjoyable, possibly because I was familiar with the main characters. Once again the setting is atmospheric and beautifully observed while the characters, even the minor players, are carefully moulded to show depth and personality with all their idiosyncrasies, hang ups flaws and redeeming features.
The central plot twists and drags the reader through the streets of snowbound London, but I will not give away the main tenet as I feel spoilers are a curse. Suffice to say I hope Ms Rowlings (aka Robert Galbraith) in her literary circle does not come into contact with the seamier side of the publishing world.
A word of warning to those of a sensitive disposition; the language is often ripe, as befits the characters, and description of the body, luridly graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good to see Cormorant Strike and his sidekick Robin back again, these characters are enjoyable to read, but what a letdown! What should have been another great story has been spoilt by the ridiculous, unbelievable plot line of Quine's Bombyx Mori, with pretentious, dislikeable characters throughout. Disappointment isn't the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this - really enjoyable fiction, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the first in this series, I was very excited to see this was coming out. There's a strong chance that I have a big Cormoran Strike crush - I think he's a really well-written hero - but I enjoy Robin's character just as much.

Didn't see the ending of this whodunit coming - another pleasure of this book. Some gory details that slowed my progress at times, but I am very pleased that persevering led to such a satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not as well plotted as first novel, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, but not as well plotted as first novel. Plot bit convoluted and less than believable. Developing relationship between Cormorant and his assistant held my interest and I look forward seeing how things move on in the next book in the series. Would prefer less gratuitous violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strike and Robin, a private detective and sidekick duo that resonate with the reader, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strike and Robin, a private detective and sidekick duo that resonate with the reader. These two character's created by the author are both realistic and appealing. The myriad of side players with unforgettable foibles bring the whole story to life, A very enjoyable read even if at times the imagination, names and contents (in the book within the book) conjured up by the author are, shall we say, a little magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2152 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews