Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark album
At the time of writing this album is over 5 years old and it remains one of my favourites. The songs, arrangements and performances are excellent but more than that, the album serves as a sampler of what is best in what is currently known as alt.country. Songs by Bob Dylan, Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Gillian Welch, Neil Young and others are inventively arranged...
Published on 12 May 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Love Emmylou to death but my partner
Love Emmylou to death but my partner, whom I bought it for, said it's a "nothing" cd and she didn't do herself justice
Published 7 days ago by Annie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark album, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
At the time of writing this album is over 5 years old and it remains one of my favourites. The songs, arrangements and performances are excellent but more than that, the album serves as a sampler of what is best in what is currently known as alt.country. Songs by Bob Dylan, Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Gillian Welch, Neil Young and others are inventively arranged by Daniel Lanois and hauntingly sung by Emmylou Harris. This album is worth the money just for Emmylou's version of the Steve Earle song "Goodbye".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime sounds, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wrecking ball (Audio CD)
Not only is Wrecking Ball a milestone in the career of Emmylou Harris, it is also a jewel in the crown of producer Daniel Lanois who himself has released masterpieces like Acadie and For the Beauty of Wynona, and has written two of these timeless songs.

This is of those albums you return to again and again. People of many musical tastes including rock, country, folk, pop and easy listening will all find something to enjoy. I love Daniel Lanois' production which lends a haunting, wistful quality to Emmylou's voice and infuses the sound with atmospherics.

The great songs are written by talents like Steve Earle, Neil Young, Anna McGarrigle, Bob Dylan, Lucinda Williams, Jimi Hendrix and producer Daniel Lanois. My favourites include Going Back To Harlan, Bob Dylan's devotional masterpiece Every Grain of Sand (Emmylou has fiddled with some lyrics here but it doesn't matter at all).

Goodbye is a most poetic & melancholy 1960s reminiscence, Lucinda Williams' Sweet Old World is stirringly interpreted and Orphan Girl is real wailing country. The last two tracks are truly outstanding: Blackhawk and the highly sensual Waltz Across Texas Tonight are both sweeping ballads with gripping imagery and magical melodies.

Emmylou followed up this album with two more masterpieces that resembled it in sound and style: Red Dirt Girl and Stumble Into Grace. I highly recommend both; they're just as exceptional and spellbinding as Wrecking Ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME ALLTIME CLASSIC, 14 July 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Not only is Wrecking Ball a milestone in the career of Emmylou Harris, it is also a jewel in the crown of producer Daniel Lanois who himself has released masterpieces like Acadie and For the Beauty of Wynona, and has written two of these timeless songs.

This is of those albums you return to again and again. People of many musical tastes including rock, country, folk, pop and easy listening will all find something to enjoy. I love Daniel Lanois' production which lends a haunting, wistful quality to Emmylou's voice and infuses the sound with atmospherics.

The great songs are written by talents like Steve Earle, Neil Young, Anna McGarrigle, Bob Dylan, Lucinda Williams, Jimi Hendrix and producer Daniel Lanois. My favourites include Going Back To Harlan, Bob Dylan's devotional masterpiece Every Grain of Sand (Emmylou has fiddled with some lyrics here but it doesn't matter at all).

Goodbye is a most poetic & melancholy 1960s reminiscence, Lucinda Williams' Sweet Old World is stirringly interpreted and Orphan Girl is real wailing country. The last two tracks are truly outstanding: Blackhawk and the highly sensual Waltz Across Texas Tonight are both sweeping ballads with gripping imagery and magical melodies.

Emmylou followed up this album with two more masterpieces that resembled it in sound and style: Red Dirt Girl and Stumble Into Grace. I highly recommend both; they're just as exceptional and spellbinding as Wrecking Ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best albums of all time, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Overall the sound is only slightly improved but it always sounded great, audio-wise, anyway.

The packaging is to be honest a bit bland for a 'deluxe edition' with just a few new photos and nothing special overall.

The DVD is very interesting showing Daniel Lanois' recording studio, in effect his house in New Orleans, with many people popping in to record such as Neil Young, Rodney Crowell, Larry Mullin Jnr, The McGarrigle Sisters, Steve Earle and others.

Only about half the songs on the album are in the DVD which runs for just under an hour and cuts between the studio recordings, live performances and the actual recording process.

The bonus CD (13 tracks) is interesting with 3 tracks fully completed that could have been on the album especially Richard Thompson's 'How Will I Ever Be Simple Again' being one that really should have been on the album. Leonard Cohen's "The Stranger Song' is also excellent.

The other tracks are early run through's of most of the original album's tracks and are also interesting.

But the original album still stands the test of time, an unclassifiable album that could have been recorded yesterday and which defies any genre. Nothing else sounds like it, it's a totally unique album,

A 5 star classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Emmylou album, 24 Jan 2009
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
I first heard an Emmylou song on radio 2 by chance. It happened to be 'Orphan Girl' from this album (a sad upbeat song with powerful vocals)and it played around in my head for a few weeks until I bought the cd.
The whole album is up to the same standard and each song flows into the next so well.
This album was the changing point for her, from straightforward country (which i dont like) to more modern, sophisticated and alternative music (amazing).

1. Where will I be. (9/10) A great start to the album with some deep soulful notes hit on the chorus.

2. Goodbye. (10/10) A really powerful ethereal ballad, one of the best tracks on the cd. Her voice is so soft and echoes and fades in and out with the music.

3. All my Tears (10/10) Another great song. The music perfectly complement the voice - multiple layers of voice on the chorus.

4. Wrecking Ball (10/10) A cover song about meeting your lover for a dance- such a fresh and powerful vocals. I had this one on repeat for ages.

5. Going back to Harlam (9/10) Unusual lyrics. again great vocals and music and a very catchy chorus.

6. Deeper Well (4/10) This is the only song I don't like so much as the others. Uses a much deeper range to her voice - shows versatility at least - but I might skip this song.

7. Every Grain of Sand (10/10) A bob dylan cover. In my opinion this is better than the original. She does it so well and uses husky and soulful ranges of her voice

8. Sweet Old World (9/10) Another very good song full of emotion about losing someone.

9. May this be Love (8/10) Her voice is almost drowned out by the music in places - but that was obviously a deliberate effect, because it works so well. A really original version of this song.

10. Orphan Girl (10/10) Up tempo song about not having family. Very catchy and well sung and very emotional. Her voice is in top form here. My second favourite track of the cd.

11. Blackhawk (10/10) Another great song - with more great singing and a great chorus.

12. Waltz Acroos texas Tonight (10/10) My favourite song by Emmylou. I was repeating this one for hours when i fist heard it. Such an amazing chorus! She does such great things with her voice on this song.

Overall 10/10. I have since bought other Emmylou Harris albums (both older and newer albums) only to be dissappointed with most of the songs.
This album really stands out - full of great songs the fit together so well.

If you only buy one Emmylou cd, buy this one. (It would even be a better purchase to get this cd rather than any greatest hits! trust me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side of Life, 16 Oct 2003
By 
Maria (London, England) - See all my reviews
It does just what it says on the cover; here is Emmylou, more beautiful, if anything, that ever, her long dark hair turned snowy white, but otherwise barely changed at all since her angelic, luminous appearance in The Last Waltz. Time, it seems, has been kind to Ms Harris, but there again, appearances can be deceptive; this work is full of a ravaged, ripped-up beauty, and just as the last floorboards have creaked and splintered on Dylan's crackling chords (to magnificent effect), Emmylou's cracked bell of a voice continually breaks as it ascends the glass ceiling which seemingly separates her from all that she loves. Yet though her voice flutters and strains, soaring up only to be thwarted by time's arrow sticking in her throat, the memories fly; 'We were/Black hawk and the white winged dove.'
These memories have a bittersweet effect, at once compounding and assuageing her loneliness; in 'Orphan Girl' she finally finds a plateau where she can look forward with grace and serenity to the time when she will once again be united with her mother, her father, her sister and her brother. Wrecking Ball is an aptly chosen title, with its dual meaning as a place where you enter the dance of life and get wrecked (also a place of refuge for those casualties of too many late nights and lost loves), and a place under threat of demolition from the hanging ball and chain which strikes gaping holes into the sides of old dancehalls and concert venues. But just as Emmylou is never alone with her memories and her faith, this solo album offers a host of fellow-travellers, notably Daniel Lanois, who was surely instrumental in the making of this masterful work, doing for Ms Harris what he has also done for Dylan and Robbie Robertson. The illumni on this recording include Kate and Anna Mcgarrigle on harmony vocals, Neil Young on harmonica & vocals, Steve Earle on acoustic guitar, and U2's drummer Larry Mullen Jr, who underscores Emmylou's breathless, mutable voice with Native American hand drumming, to match the banshee wailing chorus which chimes in with her despair. There may be glass everywhere (Where Will I Be) but you can't get any better than this version of Every Grain of Sand. Every track delivers. This is one to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing compares, 29 Sep 2003
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
I remember my mum listening to emmy on a sunday morning and the sound of her voice ringing through the house, it has taken a few years to realise the importance of this voice and that fateful day I was in a record store in Reading and stood at the listening post and placed the earphones on and fell instantly in love with this album....... I have no doubt that this is one of the most powerful albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pivotal album in my life, 18 Sep 2006
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
I was recommended this album by Amazon today - it is 2006 and over ten years since this extraordinary album's release. I came to read the reviews and was stunned to see only eight! ONLY eight for this, the most important album that I ever bought. My musical life breaks down cleanly into pre-WB and post-WB, where WB stands for this album. I first bought this because of a four line review in the Daily Mail, where the reviewer said if you buy one album this year, please let it be this one. So I did - as I wanted to see why one man would go out on a limb so far in some populist rag. I'm not saying this is Emmy's best - for that I humbly suggest Red Dirt Girl - but this album led me on to Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Malcolm Burn, Gram Parsons, Grand Drive, Jayhawks, Sinead Lohan, the Byrds... you get the idea.

Goodbye is the stand out track. It will break your heart. But the rest of the album is equally stunning. For me, this album sits alongside The Velvet Underground, Taking Tiger Mountain by Strategy, Roxy Music, Grand Prix, Sweetheart of the Rodeo. It is the sort of album that people who make their own music adore - because it oozes inspiration. Emmylou Harris had the bravery to do this, even if she is not the primary creative force.

Buy this album. It might be over ten years old, but it still sounds revolutionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Deeper, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
At a time when every UK town had a decent High Street record shop I worked in one; and Wrecking Ball was a favoured in-store play selection of my manager. I loved it. The enveloping blanket of sound, the chipped crystal vocals and fascinating interpretations of some of my musical heroes. But having the original CD on tap in the shop meant I did not get around to actually buying it. So knocking towards 20 years later, owning the deluxe reissue is like sharing a drink with a girl I never did quite manage to date.

Turns out to be worth the wait, and the original album is as warm and ageless and cross genre’d and also of its moment and fiercely rooted in Country as I remember. It’s Daniel Lanios, a humid gumbo of steel, murk and scratchy brush strokes. If Joshua Tree or Oh Mercy don’t float your boat then don’t disembark here. There are tales of love, loss and grimy angels, where redemption will either come from above or on a perfect Texas night. Weaving in and out of their own and other’s songs are Neil Young, Steve Earl and the McGarrigle sisters, always shored up by Lanios and the silver thread of Emmylou’s voice.

As for the extras, the making of DVD, gives some neat insight into the interplay between the performers, where an unconscious Neil Young grimace or Harris twirl shows how the music is hitting home. The outtakes disc contains 2 stone wall classics; a cover of Leonard Cohen’s Stanger song and Harris’ own Gold, plus a fragile Richard Thompson cover and the path finding Still Water from Lanois’ pen. Rounding out the disc, sketches of tracks that made the final cut, nothing superior but great points of reference.

Play, submerged, imbibe and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient country starts here, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
This is a review of the newly released, re-mastered, bonus discs etc version of Emmylou and Dan Lanois's classic from 1995 (is it really that long ago? Who knows where the time goes?).

Is it worth it over the original CD?

Emphatically yes! Just on the basis of the improved sound of the main album.

Lanois' production was criticised in some quarters for being murky and soupy. I never understood this. Yes. it has a distinctively hazy, while still clear, quality, but Emmylou's voice and the voices of the all-star backing singers remain clear, the instruments are all easily identifiable and in defined places in the soundstage...It is quite obvious what Buddy Miller "borrowed" from Lanois's production and guitar playing when one listens to the follow up, Red Dirt Girl.

The current release is more of what made this good to start with. Everything is clearer, be it the emotion in Emmylou's voice or whatever Dan Lanois was doing to the instruments. No obvious Loudness Wars over-compression.

I haven't had chance to play the outtakes and the DVD yet, so will report on those later.

In general this is a great album, with Emmylou growing into her voice (for want of a better term), losing some of her younger, crystalline quality, but becoming richer, more expressive, more emotional. Her choice of songs remains as good as ever - almost a song writers' Who's Who, with Dylan, Neil Young, Gillian Welch, Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, Rodney Crowell and Anna McGarrigle represented. Lanois's guitar playing is as exemplary as ever, and the various rhythm section players are excellently understated in their support.

It set the scene nicely for Red Dirt Girl, in which Emmylou suddenly revealed her own song writing talents...Deluxe version of that one please, Grapevine!

ETA: Listened to the outtake disc now, and it's a good one, much better than many outtake or demo bonus discs I've heard in the past. OK, so I could listen to Ms Harris sing the 'phone book, but the other versions of the album tracks are fine. The 3 songs which didn't make it are good, and wouldn't have been out of place on the album itself: using Richard Thompson and Leonard Cohen songs is never a bad thing and the choice of Lanois' own Still Water, from his album Acadie, is a good one, fitting with other songs using watery imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrecking Ball
Wrecking Ball by Emmylou Harris (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews