Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if you have read the product description
This is an excellent starting point, helping you to decide on the best overall plan for you personally. It covers the whole range from hiring a professional to doing it yourself with the pros and cons of all the different approaches. It clearly shows in a few well-chosen plans and photos the advantages of designing a garden rather than sticking in a few plants where...
Published 10 months ago by CJS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much use if you want to design your own garden
I'm glad that this was a free download. I picked it up as someone who has recently completed a professional garden design course and I thought it might be interesting to see what the author, apparently a seasoned garden designer, had to say on the subject. The honest answer is that there isn't much here other than the obvious and in some areas there are comments which...
Published 1 month ago by Marand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much use if you want to design your own garden, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I'm glad that this was a free download. I picked it up as someone who has recently completed a professional garden design course and I thought it might be interesting to see what the author, apparently a seasoned garden designer, had to say on the subject. The honest answer is that there isn't much here other than the obvious and in some areas there are comments which strike me as well wide of the mark. There is a pretty strong steer in the book towards hiring a designer and very basic pointers for the those wishing to design their own garden (no doubt because the author also sells her own online courses and therefore isn't going to pass on much without payment).

If you want to design your own garden or simply can't afford to engage a designer, there are some excellent books which are suitable for DIY designers and which will provide much more information about the process than you will find in this book. Diarmuid Gavin has a good book called 'Design Your Garden' and on a more detailed level, there is Rosemary Alexander's 'The Essential Garden Design Workshop'. These cover a lot of basic design principles and how to deal with problem sites in an accessible way for the DIY designer and will certainly guide you through the design process. You can also google terms like 'long narrow garden' or 'wide shallow garden' an you'll find plenty of images and commentary that will be helpful when trying to draw up a design. It is a shame also that the author didn't highlight that many designers are happy to provide a couple of hours consultation at a reasonable cost which may be enough to provide the home-owner with ideas to take forward themselves.

The tips about hiring a landscaper again pretty much state the obvious, such as go and look at previous work, and that section again is padded with a lot of pretty useless commentary

Overall, the book seems to me to be nothing more than an extended advert for the author's website courses, her books and other services. If you want to re-design your own garden then you won't find much here to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Just a sales pitch really, what a massive let down, not learnt anything new that would otherwise be common knowledge or something you can learn from asking someone that recently had their garden done in 5 minutes...

Sorry, but the Author does seem a nice person however so do not let that deter you from having a quick peak at her site though...

Someone putting this much effort into something they are passionate about deserves some merit! hence 2 stars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book via my kindle so that may be the problem. If I had had the chance to glance through this book in a bookshop I would not have purchased it.....there are only 20 garden photographs in the whole book which a find astonishing.

Could someone who has physically purchased the book could confirm if this is right? Or has my kindle not downloaded the book in it's entirety?

Nothing wrong with the text or the tips and advice, just would have been been really helpful to have had some visual photographs to back up what the author was trying to convey. Shame really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in pictures, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Lacking in pictures and very preachy about how to choose a landscape gardener which is irrelevant if your designing yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I found the book stated the obvious and the information poor. I started skipping through it to find something interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For beginners, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
If you know nothing about garden design this is the book for you, although you won't know much more when you have read it. The basic message seems to be to get a professional designer to design your garden. Which on reflection could be the best idea......if you have plenty of spare money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if you have read the product description, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent starting point, helping you to decide on the best overall plan for you personally. It covers the whole range from hiring a professional to doing it yourself with the pros and cons of all the different approaches. It clearly shows in a few well-chosen plans and photos the advantages of designing a garden rather than sticking in a few plants where there is space!

However it is not a step by step guide to doing your own design.

I find her no-nonsense approach to design very refreshing. You may not even agree with all of it but it makes you think and explore new ideas. I would strongly recommend downloading this to your PC; a Kindle does not do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read to the end....Don't skip through !, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, informative and honest.

I will be designing my own garden.....but I am a obsessive planner ! and I always draw/make plans.

Whether I get it right is another thing 😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
this type of book doesnt really do it for me on a kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Design and Landscaping - The Beginner's Guide to the Processes Involved with Successfully Landscaping a Garden (an overview) ('How to Plan a Garden' Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Useful but disappointed there are few diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews