Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly excellent debut album
Nick Mulvey has been one of the undisputed breakthrough artists of 2014. With his début album, “First Mind” being nominated for the Mercury Prize and most of his many tour dates selling out, there haven't been many indie artists who have enjoyed as successful a year as him. Given the praise for the album, I decided to check it out for myself and was...
Published 5 days ago by Andy Sweeney

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but insubstantial
Whilst the arrangements are interesting and his guitar work effective, Nick Mulvey doesn't possess the lyrical nous nor a distinctive or interesting enough voice to justify repeated listens. Case in point beiong Nitrous, which has a pleasing sound, but is then totally spoilt by adding the lyrics from a well known 90s dance track.

At times his delivery veers...
Published 5 months ago by R. Brewer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly excellent debut album, 23 Nov 2014
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Nick Mulvey has been one of the undisputed breakthrough artists of 2014. With his début album, “First Mind” being nominated for the Mercury Prize and most of his many tour dates selling out, there haven't been many indie artists who have enjoyed as successful a year as him. Given the praise for the album, I decided to check it out for myself and was pleased to discover that the acclaim is well deserved, as “First Mind” is an intriguing, beguiling album which has been on heavy rotation on my stereo since I bought it back in August. Full of looping rhythms and rotating musical themes, many of the tracks have the common trait of being able to send the listener into an involved, almost trance-like state listening to them. Mulvey has an ear for an interesting rhythm, having studied music in Cuba and been part of the Portico Quartet, a group described as 'electronica meets future-jazz', and accentuating the beat is an important characteristic of his music, even when strumming or picking out a riff or melody on his guitar.

Although it may take the listener a few plays of the album to really get to grips with everything Mulvey is trying to communicate with this work, it soon becomes clear that there isn't a bad song on it. Indeed, there are more than a handful of thoroughly superb songs on “First Mind”. “Fever To The Form”, for example, is a corker, starting with a simple strummed guitar chord sequence, adding vocals and then slowly, instrument-by-instrument, becomes a powerful piece of music, yet still retains a pleasing mellow characteristic. The atmospheric “April” features Nick's mournful vocals and a picked arpeggio dancing over haunting synth chords in the background, whereas the excellent “Juramidam” is a much more forthright affair, featuring a slightly distorted acoustic guitar (with some nice harmonics for good measure) over a relentless, driving rhythm which increases in stature and becomes embellished with more instruments until the song reaches a moody, magnificent climax and then winds back down. “Cucurucu” radiates warmth, a tale of a child sitting underneath a piano listening his mother singing; it is a song with a great heart.

Another one of the many highlights is “Meet Me There” which constructs a masterful groove before reaching thrilling, soaring heights on the last chorus and the very last track, “The World To Me” is another fine and rather sparse example of Mulvey's intricate and distinctive songwriting style, finishing the album with aplomb. Overall, this album has a great vibe and it deserves all of the acclaim which has been lavished upon it this year. Listening to it from start to finish is simultaneously soothing and exciting, if that isn't too much of a contradiction. The only one misstep, if you can call it that, is quoting Olive's “You're Not Alone” (both lyrics and melody) on “Nitrous”; on an album with so much originality, the idea feels misplaced. Still, if that is the only thing that doesn't work, Mulvey must be doing something right and, in such a fickle, easily-hyped music industry, it is genuinely pleasing to hear an album that really does live up to all of the critical acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 17 May 2014
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Mulvey's songwriting ability is phenomenal. Beautiful, intricate guitar work. Great voice. And he's not bad at humming either! This is a truly classy debut and very accessible in a low key, folksy, singer-songwriter style. Get it now - you'll be playing it all summer and probably far beyond. Catch him live if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saying that Nick Mulvey has a great voice, the sounds are fantastic (if you like ..., 15 July 2014
By 
Zigibins (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Ok so every albumn has a couple of songs one does not, ummm agree with completely. Well this is no exceptions, however, saying that Nick Mulvey has a great voice, the sounds are fantastic (if you like guitar etc) and this is very listenable to album, I have my favourites and love travelling in the car with this ...quite loud in fact.
So yes, hats off to Mr Mulvey as a great albumn, loved it and loved the fact that I just caught him singing on the TV from Glastonbury, just so pleased to have heard him live so to speak.
Beautiful compliations and well, just good for the soul, ears and heart really.

:o) xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY IMPRESSIVE, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Former Jazz musician, Nick Mulvey is an Alt/Folk singer/songwriter from Cambridge England who was short listed by the BBC for "the sound of 2014".
He has studied a variety of cultural music and this is evident in his debut full length release "First Mind".
It's an album full of rhythmic acoustic guitar, gentle percussive beats and intelligent lyrics. A highly impressive first LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
Loved it! Beautifully engrossing songs that combine global sounds with British sentiments of nature, love and relationships. Clever guitar skills, catchy tunes all topped off with his clear vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
Bought due to a mercury nomination, I was actually considering this because I had liked the (also mercury nominated) portico quartet... But this is very different. Still very good though, interesting folkish style, and tunes you will instantly memorise. His voice I find really nice to listen to - I think this is a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, chilled out album., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
Very nice debut. Very chilled, beautiful guitar playing and a voice that draws you in. Purchased on a whim after hearing Cucurucu and Meet Me There on Radio 1 and don't regret it one bit.

Whole album is great but April, Juramidam and I Don't Want To Go Home are highlights.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy vibes... Highly recommended album!, 25 Oct 2014
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
I must admit that I really like "First Mind" by Nick Mulvey. For a long time I was quite unsure if I should listen to and consequently buy this album, but have seen its price reduced to £6.99 at my local HMV store and finally bought it yesterday! What a great music adventure! The songs included in the standard version can be simply described as alternative and independent tunes, but they're for sure not boring! What you hear is the voice of 100% mature guy who knows what he's looking for in music and is able to take you high, if you only let him to do so :) Clever, intimate and magic lyrics, sexy vibes... Highly recommended album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool, relaxing and moreish, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (MP3 Download)
I really liked this album. Only have not given 5 stars because I only want to listen to 60%
If you like Ben Howard and Ray lamontague, you will like Nick Mulvey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Mind (Audio CD)
In a word - Brilliant!

Deep, thoughtful, well produced.

I wasn't sure what to expect, and was instantly taken in by the vocal, and also the music itself. As and aspiring accoustic guitarist, if not maybe a singer, if I could aim to emmulate anyone it would be what's on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Mind
First Mind by Nick Mulvey (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews