Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable!
I thoroughly enjoyed series 5. JC is still JC despite married life & a job in marketing. As we've come to expect - good plots, some nice humour, a touch of black comedy and plenty of JC style "sleuthery". Good performance from Sarah Alexander, she's his most credible partner yet.
Published 1 month ago by Paul John Mcelheron

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on series 1-3
Series 1-3 were incredible must see television, to the point where I can't go a month without watching at least 2 or 3 episodes from these series. Caroline Quentin and Alan Davies were a match made in heaven, the storylines teemed with mystery, comedy and drama.

Quentin left and Julia Sawalha came in and started brightly with the special, Satans Chimney. This...
Published 5 months ago by Ceri Dix


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on series 1-3, 2 May 2014
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1-3 were incredible must see television, to the point where I can't go a month without watching at least 2 or 3 episodes from these series. Caroline Quentin and Alan Davies were a match made in heaven, the storylines teemed with mystery, comedy and drama.

Quentin left and Julia Sawalha came in and started brightly with the special, Satans Chimney. This was a good episode, and Carla (Sawalha) and Jonathan had a bit of chemistry. Series 4 continued with Carla by Jonathan's side, and was very hit and miss. Adrian Edmondson was an excellent addition, and some of the stories very good, however the overall feel of the series had changed and had lost some of its magic.

JC took a well deserved rest from our screens for a few years, when it was announced there would be an Easter special, the grinning man. I was worried going into this episode, but I need not have been as it was a cracker. Sheridan Smith was added as Joey Ross, JC new sidekick. The storyline was arguably the best of them all, the mystery the most intriguing, with lots of juicy red herrings along the way. I am not sure even Quentin could have improved this episode.

Then the next special the Judas tree came out. This episode was not as good as the grinning man, but was still very good.

The Savants thumb was the next special, and in truth was quite poor. JC has grown up, sold out and is now living a very mundane life, being hen pecked by Polly (Sarah Alexander), whilst holding down a boring office job. This special laid the track for the forthcoming series, it did though retain the essence of JC by giving him some mysteries to solve.

Finally we have series 5, it is terrible. No mystery, no comedy, no master villain, no soul. Sarah Alexander looks so out of place as Creeks wife, Creek looks so out of place in the little village he has found himself in. The mysteries for the viewer are non existent. There is none of the spirit of the first 3 seasons and no redeeming feature for this series. I will add it to my collection just to complete it but do so with a heavy heart.

I hope Renwick leaves JC alone until he can create storylines as good as series 1-3 or the grinning man. After the success that was the Grinning man, I though we would get the odd special every 2-3 years when he has an idea, I hope he considers this now.

If you are new to the show entirely then definitely watch series 1-3, they are arguably some of the best British TV of the last couple of decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's The Mystery?, 3 May 2014
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the most perplexing mystery in this series, is why one of the episodes, tells you all the solutions to the puzzle at the beginning of the episode! It's about as suspenseful as a wet rag. It seems like everyone here is just going through the motions without any fun or passion. The cast and the writers are better than this and maybe they should move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Creek, 13 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the worst of a deteriorating series. I certainly will not add to my collection.
Ever since they married him off and put him into business management the series has dramatically worsened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Jonathan Creek was one of the real standout TV series when it first started- imaginative yet believable plots and a dynamic pair of leads. Sadly, this all changed when Caroline Quentin left. There have been an ongoing set of female sidekicks since then, which should have worked because every one of them has been played by excellent actresses, but the show has never recaptured the height of its early years. The latest incarnation sees Jonathan married and trying to settled down, but plagued by mysteries. It's become lacklustre and pedestrian. On the basis of this, I hope this is the last series because it's become a shadow of its former self and, frankly, reruns of "Rosemary and Thyme" are more entertaining because they don't pretend to be anything more than disposable nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Majorly disappointing..!, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As a little boy, I was simultaneously enchanted and terrified by Jonathan Creek, which featured spooky storylines about impossible crimes that genuinely seemed to be unfathomable. I distinctly remember feeling butterflies in my stomach whenever the answer was revealed. I think we all fell in love with this awkward magician's assistant (Alan Davies) clad in duffel coat with a hilarious larger-than-life sidekick (Caroline Quentin). I've followed him since, always enjoying Mr. Creek's endeavors right up to The Clue of the Savant's Thumb last year. When Series 5 was announced I was absolutely ecstatic, but I was soon to be completely smacked in the face...

In an almost blasphemous change of format, the first episode reveals the mystery's solution within the first ten minutes, completely obliterating the entire point of watching the rest, which merely consisted of weak mini-mysteries and a huge long-running 'gag' about pointing fun at 'Sherlock'. While I've never disliked Maddy, Carla or Joey (Creek's previous sidekicks), Polly Creek (Sarah Alexander) just has the completely wrong attitude for Creek's adventures and serves more as a killjoy whenever Jonathan feels like getting back to his roots. The worst thing about this episode is that if the format was as is normal, it might actually have been a really fantastic episode, but it seems they were too busy poking fun at other programs to realise that they were actually making a terrible episode themselves.

The second episode was slightly better, but extremely weak on the mystery front, which focused on lots of little mysteries happening in the middle of the village where Jonathan and Polly now live. By the end of the episode, I really couldn't care less what the solution to the main mystery was, and I found myself voicing 'Meh!' when it was revealed.

I have to say however that I very much enjoyed the third episode, which returned to the original format quite well despite the lack of murder that the other episodes also suffered from. The performances were better and although the solution was a bit of a stretch, I found the butterflies in my stomach sensation returning!

However, one semi-good episode out of three simply isn't good enough, especially for Jonathan Creek. What has happened to the magic that I used to cherish as a kid? Why are complex 'impossible' situations and mind-bendingly banal murders taking back seat and paving way for country village politics, middle-class dinner parties and whimsical anecdotes? For the most part, the butterflies in my stomach were replaced by a deep-seated disappointment that lingered for hours.

I'd love to see Jonathan Creek return (and Maddy Magellan for that matter) in a new season, but Polly needs to go, actual 'impossible' murders or crimes need to come back and the magic just needs to be breathed back into it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable!, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Paul John Mcelheron (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed series 5. JC is still JC despite married life & a job in marketing. As we've come to expect - good plots, some nice humour, a touch of black comedy and plenty of JC style "sleuthery". Good performance from Sarah Alexander, she's his most credible partner yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor. Bitterly disappointing to watch (from a lifelong Creek fan), 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Like most Jonathan Creek fans, I was delighted to hear that an entire fifth season (albet 3 episodes) had been commissioned for this year.

I was not, however, expecting the quality of the show to have nosedived so spectacularly in such a manner. It really beggars belief that such drivel could have been approved for a prime time slot on BBC televsion. It seems as if the episodes have not even been proof read or checked for quality. On the evidence of this series, it would sadly appear that Jonathan Creek has reached the end of the line, scraping the barrel - there are no ideas left anymore. The first episode is simply appalling, there isn't even a proper mystery as there had been for the previous 28 episodes. I don't know how to describe the first episode, it is fragmented, disorientating and nauseating to watch. The Second episode is more of the same, with Sarah Alexander an intensely irritating presence, subduing the henpecked Creek. The only reason I have given the item 2 stars is that the third episode is marginally better, but still presents a pitiful shadow of what this show used to be.

Gone is the windmill, the duffel coat, the genuine humour, all the quirks that made the show to charming and appealing. In its place, there is excessive and childish background music. Most of the time I felt as if I was watching a mystery series aimed at 10-14 year old children on CBBC, due to the child-like glittery musical backing.

On this evidence, Renwick and friends really have run completely out of ideas. Creek used to be one of the best shows on terrestrial televsion. No Creek fan will ever be able to forget the intelligent and baffling mysteries in episodes such as 'Danse Macabre', 'Jack in the Box'. 'Black Canary' or 'Satan's chimney'. Sadly, the latest offerings are more like something from a drab episode of Midsomer Murders or some other third rate mystery series set in a rural upper-middle class village.

I really do hope that Creek will continue, but in order to do so there will need to be quality writing, with intelligent storylines and a partner with whom Creek has genuine chemistry (such as Caroline Quentine). I tried writng to the BBC to relay to David Renwick how disappointed I was with this series, but there wasn't an option to provide feedback for this individual programme. I hope that here at least, some of the people involved in this series will be able to see how disappointed genuine Creek fans are with this half-hearted and half-baked effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dear lord what is that thing?, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Three below par episodes make for an unwelcome addition to the series. Bizarre format changes see Jonathan sitting on the sidelines during the first two episodes and the mystery is all but absent. The third episode found some form but it was massively contrived and still very weak. I'm glad Maddy left, I thought she was horrible and of his subsequent pairings I found Sheridan Smith to show the most potential. Sarah Alexander has been saddled with some rotten character traits; unlike the viewer, she doesn't appreciate her husband or his talents at all and the time has come and gone for her to have a Damascan revelation. The whole premise has gone to pot, the reason he's so good at deconstructing mysteries is his background in magic and the screenplays make no reference to that at all. Don't get me wrong, I though the supposed comedic philandering of the stage magician the weakest part of each show; but Jonathan's immersion into the world of master magicians was the reason he can do what he does. I always wondered why they didn't incorporate some of the rich pickings of famous conjurors and their tricks. I can't see another series being commissioned without some hefty format reversals. If you like JC as I do then you're bound to watch this, just keep your expectations really low and have an older episode standing by for afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing the first time around but better a second time., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
2014 seemed to be a great year for TV: Sherlock, the Bridge and now Jonathan Creek. Unfortunately I was disappointed at the episodes. Before EVERY single joke in a David Renwick plot had some connection with story but here there was no relation such as choosing a name for the new barn.

However I gave this a chance (having been a Creek fan since series 1 so wanted to complete the collection) and the stories were not as bad as I had thought. Episode 1 poked fun at "Sherlock" (maybe Renwick wanted to show the original floppy-haired sleuth), Episode 2 had a great appearance from Selina Griffiths (Annette Crosbie's daughter) and Patrick Troughton (Piers Fletcher-Derwish in the New Statesman). Episode 3 had a good "impossible method" involving Josie Lawrence but June Whitfield's cameo (as twins) seemed unnecessary.

The last few one-offs have all been good. Maybe Renwick should have one long last hurrah from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous series., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Actor assortment not up to previous standard. Storyline weak & plot tedious. Very boring & lacked the earlier series' sparkle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD]
Jonathan Creek - Series 5 [DVD] by David Sant (DVD - 2014)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews