Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HD Airwolf Comes To Blu-Ray
Airwolf - The Complete Seasons 1-3- 11 Disc (Blu-ray).

Blu Ray Info.
Format: PAL
Region B/2
Ratio: 4:3.
Sound: 2.0
Number of discs: 11
Classification: 12
Studio: Fabulous Films
Episodes: 55
Individual Episode Running Time 45-48 minutes
Running Time: 2707 minutes

Extras.
Season Guide Booklets...
Published 3 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Airwolf - The Complete Collection: Seasons 1-3 - 11 Disc Set [Blu-ray]
the quality is good but the movie on my blu ray is badly edited the sound is terrible and the play back is glitch, also on the season 1 episode of bite of a jackal there is a scene missing :( im sorry but I expected a lot more for the price I paid and I also think some of the reviews on here arnt honest :(
Published 7 months ago by Mr. S. Hirst


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HD Airwolf Comes To Blu-Ray, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Airwolf - The Complete Seasons 1-3- 11 Disc (Blu-ray).

Blu Ray Info.
Format: PAL
Region B/2
Ratio: 4:3.
Sound: 2.0
Number of discs: 11
Classification: 12
Studio: Fabulous Films
Episodes: 55
Individual Episode Running Time 45-48 minutes
Running Time: 2707 minutes

Extras.
Season Guide Booklets
Original Cast Biographies
Airwolf Original Concept Notes

Blu-ray Quality.
This Blu-ray HD transer upgrade taken from the original 35 mm film prints are excellent, clear, sharp & viberant with only the occasional grain & dirt here & there & for a 30 year old show the episodes have never looked better.

The sound however is quite average & a little muffled in places & wasn't mixed in 5.1, instead its mix is 2.0 stereo which is disappointing considering the effort made in restoring the picture quality for this Blu-ray release.

Cast.
Jan-Michael Vincent — Stringfellow Hawke
Ernest Borgnine — Dominic Santini
Alex Cord — Michael Coldsmith Briggs III (Code name: Archangel)
Deborah Pratt - Marella
Jean Bruce Scott — Caitlin O’Shannessy

Please note this box set contains the 90 minute pilot episode of Airwolf (Shadow Of The Hawke) & not the 18 rated re-edited Airwolf movie some additional scenes are included while others have been omitted including the two F' words.

What's The Story.
A renegade pilot named Stringfellow Hawke & his best friend Dominic Santini are asked by Michael Coldsmith Briggs III (Archangel) to "steal" an advanced battle helicopter codename 'Airwolf' from it's creator 'Charles Moffat' who is using Airwolf for contracted mercenary missions.

After Moffats demise at the hands of Hawke, he & Santini decide hide Airwolf from the secretive U.S. intelligence agency known as the Firm that is run by run by Archangel & agree to continue flying Airwolf on missions for the agency in exchange for the agency's help in locating Hawkes MIA brother Saint John Hawke.

Timelord Thoughts.
This was the show to watch in the 80's, as Airwolf was a harder hitting more realistic show than The A-Team or Knight Rider as with Airwolf the bad guys usually got blown up as Airwolf was uncompromising for a 80's action tv show thanks to it's creator Donald.P.Bellisario.

Jan Michael Vincent was perfect casting in the lead role as the reclusive Stringfellow Hawke, Vincent had a great screen presence & made the character likeable yet feel slightly unpredictable, Ernest Borgnine plays father figure & best friend to Stringfellow Hawke named Dominic Santini who was brilliant in the part & sort of kept Hawke on a firm footing.

Alex Cord brings a charm & yet manipulative manner to his character Michael Coldsmith Briggs III (Archangel) & we never really got to know his characters true motives while Jean Bruce Scott was brought in to season 2 as the show lacked a female regular but sadly her character seemed underdeveloped which is a shame because Scott was a competent actress & should've been more to do in the series.

This series had some decent guest star's too, David Hemmings, David Carradine, Bryan Cranston & Doug McClure plus the show had a decent budget, good scripts & high production values that blended together with the odd stock footage here & there.

Yes there was a Fourth season as the show was cancelled & brought by another network but had no creative imput from Bellisario & didn't feature any of the original cast barring a cameo from Jan-Michael Vincent in the opening crossover episode, plus & the storys & ariel effects were appalling & that dire season is rightly omitted from this box set.

Airwolf for me are these three seasons & while there a few duff episodes here & there the majority of story's were entertaining & action packed, the show aimed for a family audience but dealt with mature issues & had great written character's & decent scripts & is now been remastered & reissued on Blu-ray at long last.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of The Lady, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A welcome addition to any 1980's TV fan's collection

Although the audio is only 2.0 stereo, hearing Airwolf fly past with stereo speakers is a treat for your ears, added too is a cleaned up picture taken from the original materials, with the retention of the 4:3 ratio a happy bonus.

It's almost like it was made only last year not almost 30 years ago.

The only thing this set is missing is a featurette on the stars of the show, and perhaps a look at what happened to the Lady herself prior to crashing in a snowstorm in June 1992. The only thing stopping me from giving a full 5 stars is the lack of substantial extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Airwolf as I've never seen or heard before..., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been a while since I've seen a complete Airwolf episode - probably over 25 years! This set brings it all back...and in glorious high definition! The picture quality is great - admittedly it can't compete against modern titles, but it looks for the most part crisp with varying amounts of grain and vivid colours. Much, much better than I could have hoped for.

Sound quality is average to good. The opening theme certainly packs a hefty punch (I've never heard it sound this good!), but dialogue can sound a little muffled or unintelligable in places (especially in the pilot episode). Given that the Blu-ray is encoded at 24 fps, at least there's no horrible PAL speedup to contend with.

Some people will bemoan the fact that it's framed in 4:3 and has only stereo sound. If that's an issue, then maybe 80s TV shows are not for you. For the rest who have fond memories of the 80s, there's no logical reason not to pick this one up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Airwolf how it was meant to be seen., 16 April 2014
This is truly an amazing Remaster of one of the most loved television shows of the 80s. The picture and sound is incredible with DTS HD MA sound , hear Airwolf like never before , The black bars are not that bad and besides Airwolf was filmed in 4:3 not 16:9.

I recommend this new Airwolf Collection to all Airwolf fans you will be very happy with this set , truly amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent, if flawed, release of a classic series..., 19 April 2014
By 
Mr. C. Evans "master geek" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I write this I've only watched the first disc of season one but I feel that the quality of this disc is bound to be representative enough of the entire set as to be able to offer an opinion.

Well, it's certainly a good upgrade from Universal's previous DVD releases (all of which I own). Firstly, picture quality (viewed on a 47" full HD LED TV) is generally excellent, these new HD transfers, produced using the original 35mm film, are consistently sharp, relatively clean (there are still marks/spots here and there and some scenes are grainier than others, which is to be expected given the age of the material) with strong colour saturation - Airwolf has certainly never looked better.

The biggest let down for me though is not the lack of extras (I love extras but would rather the budget was spent on the HD restorations) but the sound - only 2.0 stereo! It simply lacks punch and I really wish a similar level of care was taken with the audio and we'd gotten (at least) newly restored 5.1 tracks.

But, should you buy it? If you LOVE Airwolf then most definitely, it's well worth upgrading and selling the original DVD releases (despite the disappointing audio). Although it may be worth waiting for a drop in price (it was £73 when i pro-ordered in March) If you're less of a high-flying fanatic and already own the DVDs then it won't necessarily add more to your Airwolf experience other than improved picture quality.

Now, as for the lack of season four - it's no huge loss. FF have already said they will be releasing it separately if you really must have it!

Hope this review is of help to those on the fence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Set, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Airwolf - The Complete Collection:Seasons 1-3 - 13 DVD Set [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a worthy collection for Airwolf fans. The episodes are fully restored from the original masters. It looks a million times better than you have ever seen it before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Airwolf - The Complete Collection: Seasons 1-3 - 11 Disc Set [Blu-ray], 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. S. Hirst "stevey" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the quality is good but the movie on my blu ray is badly edited the sound is terrible and the play back is glitch, also on the season 1 episode of bite of a jackal there is a scene missing :( im sorry but I expected a lot more for the price I paid and I also think some of the reviews on here arnt honest :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
All the cast are great in airwolf. With the blu-ray it's that clear you can see stringfellow harks stuntman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best quality Airwolf to be expected., 15 April 2014
By 
Richard Neal (Chelmsford, Essex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wash away your worst fears, based upon that rubbish Airwolf the Movie Blu ray release with this box set. Ok, it's not up to the standards that a modern audience expects if they've just watched the latest blockbuster action movie, but for Airwolf fans, it'll be the best you'll see it on release. It is not an upscale release from the previous Universal DVDs, it's a clear 4:3 picture with sharp high quality audio. Treat yourself and buy the Airwolf Extended Themes 2-CD and have an Airwolf marathon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 23 Nov 2014
Return did not load
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airwolf - The Complete Collection:Seasons 1-3 - 13 DVD Set [DVD]
£40.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews