Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars53
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£11.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 26 July 2008
Remember buying this on vinyl the 1st day it was out & nearly crying when I gave it it's first listen. I was so dissapointed but that all changed the more I played it. One of my all time great albums, no wonder:- Tall Ships Go, Steeltown, Raindance, Where The Rose Is Sown, Come Back To me..... Hell, not a weak song on the whole record! Big Country still mean a lot to me to this day. RIP Big Man, you're sorely missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 4 August 2009
This is easilly the best album Big Country ever made, and in my opinion one of the best albums made in the last 30 years. Woefully underated, this should be regarded as a rock classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 8 June 2007
Big Country were often accused of only having one tuen, but I challenge anyone to listen to "Steeltown" and say honestly that all the songs are the same tune. From the opening bass riff on "Flame of the West" to the final chorus of "Just a Shadow", this album is a real tour-de-force, with intelligent musicianship throughout.

The late Adamson's lyrics are intelligent and thought provoking and he has an amazing voice, doing his own harmonies along the way. To think that the guy also does some of the main guitar lines as well just goes to show what talent he really had.

So put all the misconceptions to one side and give this album a listen - you won't regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 29 June 2010
For their second album, Big Country took a heavier direction, both in terms of sound and in lyrical content. Where their exuberant, mega successful 1983 debut, `The Crossing', used their bagpipe guitar technique to tell somewhat mythical `Boys Own' stories of heroic soldiers, ships and soaring romance, `Steeltown' was a darker, more political work. It was full of social observation and examinations of the problems of the British working classes. The romance was still there, but it had become muted and tragic, the soldiers angry and disillusioned. In a way, `The Crossing' could be seen as a patriotic call to arms and `Steeltown' the awful post-war reality of husbands killed in war, dole queues and domestic violence.

Lead singer and guitarist, Stuart Adamson's lyrics are more developed and poetic on `Steeltown', telegraphing that he had very serious intentions for this band, which went far beyond the gimmick of their guitar sound. In grand imagery, the soaring hard rock attack of the opening track, `Flame of the West', tells the tale of a visit by a rich politician or industrialist (US movie star President, Ronald Reagan?), to the impoverished mining towns. Adamson sets the tone for the album here - it is working class outrage. The slower, dirgier second track, `East of Eden', is beautiful and angry, as he takes on the part of a worker in the modern industrial machine ("I looked west in search of freedom and I saw slavery, I looked east in search of answers and I saw misery"). Then the aggression of the towering, anthemic title track makes it abundantly clear that exploitation of the working classes is his main concern this time out ("We built all this with our own hands, But who could know we built on sand").

The songs that follow look at the hypocrisy used to motivate young men to go to battle (`Where the Rose is Sown'), the plight of a young mother whose husband is killed in war (`Come Back to Me') and the frustration of dead end work that ends in relationship breakdown (`Just a Shadow'). Other songs are less overt, but take on a resonance from those around them (`The Girl with Grey Eyes', `The Great Divide').

Adamson's vocals are an impassioned cry on much of this album, but beautifully tender and sadly contemplative on the slower tracks (`The Girl with Grey Eyes', `Just a Shadow). The musicianship is first rate throughout and Mark Brzezicki's drumming is fantastic. Steve Lillywhite (U2, Peter Gabriel, Souxie and the Banshees, XTC) once again produces, coating proceedings with a slick sheen while retaining just enough grit to keep it sounding authentic.

Though `Steeltown' indisputably retains the Big Country sound, it is not an immediately accessible album, but it is one that delivers great rewards with repeated listens.

The 2 Disc Deluxe Edition sports beautiful sound and stunning repackaging. It also includes b-sides as well as the Wonderland EP and the songs that featured on its various incarnations around the world (but sadly not the beautiful cover art!!). The other radio edits and rough mixes on disc 2 are interesting. This is a brilliant and worthy reason to repurchase and upgrade this outstanding album on CD.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 10 March 2002
This is classic Big Country - thumping drums, rumbling bass, loud guitars and great lyrics sung with great passion.
This and The Crossing are a great introduction to the most underrated band of the past 20 years - RIP Stuart Adamson.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
This was by far and away 'Big Country's' best album. It sold well but should have been absolutely massive. In fact this group never did get the recognition they deserved.
Since learning of the untimely death of Stuart Adamson, I have been listening to their music more than ever and realise that GREAT music never sounds dated.
Steeltown - Superb!
RIP stuart.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 30 January 2010
Just downloaded this from Amazon and listening... What an absolute joy.

I'd forgotten just how brilliant this album was. I played the tape to shreds when it first came out. It was one of regular plays on my walkman on the way to work and made the walk fly.

Big Country were one of many bands in the 80's that didn't get the recognition they deserved, but does that really matter when the music still lives on. I can now close my eyes and listen to a time when my life wasn't quite as complicated as it is now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2004
I remember loving this album when it first came out and being disappointed by the relatively poor reception it got from the music press at the time.
Where the Rose is Sown is a truly great song. Just can't understand people who think it was one of the weakest BC singles
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2004
It was with some sadness that I had learnt of Stuart Adamson's passing , so on reflecting on his previous works , I felt that this album showed off most of what made Big Country a great band . The usual e-bows are present , but there are the rousing choruses , the plaintive lyrics , and the poignancy of some songs now when revisited . Without a doubt , their best effort , and to be treasured .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2001
With Steeltown, Big Country managed to retain the Scot-Rock feel of The Crossing but added a harder edge and a message. This is an awesome album and certainly added to my education as a teenager in the late eighties. The sound is fantastic, and so are the words, which would still be meaningful if they had to stand alone without the music. Thankfully they don't have to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Crossing
The Crossing by Big Country (Audio CD - 1996)

The Seer
The Seer by Big Country (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.