Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic
Mulvey's songwriting ability is phenomenal. Beautiful, intricate guitar work. Great voice. And he's not bad at humming either! This is a truly classy debut and very accessible in a low key, folksy, singer-songwriter style. Get it now - you'll be playing it all summer and probably far beyond. Catch him live if you can.
Published 5 months ago by Gavrog

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but insubstantial
Whilst the arrangements are interesting and his guitar work effective, Nick Mulvey doesn't possess the lyrical nous nor a distinctive or interesting enough voice to justify repeated listens. Case in point beiong Nitrous, which has a pleasing sound, but is then totally spoilt by adding the lyrics from a well known 90s dance track.

At times his delivery veers...
Published 4 months ago by R. Brewer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 17 May 2014
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Mulvey's songwriting ability is phenomenal. Beautiful, intricate guitar work. Great voice. And he's not bad at humming either! This is a truly classy debut and very accessible in a low key, folksy, singer-songwriter style. Get it now - you'll be playing it all summer and probably far beyond. Catch him live if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saying that Nick Mulvey has a great voice, the sounds are fantastic (if you like ..., 15 July 2014
By 
Zigibins (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Ok so every albumn has a couple of songs one does not, ummm agree with completely. Well this is no exceptions, however, saying that Nick Mulvey has a great voice, the sounds are fantastic (if you like guitar etc) and this is very listenable to album, I have my favourites and love travelling in the car with this ...quite loud in fact.
So yes, hats off to Mr Mulvey as a great albumn, loved it and loved the fact that I just caught him singing on the TV from Glastonbury, just so pleased to have heard him live so to speak.
Beautiful compliations and well, just good for the soul, ears and heart really.

:o) xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY IMPRESSIVE, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Former Jazz musician, Nick Mulvey is an Alt/Folk singer/songwriter from Cambridge England who was short listed by the BBC for "the sound of 2014".
He has studied a variety of cultural music and this is evident in his debut full length release "First Mind".
It's an album full of rhythmic acoustic guitar, gentle percussive beats and intelligent lyrics. A highly impressive first LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Loved it! Beautifully engrossing songs that combine global sounds with British sentiments of nature, love and relationships. Clever guitar skills, catchy tunes all topped off with his clear vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
Bought due to a mercury nomination, I was actually considering this because I had liked the (also mercury nominated) portico quartet... But this is very different. Still very good though, interesting folkish style, and tunes you will instantly memorise. His voice I find really nice to listen to - I think this is a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, chilled out album., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
Very nice debut. Very chilled, beautiful guitar playing and a voice that draws you in. Purchased on a whim after hearing Cucurucu and Meet Me There on Radio 1 and don't regret it one bit.

Whole album is great but April, Juramidam and I Don't Want To Go Home are highlights.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy vibes... Highly recommended album!, 25 Oct 2014
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
I must admit that I really like "First Mind" by Nick Mulvey. For a long time I was quite unsure if I should listen to and consequently buy this album, but have seen its price reduced to £6.99 at my local HMV store and finally bought it yesterday! What a great music adventure! The songs included in the standard version can be simply described as alternative and independent tunes, but they're for sure not boring! What you hear is the voice of 100% mature guy who knows what he's looking for in music and is able to take you high, if you only let him to do so :) Clever, intimate and magic lyrics, sexy vibes... Highly recommended album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool, relaxing and moreish, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
I really liked this album. Only have not given 5 stars because I only want to listen to 60%
If you like Ben Howard and Ray lamontague, you will like Nick Mulvey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ian brown meets Elliot smith meets Jose gonzalez - its tasty stuff!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
best album i have bought this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW ORIGINAL CLASSIC, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
After seeing him perform 'Fever to the Form' on 'Later with Jools Holland, I immediately bought the album.
I was not disappointed!
In a nutshell, think of this as my dream line-up for the best gig ever: Nick Mulvey, James Vincent McMorrow ('Early in the morning'), Fionn Regan ('The end of history'), Tom McRae ('Tom McRae').
That is the company this man keeps in my subconscious musical reference point mind.
I am so excited to see how this album 'beds-in' & 'pans-out' as the weeks & months and years pass. One thing I know already is that there is lots more for this album to give me, the mark of real quality, originality and unique genius - no overstatement here - sometimes you just know you have discovered something truly special.
Thank you Nick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Mind
First Mind by Nick Mulvey (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews