Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for anyone who loves historical fiction
A riveting book that takes one back over 4,000 years to a time period which little is known about. Eloquently told in the style of the great literature classics with vivid detail that brings the ancient world alive. The characters are well fleshed-out and the plot uses elements of flashback which seamlessly enhance the tale. Fact and fiction are woven expertly, giving the...
Published 12 months ago by Raghavendra

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Well written, but not much of a story line. It lacked depth and was very predictable and could have been so much more!
Published 1 month ago by David Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for anyone who loves historical fiction, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
A riveting book that takes one back over 4,000 years to a time period which little is known about. Eloquently told in the style of the great literature classics with vivid detail that brings the ancient world alive. The characters are well fleshed-out and the plot uses elements of flashback which seamlessly enhance the tale. Fact and fiction are woven expertly, giving the events a sense of immediacy. An excellent book for anyone who loves historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
Historical fiction is one of my favourite genres and this book was up there with the best of them. The author’s knowledge and passion for Ancient Egypt really shines through with the description particularly strong and I was instantly transported into the ancient world upon reading any page. It was a welcome escape from modern life and the storyline kept me engrossed throughout. It was obvious the author had done her research thoroughly, which made the story all the more rewarding. I really recommend this book to anyone who enjoys not only great storytelling, but well-researched historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
A very well written story. One feels immersed in the environs of ancient Egypt and all the main characters are very well developed. The interplay and contrasts between good and evil, noble and base, brings the characters to life, even inspiring a kind of pity for the tragic villian Khety. All in all a real gem. I would not be surprised if it becomes a best seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can tell Murray loves her subject, 18 May 2014
You can't write historical fiction well without being truly in love with your subject and Jocelyn Murray obviously loves Egypt. She's taken a short period of obscure history from 4,000 years ago and turned into an exciting and relevant story, all of it based upon actual people and events, with liberties added from her own fertile and entertaining imagination.

The title character, "Khu," is actually one of the few fictional characters in the book, though in Murray's own admission is based upon an unknown warrior-prince buried nearby King Mentuhotep II, the unifier of a divided Egypt, upon whom the book is based. I also saw "Khu" as the living embodiment of the driving element of the story: The Prophecy of Neferti, an ancient (pseudo?) prophetic text that told of a ruler that would arise to unite Egypt under a reign of peace.

Having read one of Murray's shorter books geared towards adolescents, I wasn't expecting such depth to this novel. The rich accounts of daily life in ancient Egypt (foods, make-up. etiquette, architecture, weather, professions, religious practices, family life, civil law, etc.) are so naturally woven into the tapestry of the story that you take them for granted while reading it and it isn't until you've come to a stopping point that you realize how much factual information you've just gleaned about a people living so long ago.

Four very enjoyable stars as Murray lives up to the Rudyard Kipling maxim that "If history were taught in the form of stories, it would never be forgotten."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fiction at its truly best!, 20 May 2014
Get ready for a magical journey back in time to the land of the river Nile; the ancient kingdom of Egypt. I must admit that I am not a fan of historical fiction. Or should I say ‘I wasn’t?’ This well researched book has changed my mind. Beautifully written with obvious love and passion by the writer. Through detailed descriptions, I had no problem leaving my office and feeling like I was right there in the palace where Khu found refuge after loosing his family and village to raiders. Just like Moses, he was taken into the palace and growing up, played a vital role in Egypt’s history. Fiction and fact become one and make a thrilling and enticing tale of myth, war, magic, love, family, and values. Highly recommended. Cliché but true: I will be reading and expecting more from this talented writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Executed very well, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt may be the first book that I have read by the author, Jocelyn Murray, but I can say with utmost certainty that it will be far from the last.

The author has captured the setting and time period of Ancient Egypt near flawlessly; and the visually rich, vivid writing style throughout the book does a great job of expressing everything when it comes to the characters, the plot development, and the overall direction of the story. Overall, I am very happy with the read (and the author) and I will ultimately give Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt a strong 9 stars that I truly think that it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D simulated historical adventure of ancient Egypt, 15 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
That is really what the author has in mind, trying to blend myths, records, heros, villains into a modern Broadway play, so that not only can we get education on the epic events of Egyptian Unufication, we can also understand the ancient Egyptian people, their overlods and their Gods like we can understand modern day Arab Spring. So exciting, entertaining and educational to read from page one to last! The native Egyptian "Moses" help twist our thinking and retrain us into the conditions and backgrounds of the making of the great Egyptian civilization that preceded the Indians, Chinese, Greeks and Romans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating Read, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
The most striking aspect of this novel is the author’s incredible passion and knowledge of her subject matter. I personally found it highly infectious. Every chapter we find ourselves learning something new about this ancient Egyptian period, one set after the golden age of the Old Kingdom and now a divided country where “darkness” shrouds much of land and “bands and robbers and lawless tribes” crawl through “the region like grain beetles.” The author brings alive a world four millennia ago with countless pieces of information about the roles of the various gods, ceremonial items, cycles of the Nile and the journey of the soul after death.

There is a clear juxtaposition between good and evil in this tale and the author deals with each of these differently. Khu, like his adopted father, Mentuhotep, is an idealised character, one “completely without guile,” with “jewelled eyes” showing “nothing but sincerity.”
In contrast however the author allows herself far more creative freedom for her villains. Khety, the rival ruler, is a fascinating character study. Whilst we see him at first as a traditional Machiavellian; ruthless, scheming and bent on power, we are soon given glimpses into his soul and find him to be a tortured individual motivated by jealousy “heartache, pain and misery.” There are several villainous characters in the tale and the author seems to delight in writing about each one. The most truly terrifying of all is Ankhtifi, Khety’s enforcer, a psychopath devoid of warmth and humour and a man whose reputation “preceded him with the stench of death.”

Overall, I found Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt a most enjoyable and informative read, so much so I plan to read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Khu, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
A very entertaining book, one which kept me captured in the spirit of Egypt. I would heartily recommend this book. One point that I think should be undertaken, is the literals, especially the word 'shown' not shone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of great history you feel that your are living the part, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (Kindle Edition)
A book of great history you feel that your are living the part, the story line is interesting and exciting 1/4 of the book to go a good read if you are interested in Egypt's past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Khu: A Tale of Ancient Egypt
£2.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews