Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars794
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2013
If you're still smarting over the disaster that was Origins (not including the title sequence, which was the only good part of that movie!)then you can feel confident that The Wolveriene will leave you with a much better sentiment.

Still fitting into the continuity of the other X-Men films but without many constraints imposed upon itself, The Wolveriene is a great standalone film which helps to flesh out the titular character, which in many people's opinions is the most interesting in Marvel lore.

On the whole Jackman does a great job at portraying Wolveriene, and slightly more nuanced than he has played the role in the past. I liked how superheroes aren't always at the forefront and it's more about vendettas and relationships. The action that does feature is, on the whole, excellent and not too 'OTT' (in contrast, I found Man of Steel to be overly action orientated) right up until the final showdown battle with Silver Samurai, which I felt went too much with the expected Hollywood ending.

Overall though it's a great film, and you don't need to be into Marvel or superheroes to enjoy it.
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
The thing that makes this film quite different to other superhero films, is the fact that it is very character-based and the plot comes second. This allows an insight into just who Wolverine is and the constant struggle that rages in his mind. The action sequences which whilst not frequent, they definitely are thrilling when used. The only thing which this film falls down in is the weak characterisation of viper. Also make sure you stay through the credits for a very awesome scene which will have you very excited for 'days of future past'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Original for the japanese setting and a unexpected drama/love/intimistic story, nobilitated by a samuray/like sense of honor. A pleasant surprise by a versatile director like James Mangold, who mark the story with the touch that's always made the difference in all his films (Copland as much as 3:10 to yuma): a sensibility toward human souls and people's relationships.
Blu ray is very good and the Japanese setting is perfect for visually interesting shots that are perfectly exposed in HD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Having read the limited series this is based on, the movie is a bit disappointing. However, just taken on face value, it contains a good story, Logan behaves as the character should, and there is loads of actions sequences. Hugh Jackman as always does a fantastic job. I find that Wolverine is an interesting character, not only for the claws, but also because of the healing power. Having that taken away temporarily lead to some character growth.
Still a fun movie. Worth a watch
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
I'm a massive Marvel/super hero fan but not really that big a fan of Wolverine.Despite his back story that I've seen in comic,cartoon and film form now(maybe the problem is over exposure?)I find him one of the least interesting characters of the Marvelverse.Having said that I'll watch any Marvel film that comes out and there's no denying that Hugh Jackman was born to play the role.Marvel films tend to fall into four categories for me.Excellent(Avengers Assemble,Guardians Of The Galaxy,Iron Man),Great(most of the X-Men films,Spider Man,Thor),Okay(Incredible Hulk,Daredevil,Fantastic Four) and Oh Dear(Hulk,Elektra,Ghost Rider).Then The Wolverine was released and didn't fit into any of my boxes.It has a different vibe to the usual super hero film,which whether good or bad still feel like your'e watching a comic book explode into life.This time round,Wolverine's mood/state of mind,the setting(Japan) and the general absence of super beings fighting for screen time are what gives it more of a noir-ish/thriller feel,also making It much better than X-Men Origins:Wolverine(which was 'okay',just!).My only gripe?The main villain was a bit of a let down.But it was still a Wolverine film and i did enjoy it.But please.No more now.There are another billion characters out there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This was trashed by the critics when it came out and so I had avoided it until now. I only watched this as a precursor to the new X-men film (the post-credit sting is the connection between the two). I had pretty low expectation and perhaps because of this, was pleasantly surprised. It is much better than the reviews say (don't get me wrong, it's no lost classic, but it's streets ahead of the previous Wolverine solo film) and an enjoyable super-hero action film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Perhaps "Wolverine 3" would be a better title considering all the times we have seen Jackman in this role. The film opens with a flashback dream within a flashback dream as Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) continues playing Jeremiah Johnson. He is persuaded to go to Japan by Yukio (Rila Fukushima) to pay his last respects. While in Japan, Wolverine encounters Viper woman (Svetlana Khodchenkova) his "Kryptonite," and gets involved in a plot that gave me flashbacks to fine films like "Toxic Avenger II" and "Nazis at the Center of the Earth."

The plot had more complexity than what I expected or wanted to see. The action scenes were shot by shaking the camera at odd angles so we could feel the intensity. Instead I thought "Why the low budget effect?" The film started out with some comedy and dark comedy, but that aspect quickly died when they went to Japan.

Considering the fine X-Men films that have come out, this one was a let down. Film seems to have been designed to introduce Yukio.

Worth a rental.

Parental Guide: 1 F-word. Implied morning after sex. Jackman rear nudity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Firstly I will review the quality of the physical product. The blu-ray itself offered a great viewing experience, the picture clear and the sound was brilliant. This is pretty much expected with all blu rays. Another great feature is the availability of being able to download a digital copy as they provide you with a UV copy.

Now to the film. If you're a fan of Wolverine then you will try to like the film as much as possible. I am a fan and in all fairness the film was pretty good. The action was awesome and compared to other films he is in you feel a greater sense of suspense for the character as things that happen in the film change the character dramatically. The story was great and there was more focus on The Wolverine than in the previous origins film. The only reason I can't give it a 5 star rating is because it could have been so much better with the source material in the comics. The final showdown for one was a tad disappointing (compared to what the comics offer) but was still rather exciting.

Overall it is defiantly worth a watch and there is even a cheeky credit scene, which sets up the new X Men film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
I like Hugh Jackman, he's a good strong actor who always delivers a good performance, but this film was somewhat of a let down for me, it's somewhat confusing as it flits back and forth between the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and present day. I still don't know if Wolverine was indestructible before they filled him full of adamantium or not??????????. For me, not a good watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
I was a fan of Wolverine since long before Hugh Jackman took on the role but he is something of an added bonus. This was always going to be a winner for me. The Wolverine could not have been cast better. Not too many dodgy special effects, a nice, human storyline and not too much Hollywood schmaltz. This had the potential to be a really bad spin-off but we were pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)