Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mau5 In The House !!
I'm addicted! Two listens and I want to run through it
all over again. Deadmau5 has turned in a cracking set
with '4 x 4 = 12'. Joel Zimmerman is creating some of
the most intelligent and exciting dance music you will
find anywhere on the planet right now. 2009's 'For Lack
Of A Better Name' got me in a bit of a lather too but
this new...
Published on 6 Dec. 2010 by The Wolf

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New sounds but not a new album
There has been eager anticipation for the new Deadmau5 `4x4=12' album. The astronomical rise of Joel Zimmerman aka Deadmau5 throughout 2010 has been hard to ignore. His Facebook page has attracted over 1 and a half million followers and most of his official YouTube videos push out an average of 1 million views. The release of the new album is a prelude to another hard...
Published on 8 Dec. 2010 by GrantT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New sounds but not a new album, 8 Dec. 2010
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
There has been eager anticipation for the new Deadmau5 `4x4=12' album. The astronomical rise of Joel Zimmerman aka Deadmau5 throughout 2010 has been hard to ignore. His Facebook page has attracted over 1 and a half million followers and most of his official YouTube videos push out an average of 1 million views. The release of the new album is a prelude to another hard grind of touring beginning in the UK on the 8th December in Bournemouth (his last tour only a mere 6 months ago).

Zimmerman is not afraid of experimenting with new sounds and delving into different genres. Anybody who has seen pictures of his studio set up will appreciate that he has taken a journey into the production of sound itself. Respectably, he is not signing up with the biggest names in the music biz and bashing out chart toppers (eg. Guetta, Tiesto). For this reason it will not be enjoyed by everyone especially the first time listener. But this is what gives `4x4=12' a distinct sound and a great sound it is too. Unless you are a die hard house (or mau5 as some have called it) fan you may find the production techniques slightly off putting. The opening song `Some Chords' lulls the listener into a false sense of security; we are treated to a few glimpses of what to expect (a dubstep wobble here or there). Then, a siren like sound warns of what is to come. `Sofi Needs a Ladder' slams a deep bass with Sofia Toufa or 'Sofi' providing (almost whiney) lyrics. `Cthulhu Sleeps' has an unmistakable rhythm and a riff that almost sounds like a lumberjack cutting down a tall oak. These songs are polar opposite to any previous song like `I Remember' or `Move for me'. Similarly, `One Trick Pony' is a brutal dubstep onslaught of overdriven synth bass and aggressive lyrical delivery from (a less whiney) Sofi.

For all the in your face sounds that Zimmerman uses he also has an ability to create beautiful melodic breaks and intros. The solo piano intro in `Raise your weapon' creates a real emotion in the lyrics sang by Greta Svabo Bech. The halfway transition into a gritty dubstep beat has the ability to transform the lyrical context from sadness to anger, very impressive. The melodic `Right this second' is also a track that encompasses this transitional structure, utilising `the drop' into a kick drum led synth sound. The fact that Zimmerman uses a room in his house to create all these sounds is a fact that can't be forgotten. If people understood his utilisation of Ableton, VSTs, effects and modular synths, people would be less inclined to say `it all sounds the same'.

Now the problems. Please take note that `4x4=12' is described as a `new mix album' on the deadmau5 website. This is because the release is by no means a `brand new album' as it may be suggested. Four or five of the tracks have been available for some time as singles on beatport and iTunes. `Some Chords' was released in May this year and "I Said" was released even earlier in February! `Sofi needs a ladder' has been around for a considerable time as a non-vocal track `You need a ladder'. In fact most of the tracks have been available as `set rips' (people recording the songs from shows) for at least 6 months. The only songs that have not had much exposure are `Bad Selection' and `Everything Before,' and when you hear them you realise the reason for the underexposure. They are forgettable.

Zimmerman is between a rock and a hard place, he obviously doesn't want to be seen as selling out. He respects his supporters and engages daily with Facebook posts, Twitter feeds and the odd free Ustream gig. In return he has a very loyal fan base (myself included I may add). However, his steady stream of single releases and ustreaming of live DJ sets has meant most people have had this album for almost two months. What incentive do I have to buy it? No doubt there will be pressures from above for Zimmerman to be less open with his music especially if his popularity continues to grow. This is what lets the album down so slightly. The sound is new but the album itself is far from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mau5 In The House !!, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
I'm addicted! Two listens and I want to run through it
all over again. Deadmau5 has turned in a cracking set
with '4 x 4 = 12'. Joel Zimmerman is creating some of
the most intelligent and exciting dance music you will
find anywhere on the planet right now. 2009's 'For Lack
Of A Better Name' got me in a bit of a lather too but
this new collection has moved things on a bit. It is as
thought all the best elements of Mr Mau5's output so-far
have been distilled into these eleven exemplary tracks.
The big, bad dark beats; the zooming sub-sonic basslines;
the clever management of rhythmic and melodic shifts;
the judicious use of repetitive vocal motifs.

In essence the elements may be simple but the edgy energy
generated by these beautifully crafted pieces is palpable.

The icy subterranean intro to opening track 'Some Chords'
picks up a four-square beat which, when it bursts out of
the frame in its full glory , hoists you up by the elbows
and hurls you around the room like a fairground waltzer.
It's a dizzy ride which burps and bumps and grinds its way
into our dance genes with ecstatically cocky confidence!

Next up, SOFI lends a hand with the words on the marvellously
tight but squelchy 'Sofi Needs A Ladder'. It's a bit of a brute!
A cracking slice of hypnotic, bone-shaking, turbulent mayhem.

Trust me here, it's all good. Very, very good!
The more measured pace and reflective groove of 'Raise Your
Weapon' is, however, better than good. It is the essential
beating heart of this fine project. Greta Svabo Bech delivers
a splendid vocal performance of the composition's strangely
moving melody and evocative narrative. The arrangement breaks
apart in the middle in the most alarming manner, stuttering
and staggering along like some fiendish war machine.

Final track 'Everything Before' brings the album to a deliciously
funky conclusion. It's totally impossible to keep still to it!

The artwork is suberb but somewhat marred on the inside by the
presence of an advert for Deadmau5 T shirts and Mau5 models,
casting a small shadow on the overall coherence of the project.
A disposable printed insert would have done the trick just as well.

A tiny gripe however. '4 x 4 = 12' is a classy deal from top to tail.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mighty mau5, awesome tunes, 12 July 2011
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
This album is belting, bought it after hearing a few other Deadmau5 bits & was blown away. The tunes melt into a fantastic mash up of big beats & electronic madness that doesn't really relent throughout.

Starting off with the brilliant 'some chords' it powers on through the next few tracks, highlights being 'a city in florida', 'animal rights' & 'i said', before slowing the pace with a couple of dubstep style tunes which although quite good do grate slightly with what has gone before. It picks up again with the awesome finale of 'everything before'.

I am yet to play this to anyone who hasn't loved it, most have gone out & bought it, with this album soundtracking many a good night. If you just want some quality dance music, & don't worry about maths, you should give it a listen. The 2 previous albums, 'for lack of a better name' & 'random album title' are also great but this one is definitely my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A winning [dance] formula., 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
Before Toronto producer Joel Thomas Zimmerman, the man underneath the giant mouse head, I was very "vanilla" when it came to dance/house music. Yes, I would dance to it in a club, but would never imagine having it blasting at home while I work on my various projects. Well, Deadmau5 did not only help to propel dance music back into mainstream, it made dance music thrilling and electrifying and listenable (and all this alongside the fact that my feet literally drum the beat and go to dance all on their own while his creations are playing!).

Anyway, Deadmau5, very driven, opinionated and very talented. Have you seen him playing live? I had, a few times, and it's just euphoric, with amazing video projections and elaborate but so organic sets. The expectations for this follow up to his "For Lack of Better Name" were enormous. And he did not disappoint. He just reinvented himself a bit. Yet again. By reinvention I mean the close collaboration with LA-based singer SOFI, the Greek-German singer who accompanied him live on the tour to promote "4x4=12". And you thought it's just computer generated sound! Mixed as a continuous arrangement, the album is a selection of wonderful compositions, from techno epic to trance pieces, and of course, there is almost mesmerising drumming going on. The album is also quite harsh (there is no "Auguru"), some songs feel quite is a fierce and violent (think almost brutal "One Trick Pony"). And there are no mesmerising trance epics, fit for meditating, such as [I think my all time favourite] finest progressive house "Strobe".

This is a truly dance record, for a fun night out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, and 4x4 does equal 12, 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
firstly, a quick explaination of the title.

4x4 does equal 12 when the calculation is done in base 14. its also 10000 in binary, but hey.

now the album:
quite excellent overall.
tracks flow together really well (assuming your player of choice can do seamless changes), and the dip into dubstep is a departure for deadmau5, but a good one. SOFI (Some Other Female Interest) adds a certain something to "SOFI needs a ladder" and "one trick pony". the rest is classic deadmau5: good beats, well made, well balanced etc.

overall, classic deadmau5, with a little departure into dubstep (but with a certain deadmau5 style, dead5tep? dubmau5? mau5step?).

and he proves that his maths is better than yours, if you know where to look :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album in my opinion, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
On first listen of this album I liked half of it and the rest of it I wasnt too keen on to be honest. However most of the songs have grown on me apart from I Said which I don't ever see me getting into. Apart from that, this album is a great electronic album. I have been a House fan for years now and there are some tracks on here which really excite me. Some Chords is a really good opener and it feels like it is constantly building up on you. Sofi Needs A Ladder is my favourite track from the album just because the vocals have made it for me. It is just such a catchy tune that I cannot get out of my head! Then A City Of Florida has an almost early Thomas Bangalter (Daft Punk) feel to it. Animal Rights is definitely a stand out track in my opinion. It has the groove of early Daft Punk and it is incredibly catchy. Cthulhu Sleeps is simply just an epic track and Right This Second compliments it. Both of these tracks are highlights of the album. Then the dubstep track Raise Your Weapon which was a suprising favourite for me since I'm not really much of a dubstep fan. It is slow and the bass line fits the piano and voice perfectly. One Trick Pony seems to me to be a bit of a filler to me. Then Everything Before finishes it off nicely.
I can see why people are complaining that this is not new material but Deadmau5 has released his albums by releasing most of it as singles before so why is there such a huge fuss now. Just enjoy the record for the music that is on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 x 4 Definitely = 12!, 9 Dec. 2010
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
Few artists today can produce albums that just keep getting better and better. Deadmau5 famously claimed that his music has no genre. Although i have my own reservations about that, I certainly don't have any about his newest album. Although the release date caught me off guard, I definitely knew that i would not be left disappointed. 4x4 = 12 brings together progressive house, electro house, and something less familiar to Mau5...dubstep! With his earlier single, 'Some Chords' opening the album with his similar nerve propulsing beat before it drops into 'Sofi needs a ladder' and in my opinion the best tune of the album, 'A City in Florida'. The repetitive yet unchanging build up leads to you just wanting to turn the strobe light on throw your arms in the air. Songs to look out for include: 'Raise your Weapon', and 'Everything Before'. 'Lack of a better name' went in one direction from 'Random Album Title', and '4x4 = 12' takes Deadmau5 the other direction. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting and consistent album., 12 Dec. 2010
By 
P. J. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
After hearing Deadmau5's album "For Lack Of A Better Name" I was hooked. However some songs were a little derivative and repetetive. On 4x4=12 he has produced an album that is more consistent and less boring. The choice of guests is good. Sofi Needs a ladder, animal rights and I said are standouts. Amongst those guest tracks though he gives us long songs what are interesting and keep you hooked. Cthulhu Sleeps is the centrepiece at over 10 minutes long but the 10 minutes went by in a flash.

A consistent album and Deadmau5's best yet but still a few duff tracks which sound too much like filler for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 16?!, 30 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
Okay so im not thick, but i never noticed that 4x4 doesnt equal 12... but anyway, what a hell of an album!
"the mau5 is back!!"
this album is just fantastic, filled with awesome tunes that will never get boring! some vocals on the tracks, pretty good! the first few track really gives you an insight into what you are about to experience... over an hour of sick tunes! just stick this on, dont even think just buy it, you wont be dissapointed! not a bad track on the album, he couldnt do a better album if he tried! cant wait for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 April 2011
This review is from: 4x4=12 (Audio CD)
Very good album, Deadmau5 is an artist that does not need any type of review, becouse you know that you are buying quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

4x4=12
4x4=12 by deadmau5
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews