Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Guess That I'm Dumb Cause I Knows I Ain't Smart, But Deep Down Inside I Got A Rock 'n' Roll Heart
Since Lou's sad passing last winter we have had a glut of live solo and Velvets Cd's doing the rounds and most of them are shoddy to say the least. However, this one intrigued me as it comes from the tour promoting his Arista debut "Rock & Roll Heart" from 1976. That album seemed to me like Lou Had been neutered, a lot of the production was more akin to his label mates...
Published 6 months ago by Brian McNeill1972

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars thinking of another cd
This is not a bad show,but a rather uninspired and"by the numbers"performance.
The sound is good for what i believe was a for radio recording,very heavy on the bass,which really kicks ye in the chest when played loud.
The version of "Heroin"here is possibly one of the best,very funky,and good to hear a live version of"kicks".
Its an...
Published 6 months ago by hieronymous abiel diabalo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Guess That I'm Dumb Cause I Knows I Ain't Smart, But Deep Down Inside I Got A Rock 'n' Roll Heart, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Thinking of Another Place (Live in Akron 1976) (MP3 Download)
Since Lou's sad passing last winter we have had a glut of live solo and Velvets Cd's doing the rounds and most of them are shoddy to say the least. However, this one intrigued me as it comes from the tour promoting his Arista debut "Rock & Roll Heart" from 1976. That album seemed to me like Lou Had been neutered, a lot of the production was more akin to his label mates The Bay City Rollers than the Rock & Roll Animal. But live most of the songs really breathe and attack with a raw intensity not present on the studio work, the jazzy settings of his band also really work well. And Lou is on fine vocal form and is actually SINGING, instead of his usual trick of just reciting his lyrics, my fave track has to be the run through "The Kids", this version is at times very nasty and visceral and splenetic in its rage, but also tender. This would have been a great show to have witnessed in America's home of Rubber and Tyres. Plus, the back cover also states this was licensened from Lou's own Sister Ray Enterprises Production Company. So all in all it is a fine snapshot of a night where Lou was focussed and on fire and burning with real passion. RIP Louis xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars thinking of another cd, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a bad show,but a rather uninspired and"by the numbers"performance.
The sound is good for what i believe was a for radio recording,very heavy on the bass,which really kicks ye in the chest when played loud.
The version of "Heroin"here is possibly one of the best,very funky,and good to hear a live version of"kicks".
Its an efficient show,but just doesnt reach out and grab ya.Instead i would recommend the absolutely superb"Animal Serenade"or"Take no prisoners"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a good place, 22 April 2014
I was looking forward to this as I liked the Rock N Roll Heart album when it came out and I missed this tour.
Well I am glad I did apart from the tracks off the above mentioned album on the cd the older tracks
from other albums all sound the same and boring. The main problem is there is very little guitar and
there is loud saxophone on nearly every track with a jazzy feel, there's nothing wrong with jazz but they
don't suit these songs. If you want a good live album from Lou get Rock N Roll Animal I feel sadly this has been rushed
out to cash in on his death not one of his best RIP Lou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Lou at his best, 12 April 2014
By 
P. Cranfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I was at the London leg of this tour- and it was the worst Lou Reed concert I have seen- and there are a good few. The saxophone is no substitute for a decent guitarist and the arrangements are generally lacklustre.

I went home really disappointed in 1976- I still remember that- and if I'd known that this cd was from that tour I would have saved my money, because of all the Lou reed cds in my collection this one will emerge the least often- if indeed at all. Oh well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soup of the day, 17 May 2014
By 
Martin Warlow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not the strongest of song selections and there is a lack of variety in the arrangements. I'd give it three stars but have taken one off for the dreadful soupy sound which is so poor that it detracts from an at best average set. Not recommended unless you are an ardent Reed fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jazzy lou reed, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking of Another Place (Live in Akron 1976) (MP3 Download)
This is a great gig with a good selection of tunes from his back catalog all played in a jazzy style that really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews