Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 7 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Hands down probably the best point and shoot camera in its price range. Takes stunning pictures as well as videos which you just cant fault. If you want a small, easy to use camera which adjusts all the settings for you, THIS IS THE ONE!

Pros;
Very good sensor so the picture quality is just out of this world. Very fast focusing.
Automatically adjusts setting so you always get the best results.
Very good at low light if you don't want to use the flash. Does some amazing wizardry and results are fantastic!
Video is very smooth and with built in optical stability, looks great! Shoots Full HD at 60fps.
20x zoom is terrific and stable!
Does 360 panorama which is really easy to shoot.
Has both Wi-Fi and NFC so you can wirelessly stream your pics to your PC, Phone, Tablet or TV.
Oh did i mention that the battery life is out of this world! 470 pictures on one charge! Other similarly prices cameras cant even get 300.

Cons;
Although build qual is excellent, aluminium body etc, the shutter button feels a bit spongy and somehow fragile. Doesn't feel secure or sturdy. Never the less it works great! And if it ever breaks theres a 1yr guarantee.
Screen res is average. Only a 460k display. Would be nice to have a 921k like on the HX60. But its not like your going to be using it as a TV screen, and as the camera adjusts all the settings for you, all you'll be using it for is aligning the shot.

Conclusion;
If your looking for a compact camera with amazing performance that will automatically adjust all your settings and only cost £180. This is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality pocket camera, 2 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. T. M. Burns "McBurns" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
I'm a serial compact camera buyer having got through a fair few in as many years with the history as follows:
Casio EX-Z3
Casio EX-Z30
Casio EX-Z1200
Panasonic FX35
Canon HS220
(and a couple of waterproof(ish) fuji's)
Obviously cameras improve as they go through the ages but this has been the biggest leap since the Panasonic.
With the last camera going in the swimming pool with the pram (fortunately no baby), I was comparing the ixus 265, a canon sx200 and the sony wx220 when a black friday knocking another £30 off made me go for this.
I've had it for a week and agree with the other comments that the submenus aren't very intuitive but have been using the camera mainly in auto mode which has been handling the variety of conditions very well. Focusing is very quick and the quality is very good. Due to the zoom you can create a very good depth of field. The low light handling is very good using the scene modes but even in video is very good.
I've just played back the video on my tv (sd card reader has worked fine but I'll probably get a micro hdmi cable) and was very impressed with the quality even at the 1080i mode but just switched to 1080p and even more impressed.
One flaw I've found is the flash can accidently get partially covered by your finger if not careful especially in portrait.
I got the proper Sony case which is a snug fit which is how I like it.
Overall, highly recommend for a camera of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, Top picture quality, Great zoom, but not that easy to connect to other devices, 17 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Ok let me just clarify quickly, the only reason I haven't given this camera a 5 star rating is due to the complexity of connecting it to anything that isn't a SONY device for example it struggles to work with my TV's that are both LG and my Samsung phone. As for the Camera itself it is AMAZING! The picture quality is awesome, amazing stabilization for pictures/videos whether zoomed in or not and the zoom is incredible and I have attached some photos showing just this! The first is where I was sat at Old Trafford (fully zoomed out) and the second is the players in the centre circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, in particular for use with a smartphone, 23 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, there are better optics out there. But this is the smallest and lightest camera with a 20x optical zoom. It connects excellently with the Sony Playmemories app and will do multiple transfers of photos, automatic transfers of all the photos of the day. It charges on a standard micro USB so you don't need to take another cable or charger with you apart from your phone's. The software is very well designed and intuitive to use. I tried the new Lumix T60 and although the latter has more possibilities and takes better photos (including in RAW format), I returned it for this one. As a much more pocketable all rounder with excellent connectivity it is far superior in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid performing compact, 24 April 2014
By 
Tech 2.0 "impulsive gadget buyer" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I own, or have used a large number of cameras and most of the time I am sporting a high end compact for some quick shots. My current camera of choice is the Sony RX100 which is simply superb.

So it was with some interest I got to try this one which, going by looks, could be a descendant of the RX100 as it echoes the same styling albeit smaller and lighter.

First things first, this camera rewards you with some great, no fuss shots and punches well above it’s weight in low light situation. It’s very easy to use and the simple well laid out controls allow you to select what you need without fuss. This is a combination form the great lens and superb sensor and engine.

Not only are photo’s superb but it takes great video. The camera is small enough to hide in a pocket and will take photos that are much better than most mobiles out there (notwithstanding the Lumia 1020)

The WiFi and NFC are very handy and means you can have your photos on Facebook in no time if that’s your thing. Making use of the Play Memories app on ios/android.

I teamed mine up with a Sandisk Extreme SD card that happily kept pace.

This camera is a simple and effective point and shoot that won’t break the bank. Another solid effort form Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Did a lot of research before choosing our next camera. Finally ended up with this, and very happy with the choice. Takes wonderfully crisp, detailed and rich photos, robust and yet light to hold and use. All in all happy with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe for the price, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
I think the other reviews say it all. This is so compact with a high spec, I find it very easy to use, my other camera is an early SLR with a 2 second shutter delay and I never found the flash easy. This is just a delight at a very good price. The only thing I miss is a viewfinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best small compact camera available, 22 Jun. 2015
By 
G Hooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Being a bit of a gadget fetishist I have owned way too many compact cameras in my time. Of all of them this is the best small compact camera that I have tried.

The real selling point of this camera is it's size and weight. It is a truly compact camera and even for it's diminutive size it is very light. Packed into this small camera is a long zoom lens and a host of features. However, this would all count for nothing if it didn't deliver in terms of picture quality. Overall, considering the type of camera and it's price the image quality is very good indeed.

This is primarily a great camera for outdoor use. Its size and weight make it incredibly portable and the image quality in bright light is very good. To top it off it is easy to use (the auto modes generally do very well) and fast in operation. The quality is good from wide angle to full telephoto and that zoom lens really does reach a long way. Battery life seems pretty good and I really liked that I could charge the bettery in the camera using a standard phone charger. This meant that I could charge it from a cigarette lighter in the car on days out.

You do need to bear in mind the weak points of a camera such as this. Personally, I do not mark the camera down because of these issues as they are inherent in the type of camera. For a very small, long zoom camera I have not found anything better. Firstly, this camera has a small sensor (although typical or compacts) combined with a rather "slow" lens (again this is typical of compacts). Slow in this context refers to how much light it lets through not how fast it focusses. Essentially what this means is that the results you get will deteriorate rapidly as the available light levels fall. Indoor photos without the flash for example, will not look anywhere near as good as daytime outdoor shots. However, to put this into context, to get a camera with a larger sensor and faster lens that will do well for indoor lower light shots (like the Canon S120, Canon G7x or Sony RX100) you will have to spend considerably more for a heavier, larger camera and give up that long zoom range.

Secondly, this camera is designed for the beginner and for automatic use. Because of it's small size it does not have much in terms of external controls such as exposure compensation. The result is that if you do know what you are doing and want to change something you will have to dive into the menus to change that setting. Again this is inherent in this type of camera. Note that although this camera does not provide any flash compensation (an annoying oversight) the flash seems to be much better than that for the previous generation, the WX300, which had a tendency to washout anything too close to the camera..

The only specific issue with the camera for me is that it's screen is not very visible in bright light. (Not ideal for a camera that I really only use outdoors.) I solved this by buying a non-reflective phone screen protector and cutting it down to size for the camera. This only cost a couple of pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First choice for a very keen amateur, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
I chose this camera to take away with me on several long trips this year, including to the Far East, as well as city breaks eg Florence. I found it a superb choice, not only does it fit in the pocket, the charge lasts for ages, and taking shots of people is fantastically easy as they see the tiny camera and are not intimidated - I found the results good enough to see me shortlisted in photography competitions, whether landscape, portraits, or city shots. Why carry a heavy camera with weighty lenses with the option of this superb quality camera which packs such a powerful zoom lens. Even a semi-professional photographer was impressed with the images of sunset at Halong Bay it produced and I'm exceptionally happy with the online digital photo books I made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compact camera with an amazing optical zoom feature, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Sony DSCWX350 Compact Digital Camera with Wi-Fi and NFC - Black (18.2MP, 20x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Great compact camera with an amazing optical zoom feature. Should be very useful when travelling light on holidays in particular. The only negative aspect - as with many digital cameras - is the difficulty in seeing an image through the screen on very sunny days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews