Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...This One's Called..." - Made In Japan by DEEP PURPLE (2014 Universal 2CD Remasters)
There's a word that jumps to mind as you are assaulted by the first minute of "Highway Star" on Disc 1 - and that word is 'awesome'. It's a corny statement I know when it comes to hairy-assed reprobate Rock bands at the best of times. But like Little Feat, Thin Lizzy and The Allman Brothers - Deep Purple were always a muted thing in the studio. But come the live event -...
Published 18 days ago by Mark Barry

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Purple
The compressed sound of this '1972' mix has sucked all the life out of one of the great recorded live rock performances. Nuances such as the 'helicopter gunship' sound of Ritchie Blackmore's guitar during the intro of 'Highway Star' and the climatic howl of feedback at the conclusion of 'Smoke on the Water' have all but disappeared. What is left is a neutered...
Published 5 months ago by Old Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...This One's Called..." - Made In Japan by DEEP PURPLE (2014 Universal 2CD Remasters), 7 Nov 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
There's a word that jumps to mind as you are assaulted by the first minute of "Highway Star" on Disc 1 - and that word is 'awesome'. It's a corny statement I know when it comes to hairy-assed reprobate Rock bands at the best of times. But like Little Feat, Thin Lizzy and The Allman Brothers - Deep Purple were always a muted thing in the studio. But come the live event - the Purps Mark II were a truly astounding thing to behold - a beast unleashed. And this fabulous 2014 Deluxe Edition 2CD sonic upgrade of one the great live albums of all time is only going to make matters worse for our aged and acing head-banging necks. I swear - this thing comes at you like a High Sea's Pirate who hasn't had rum or a woman for a month and has just landed at Portsmouth with a day pass from Black Beard - it's ready to rock and you'd better step aside pal...

UK released May 2014 - this new version of "Made In Japan" comes in a VINYL variant, a 2CD issue and a DELUXE 4-disc Box Set. This review is for the 2CD issue on Universal/Purple 3769640 (Barcode 0602537696406) and it breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (Purple 3769641) - 76:08 minutes:
1. Highway Star
2. Child In Time
3. Smoke On The Water [Side 2]
4. The Mule
5. Strange Kind Of Woman [Side 3]
6. Lazy
7. Space Truckin' [Side 4]
Tracks 1 to 7 are the double-live album "Made In Japan" - released December 1972 in the UK on Purple Records TPSP 351 and April 1973 in the USA on Warner Brothers 2WS 2701. Tracks 1, 2, 5 and 7 were recorded in Osaka on 16 August 1972, 3 was on 15 August 1972 with 4 and 6 done on 17 August 1972.

Disc 2 (Purple 3769642) - 46:50 minutes:
ENCORES:
1. Black Night
2. Speed King (both 15 August 1972)
3. Black Night
4. Lucille (both 16 August 1972)
5. Black Night
6. Speed King (both 17 August 1972)

I can remember buying my copy at Christmas in December 1972 enticed by that great sleeve and the 'specially priced at £3.10 for a double' sticker (single albums were this price at the time). They even claimed in trade press adverts that it was 'the best live recording ever made' - and when I got it home and plopped into on trusty Garrard SP25 - they weren't joking. So what's different?

The 1998 EMI 2CD reissue featured a PETER MEW remaster from original tapes (done at Abbey Road) with CD2 giving us only 3 of the "Encore" tracks (4, 5 and 6 on Disc 2 above). It had different artwork and a pretty good 16-page booklet with excellent liner notes from SIMON ROBINSON. MALCOM DOME takes over the reign for the liner notes on this new version, the original gold artwork of the LP is reinstated on the fold-out card digipak and the inner gatefold of the digipak apes the original vinyl issue from all those years ago (all much to the delight of fans). There's even 3 new tracks added onto CD2 completing the Encores and the new 16-page booklet has contributions from Slash of Guns 'N Roses, photos from the shows and even tape boxes pictured. But the big news is a double-whammy of new remasters- KEVIN SHIRLEY has handled the album on CD1 while MARTIN PULLAN has done the Encores on CD 2 - and the wallop off these is unbelievable.

What gets you straight away is the separation of the instruments - especially JON LORD on Organ and the Rhythm Section of ROGER GLOVER and IAN PAICE on Bass and Drums respectively. The incendiary guitar pyrotechnics of RITCHIE BLACKMORE and the sheer Classic Rock vocal power of IAN GILLIAN remain intact - but it's the others you now hear when for years they were at the back of the mix. The opener "Highway Star" (from "Machine Head") is a stunner. Before you only heard Blackmore's riffage and slides - now the bass, drums and organ are `there' suddenly too - and man was this band tight - and that organ solo is still a thing of wonder. The lengthy "Child In Time" is hissy in places but it still packs a punch that shows the band at the height of their powers. What can you say about the opening riffs of "Smoke On The Water" - probably the most famous power chords ever played. As the crowd claps and Ian Paice's high-hats and bass drum starts to kick in - now you can really `hear' it.

Always an underappreciate "Fireball" gem - "The Mule" allows both Lord and the boys in the back full reign once the guitars die down - great stuff. Classic Rock doesn't get more butt swaggering than the brilliant "Strange Kind Of Woman" (a single only release in the UK) - and even at nearly ten-minutes it doesn't overstay its welcome. I love the amps buzzing at the beginning of "Lazy" and that ear-splitting Organ solo where you think he's going to beat that instrument into submission no matter what ("Louie Louie") - followed by his brilliant clap-along intro to the song (it sounds so good too). You have to say something at this stage about Blackmore's guitar playing - utterly brilliant - and like Beck - he seemed able to take on any style. At nearly twenty minutes the Side 4 finisher can be a bit much to take but audio-wise - it's much more powerful - the drums and vocals especially (Gillan whipping the crowd into a "come on!" frenzy).

Brilliant - definitive - rocking like Gibraltar - "Made In Japan" has always had a special place in my heart and it's back to stay...

PS: this review is dedicated with affection to MICK KEATING - a Dublin friend of mine who adored this record. He passed away in the Eighties and is buried in the same graveyard as another hero of ours - Phil Lynott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAWDROPPING, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
Took delivery of this on Tuesday. After spending the best part of £80 was wondering if it was money well spent. Having got the original vinyl copy/1st issue cd/remastered double album/21st anniversary triple cd. How many copies do you need.
We all know the tracks and all know the importance of their release and the absolute jaw dropping efficiency of Deep Purple on those 3 nights. Strange Kind Of Woman from the 3rd night is worth the £80 quid alone.
The mix on these is absolutely stunning. I've been comparing all 3 cd versions over the past 2 days. Played through a Quad system. The first thing is the separation of all instruments . Yes having Blackmore on the right and Lord on the left as the audience hears it is a must. What really stands out is the phenomenal work of Paice and Glover. The kick drum from Paice bass runs from Glover are right up there in the mix yet do no detract from Blackmore and Lords performance. Gillian is on fire and is really well placed. You can even hear him running around
The bongos on space trucking and lazy are in there too.
Each scratch of Blackmores pick as he runs it down those strings is there. It's a fantastic tribute to them as musicians at their peak live. What let's th whole thing down is the book it could have been so much better 60 odd pages of quotes and reused photos what we're they thinking. The DVD is great even though the bulk of it has since been shown on BBC 4. The box and other bits are nice additions. But this is all about the music 42 years on I was 6 when this came out and have listened to it since the age of 13. I've never heard a better live album. Even Ritchie messing up Smoke On The Water (twice) cannot detract from the sheer force of this band.
Again the mix is incredible. If you close you eyes you can almost transport yourself there. £80 well spent. If you can't afford it just buy the standard version. History in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Purple, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
The compressed sound of this '1972' mix has sucked all the life out of one of the great recorded live rock performances. Nuances such as the 'helicopter gunship' sound of Ritchie Blackmore's guitar during the intro of 'Highway Star' and the climatic howl of feedback at the conclusion of 'Smoke on the Water' have all but disappeared. What is left is a neutered performance tailored for the ears of the iTunes generation. Shallow Purple sounds like a shade of Farrow & Ball paint which is just as well as listening to this CD is about as exciting as watching paint dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible packaging blunder, 23 May 2014
By 
T. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Just to be clear, this is a review of the 9 LP deluxe box set. One aspect of it at least...

I’ve been posting this around various places but no-one seems interested (least of all the Universal Music Group…). I ordered the 9LP deluxe box set of this - All three gigs plus encores for each gig, each pressed on vinyl as three LP/ five-sided (the sixth side contains no music) sets, each packaged in a gatefold sleeve and contained within an outer box plus book.

It arrived on Monday (thank you Amazon!) and to my astonishment the track listing on the back of each of the three gatefold sleeves, in big, bold type states track two, side one as ‘Somoke On The Water’…

Now, if that were me responsible for the packaging/printing of this expensive item I would have checked and double checked and then checked again that the spelling of this, possibly the most famous rock song on the planet, was correct before sending this for production and again before releasing it to the public…

‘Somoke’ isn’t even a word (at least not one in the English language) so they can’t even blame it on a spell-check error.

Needess to say Universal have declined to comment... This really does taint what is an expensive, 'luxury' item. I would have expected better than this.

What a blunder…!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 9LP Vinyl Box Review - LAZY!!!!, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mr M S Parker (Boston, Lincolnshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is not about the music, which is faultless! This review is solely in reference to this newly released vinyl box.
First off...it's actually 7.5 LP's, due to the fact 3 sides are rather uninspiring etched.
Secondly the atrocious Somoke On the Water misprint is unforgivable. Someone either decided, after realizing their mistake; that no-one would be bothered. It's pretty safe to say anyone buying this is not going to be just a casual Purple fan and like me are going to be p##sed off. Especially after laying out the hefty sum required to acquire this in the first place!
The second option is they noticed their mistake and just couldn't care less.
The final option is no-one noticed at all, which says a lot about the quality of the whole pressing....
Incidentally a number of pressings have Osaka misspelt "Oaska" on the labels (but not the one I received)

I also noticed that the "outer box/" states this was made in the Czech Republic, but the individual album covers state "Made in the EU". But these were actually pressed by GZ Media in the Czech Republic as well.

The third thing I discovered was the appalling quality of the vinyl. Full of blemishes, streaks. You've heard the phrase "Virgin Vinyl"? Well that doesn't apply here. This is poor, low quality wax! Considering the main selling angle here is "Audiophile", this is also unforgivable. Not even poly-lined inners.
Quite a few noticeable clicks and other unwanted audible defects, but strangely no actual visible scratches, so beware.
Even the booklet is as dull as dishwater, nothing informative or interesting, one flick through it's bland pages was enough.
I sent it back without hesitation, and will avoid "Back To Black" releases in the future. Just another greedy company on the 180gram Super-Duper Audiophile Vinyl band wagon.

The remastering is also disappointing and no better than earlier pressings, perhaps even inferior.

The only point of merit is the sturdy good quality outer box...but given the contents, it's small consolation.

So in conclusion....Don't waste your money, this is just a lazy, poorly produced box set, which I so wanted, and now feel is just another missed opportunity.
Sorry, but this is an insult to Jon Lords' memory...Don't buy it...you'll try and be happy with it, and see past the errors/issues, but you'll never cherish it as you should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Blu Ray Audio is NOT in 5.1, 20 May 2014
By 
Stephen E. Andrews "Writer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Blu-ray Audio)
This review is purely for warning purposes. The album is, of course, one of the greatest live rock records ever.

This edition has been advertised in a number of places -inlcuding amazon - as being a 5.1 surround mix. Like the majority of the the Pure Audio Blu RayAudio series, it is NOT in 5.1, just stereo.

This is highly disappointing. Pure Audio have stated that they will issue albums in 5.1 mix where possible, yet they seem to consistently fail to do so. As two other Purple albums have been released on DVD in 4.0 (original quad) mixes, one of them with 3 bonus 5.1 tracks ('Machine Head'), there is no reason why this couldn't have been mixed for 5.1.

Interestingly, the Pure Audio edition of 'Never Mind the Bollocks, here's the Sex Pistols' recorded in 1976/77 is also not in 5.1.

This is simply not good enough. From the inception of hi def audio formats (some 12 years ago at least) - DVDA, DVD, Dualdisc and SACD, 5.1 mixes have been pretty much standard. Given that BRA is supposedly the highest definition audio format yet, it seems incumbent upon this label that they issue albums in 5.1. A stereo layer could be included, since disc space is not an issue here.

But what I really object to is these discs being advertised before release as 5.1. When I've played the stereo mixes in full, I'll review them here - I'm sure they'll sound great and will satisfy stero purists - but when you're buying an album for the third, fourth, fifth time, it would be nice to get a totally new hi-def take on the music.

It's little wonder hi-def formats 'fail' according to the music press - when you're buying an album for the third, fourth, fifth time, a fresh take on the music (best provided by a surround mix) is a big draw for fans. Remember Warner DVD-Audio discs from 12-14 years ago? Even if your player could only access the dolby digital layer, you often got alternative takes with different lyrics -such as on the Alice Cooper discs - or even different takes on the music, as on The Doors album issued in that format.

Going forward, I'm not going to buy any BRA of albums recorded after the late sixties that don't render the music in surround.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 180gram Vinyl Re-issue, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Just received my new and listening to it right now, wow the quality!!
The cartridge was cold when I started playing it and depending on the quality of the sound immediately determines how good it'll be once warm.
Not disappointed in the slightest, if you still have a turntable and like your rock music, this album sounds absolutely amazing by Back To Black Vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Made In Japan" made into Universal confusion, 4 Jun 2014
By 
J. P. Horlock (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan [VINYL] (Vinyl)
And so, after what seems like years of waiting…

Correction! After LITERALLY years of waiting, the previously labelled “40th anniversary” release of Made In Japan has finally arrived. And not without contention, given the apparent confusion about the numerous - and potentially superfluous - formats that have been released. Something that, to be honest, has not been helped by Amazon grouping reviews of all the formats together, which makes it even more difficult to find the review of the format you’re interested in.

So just to be clear, I own the 9 disk vinyl box-set ("Made In Japan [VINYL]") which forms the basis for this review.

Deep Purple’s “Made In Japan” is rightly considered to be one of THE all-time classic live albums and, being more than 40 years old, this re-release will no doubt generate interest from an eclectic range of people. So I thought it might be useful to begin this review with my recommendations for the version that you might like to consider.

1. You aren’t overly familiar with the material and would like to add this “classic album” to your collection. You have a tendency to think that the production value of music has deteriorated over time, and nod knowingly when you read a review that includes the phrases “Loudness War”, “Compressed Waveform” and/or “Kevin Shirley is rubbish”. You should consider the Single CD version (or the standard vinyl version). This includes the 7 track album in remastered form, without any remix tinkering (see * below for disclaimer).

2. Similar to 1, but you’re potentially in a younger demographic and think that Beats Headphones are the pinnacle of audiophile technology. You hate it when an older song starts on Spotify and you can’t hear it properly because it’s so much quieter than the song which played before. You should consider the Double CD version. The 7 original tracks have been remixed by Kevin Shirley, and if there’s a Loudness War to be won, The Caveman’s the man to win it. Nobody, including staff at Universal, actually know why the second disk of all encores from the three shows was included in this set. You may well find it fairly superfluous to your needs; particularly as it includes different versions of the same 3 songs, which have been remixed differently to the main disk; they are at different volume and reverse stereo orientation. Do check out Black Night @ Tokyo, though, which is well worth a listen and deserves to be in any Deep Purple “Best Of”.

3. You've owned this album for ever, and love it so much you want to buy it again. While you might want to consider options 1 or 2 you might also think about digging the original out of the attic and giving it a spin. Was there anything wrong with it before? * Be aware that both the remaster and remix of the “original album” have songs faded into each other (as per 1998 remaster), which was not the case on the original. This has led to some minor(ish) editing and the intro to Child In Time suffers a little due to the faded applause from the previous song.

4. You spend a lot of your life worrying that your reclining theatre chair is possibly a few inches from the stereo sweet-spot in your purpose built hi-fi studio. You know without a shadow of doubt that “Linear pulse-code modulation” is essential to listening pleasure, despite your friends reminding you of the tinnitus you’ve suffered in your left ear since that Rainbow concert in 1980 (before they went all pop-rock). It’s possible that you would consider the HD Blu-ray audio. This includes both remaster of the original and the Kevin Shirley remix, but does not include the encores. Just be aware that this is a stereo, not 5.1, mix and that – depending on location – you may be able to download this via alternative purchase options.

5. You’re a Deep Purple fan or collector who needs to own the full “three concert” set. You’ve spent the last 30 or so years explaining to everyone who will listen that sound waves are analogue, and cannot be adequately represented in a series of 1’s and 0’s on a silver (or blue) disk. You are really, really, prepared for your 9 disk listening extravaganza to be interrupted every 20 minutes or so while you turn over that precious black wax (15 times across the full set). You’re likely to want the set I'm reviewing here, but please do read on…

6. Like 4, you want it all but you are quite happy listening to music in digital form. CD is good enough for home, mp3 is good enough for on the road. You need the 5 disk CD/DVD set. And that’s probably what I should have bought!!!

Well! Now you have my thoughts on the version that might suit you, perhaps I should actually review the product I purchased.

I should start by simply saying that I consider the audio content exceptional. I have loved, loved... “did I say loved?” listening to it. While the 3 disk “Live In Japan” 90’s release had its place at the time, this is so superior and it’s just wonderful to be able to listen to each show seamlessly, with the only break being between main set and encore. I am genuinely so impressed with the work that Martin Pullan has done here. Has anyone else noticed that very faint conversation taking place (in Japanese) during one of quieter moments in Space Truckin’ (Tokyo)? Like a review of any top-tier bottle of red, there will minor quibbles and individual preferences, but overall this is spot on.

As for the music itself, I’m sure that if you’re considering the full three concert set you’ll already be familiar enough with the material; even if just the original. The three shows basically had the same set-list so each is only really differentiated by the improvisations that Purple always worked with and you will no doubt have your own favourites.

So why, then, do I only feel that this set deserves three stars? Well, truth be told, it’s because the overall package left me feeling a little disappointed and flat for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, having read other reviews, there appears to be a reasonable degree of dissatisfaction with the download options. US purchases appear to have no access to downloadable digital formats. For me, I have been able to use the included code to download the full three shows in mp3 format; which is perfect for portable listening. But the HD downloads publicised on the box and on-line advertisements are limited to the equivalent of the Blu-ray (remaster and remix of 7 track original album, without encores). While I wanted the option of listening to the vinyl, I frequently listen to music in digital lossless form at home and believed that this option was available for all of the musical content included on the disks.

Secondly, the box-set inclusions are not that impressive or well designed. The vinyl is packaged in three, oddly coloured (not quite as bad as they appear on the promo pictures) gate-fold sleeves; two disks on one side and one on the other. The “etched” disks are all the same, being the greetings/signatures you may have seen in the original Japanese version. And the only other inclusion is the book, which in this set is soft cover (it’s hard cover in the CD/DVD set). While I’m not totally against the content of this, it could have been better with a bit more research and expert input on the tour/release history. Finally, to my mind, being the most expensive option, it is hard to understand why the inclusions are not as comprehensive or well presented as the CD/DVD set. In particular, why exclude the 7” when this surely compliments a vinyl set more than a CD/DVD?

In hindsight, I shouldn’t have rushed into the pre-ordering quite so quickly, and should have bought the CD/DVD set. You might wish to consider the same.

PS For those interested in the history of the “Loudness War”, conflict began in August 1972 with these words…. “Can we have everything louder than everything else”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE great live albums, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
One of THE great live albums which also functions as a greatest hits set from the days when bands could play. Really play. The album opens with the definitive version of Highway Star. Blackmore has the 3 greatest set openers of all time over his career: This one from 72, Burn from Made in Europe (76) and Kill The King from On Stage (78). All based around a similar power-chord G riff (as is the mighty Smoke), but each one with a twist that makes it unique. The band are practically still tuning up and level checking at the start of Highway Star, which takes form as Paice's snare sets the tempo. When the band all come in together for the 1st time after a flawless drum roll around the kit, its spine chilling. The song builds towards the set piece keys & gtr solos, before the unite in glorious counterpoint. Child In Time, the ultimate power ballad, is a showcase for Ian Gillan's spine chilling (yeah, used it twice) scream. Strange Kind Of Woman is party song about a whore but given beauty and sensitivity by its fab M8. Which brings us to the brilliant Lazy. It was good in the studio but soars live. Jon lord intros with noises that sound like heating pipes in an old school house. Paice establishes a bluesy groove as the band tease around the main riff. And then it drops: An all time killer hard rock classic. Like the whole album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album ever, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Neil S. Wood (Melbourne Vic Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I've listened to a lot of live albums and, in most of them, the excitement of the live concert doesn't translate to the album. This one is an exception. The music is brilliant and actually better than most of their studio recordings. I saw something in the description that said that Rolling Stone had this down as the sixth best live album ever; I'm not aware of any live album better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Japan
Made In Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews