Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary.
I've had a rather on-off relationship with Beck over the years. His chameleon-like musical abilities mean that somebody unfamiliar with his work could listen to two albums back to back and not even realise that they were listening to the same artist. This means that the prospect of a new Beck album doesn't necessarily fill me with excitement; I have enjoyed plenty of...
Published 6 months ago by A. Sweeney

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really new, but still enjoyable
'Sea Change' being one of my all-time favourites, I probably expected too much from 'Morning Phase', or was that the effect of rave reviews everywhere... With the notable exception of 'Wave', almost nothing here hasn't been heard already from this amazing artist, and a sense of predictability might ruin your first listen of the new album. 'Waking Light' and its exciting...
Published 6 months ago by vinylandlace


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
You have to love mournful Beck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingly, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
Been on repeat for a week. Five stars all day long, epicly good. What else do you need to know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year so far., 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
I had never been a big fan of Beck, but I bought this album after hearing a couple of tracks and I haven't stopped playing it for two weeks now. It is just gorgeous, to give you an idea of my impressions think Crosby Stills and Nash singing Nick Drake songs with a bit of Neil Young thrown in. I know all of those artist's are from the 70's and Morning Phase reminds me of those laid back free and easy days. Every track is superb and I will be checking out Beck's other stuff at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissed Out, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
On first listen I thought, ok, no hip hop, nothing groovy but pretty beautiful stuff, by the fifth listen I thought this sounds like a classic for the Summer evenings and probably for the amount of touching and heartfelt moments this is as good as R.E.M's Automatic For The People and George Harrison's All Things Must Pass.
If you are in the mood or even need to chill out after work or at the weekend then this album really will take you somewhere else, I actually feel drained and completely blissed out after listening to it. Beautiful vocals very similar to Dennis Wilson solo stuff and really moving U2 style anthems without the cringe.
If you want real groove based colourful rock/hip hop/soul music then listen to Becks back catalogue, if you want to forget everything you thought was good then buy Morning Phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Changes Older Brother, 26 Feb 2014
By 
C. Jose "CJv2" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
If Sea Change was a wallowy, neutrotic miserable boy, then Morning Phase is his older, more chilled, stable and cigar smoking brother.

Comparisons to Sea Change are obvious. Mainly because it does sound like a follow up album, the first few chords of "Morning" could easily be mistaken for The Golden Age.

The difference here is Sea Change was, at times, a bit all over the place. The first five tracks sounded like they should be there then the rest of the album tailed off a bit (It's all in your mind for example was a song from back in the early 90's)

Morning Phase is different, it's a much more rounded, warmer sounding album. It's slow, very slow, to the point you think the drummer is actually going to stop on "morning", don't let it put you off though it works. When you hear that Beck said this was a "dawn" album you can see why, it fits perfectly. It doesn't veer off track, it doesn't try to be clever, nor try to be someone else. It's perfectly at home with itself.

The production levels are spectacular, you can tell that this hasn't been rushed, it's been worked and reworked so many times it might actually be too good. The richness throughout the whole record is a joy, on a decent set of headphones, in a quiet room, eyes closed it's just fantastic.

THe album starts with Cycle, a 40 second string intro and then breaks into the accoustic guitar of "Morning" First lyrics "Woke up this morning" as the guitar strums along it's almost as if the track is actually stretching and getting itself out of bed, I know this sounds ridiculous but it actually does.

Heart is a drum is obviously his "I've just had my cup of coffee" moment. A jaunty little track with lovely repetitive guitar following the track along.

Blue Moon is the first single and possibly the most upbeat record on the whole album the first line wailed "I'm so tired of being alone" you expect it to be a break up song ala sea change but he doesn't go down that route. A hanunting chrorus that again threatens to break into sorrow doesn't quite happen.

Wave is a huge song, dark, gloomy, haunting, the string arrangements (by his dad no less) are spectacular. It's a huge song, very very big, Beck's voice the closest to his live voice on the whole record. Containing the most beautiful line I think he's ever knocked up in "If I surrender and I don't fight this wave, I wont go under, I'll only be carried away" is nothing short of genius.... from there on out the song just gets bigger and bigger to the point where it's almost like chanting, i'm not doing it justice, trust me though, it really is something.

Country bird is a lovely little diversion, not so much that it loses the plot though.

The last stand out track for me is Waking Light, a beautiful end to the album, it slows the album down again to an almost standstill, before breaking off into a grandstand finish which as I type is sending goosepimples down my back.

This is his finest work, I know every one likes quirky Beck, and he's due back in six months apparently, but this, right here, is mutations and sea changes perfectly formed baby. Warm, engaging, slightly quirky but utterly perfect.

You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
Very mellow and lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
BEST ALBUM OF 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good but......, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
If you have not already got Sea Change get that instead, it is very much the same sound but better, imo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sublime Joy..., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Phase (MP3 Download)
Sublime from start to finish... Easy on the ear; beautiful melodies. Back to his best, yet still a bit of an unexpected pleasure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There was a Crooked Man, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Morning Phase (Audio CD)
For all of Beck's musical experimentation & innovation, I've always felt that he seems much happy playing the role of singer/song writer (a Salvador dali version of a singer/songwriter, but still). So for "Morning Phase" this is where he has once again returned.
Although classed as an acoustic record, it has a rich, lush & complex atmosphere, with the strongest vocals & harmonies of any Beck album to date; he must have work on them for months (a far cry from his anti-folk origins).
The mood of the album is quite melancholy, which is understandable consider how long Beck has been recuperating from server back pain.
For me it did take a long time to get my head around his "Sea Changes" record, but is now one of my favourite Beck CD's, but with "Morning Phase" my liking of the album is a lot more instant, so whether it will stand the test of time & become a classic, we shall see, but still it's good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morning Phase
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews