Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for comparative purposes
"Made in Japan" is one of the best live classic rock albums. This boxed set includes the 3 concerts played on the 1972 Japan tour from which the tracks on "Made in Japan" were selected. The set lists for each concert are very similar so there is a lot of triplication here. "Made in Japan" took the best versions of the songs so this collection is only for hard core fans or...
Published on 6 Aug. 2007 by John R. Murdoch

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Purple
The compressed sound of this '1972' mix has sucked all the life out of one of the great recorded live rock performances. Nuances such as the 'helicopter gunship' sound of Ritchie Blackmore's guitar during the intro of 'Highway Star' and the climatic howl of feedback at the conclusion of 'Smoke on the Water' have all but disappeared. What is left is a neutered...
Published 10 months ago by Old Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for comparative purposes, 6 Aug. 2007
By 
John R. Murdoch (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Japan (Audio CD)
"Made in Japan" is one of the best live classic rock albums. This boxed set includes the 3 concerts played on the 1972 Japan tour from which the tracks on "Made in Japan" were selected. The set lists for each concert are very similar so there is a lot of triplication here. "Made in Japan" took the best versions of the songs so this collection is only for hard core fans or sad people like me who want to hear different versions of their favourite songs. I particularly enjoyed hearing Ritchie fluffing the intro to "Smoke on the water" on one of the versions. Was it deliberate? The package comes with a very nice booklet so collectors will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Louder Than Everything else, 8 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
When this was originally released I was only ten, and when a copy appeared in my house, shortly after I was hooked.
And has it stood the test of time? You bet.
This is the definitive live album. No overdubs, just blistering performances all round. Ian Gillan later complained that his own performance was poor but to these ears this is as good as it gets.
Highway Star is a killer set opener featuring brilliant soloing from both Lord and Blackmore. Child In Time follows on, mesmerising, from the subtle keyboard introduction through Gillan's screams and a frantic Madame Butterfly influenced Blackmore guitar fest, right back full circle to the start. Gillan screams even louder second time around leaving the listener exhausted as the track explodes and dies at the end.
Just when you thought the music couldn't get any more involving up pops, probably, the best version of Smoke On The Water captured on album. The band is so tight everything seems perfect. Into the Mule with a typically superb drum solo from Ian Paice. Listening to the Mule lulls the listener in to a relaxed state before the band hit the stratosphere with superb interplay and sonics. Strange Kinda Woman just bounces along and the interplay between vocal and guitar just make you grin, mainly for the sheer tongue-in-cheek attitude. A few screams from Gillan and onwards we go into Lazy, a stunning piece of R'n'B (the real stuff). Lord kicks off with some organ torturing, a bit of jazz and off with the lick. The band is in full flow by now with superb soloing and tightness unsurpassed. Space Truckin' is the set closer complete with more ethereal soling from Lord and Blackmore, incorporating sections from Fools and Mandrake Root. The encores added to this anniversary remaster don't disappoint either. Frenetic versions of Black Night and Speed King just confirm that this was a band at the peak of their powers. A reworking of Lucille finishes it all off and the band are clearly knackered from delivering such a fast paced show. This is still the best live album some 29 years on and I still play it now. There is a triple CD collection with most of the performances from the associated Japanese tour, in some ways to a fanatic that's even better. But this is the original release revamped and timeless. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album I Own, 2 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
A friend showed me this album a while ago and I was very impressed then, though we were playing it so loud I didn't get to hear it properly. So I bought and every time I listen to it I am simply stunned. There is not one bad track on this album, it's as simple as that. The rendition of "Lazy" is nothing short of incredible, though you may want to turn the cacophonous intro down a little to save your eardrums.
One of the great things about this album is the sound quality. Often when you listen to a live track, it can sound gritty or distant. Every song on this sounds brilliant, with an incredible energy to match. The musicianship is nothing short of outstanding - every member sounds on top form (though according to the inside cover, which contains the story of made in Japan and some good photos of the band, Ian Gillan wasn't happy with some of his performances after having just got over bronchitis). Deep Purple show how well they can rock while mucking about like noone else can (see "Lazy" for prime examples of this).
There's two problems with this album, however. Firstly, when you next listen to one of Deep Purple's studio albums, it will sound dull. That's just how good this album is. Secondly, you shouldn't play either disc in your car because you WILL speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAWDROPPING, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
Took delivery of this on Tuesday. After spending the best part of £80 was wondering if it was money well spent. Having got the original vinyl copy/1st issue cd/remastered double album/21st anniversary triple cd. How many copies do you need.
We all know the tracks and all know the importance of their release and the absolute jaw dropping efficiency of Deep Purple on those 3 nights. Strange Kind Of Woman from the 3rd night is worth the £80 quid alone.
The mix on these is absolutely stunning. I've been comparing all 3 cd versions over the past 2 days. Played through a Quad system. The first thing is the separation of all instruments . Yes having Blackmore on the right and Lord on the left as the audience hears it is a must. What really stands out is the phenomenal work of Paice and Glover. The kick drum from Paice bass runs from Glover are right up there in the mix yet do no detract from Blackmore and Lords performance. Gillian is on fire and is really well placed. You can even hear him running around
The bongos on space trucking and lazy are in there too.
Each scratch of Blackmores pick as he runs it down those strings is there. It's a fantastic tribute to them as musicians at their peak live. What let's th whole thing down is the book it could have been so much better 60 odd pages of quotes and reused photos what we're they thinking. The DVD is great even though the bulk of it has since been shown on BBC 4. The box and other bits are nice additions. But this is all about the music 42 years on I was 6 when this came out and have listened to it since the age of 13. I've never heard a better live album. Even Ritchie messing up Smoke On The Water (twice) cannot detract from the sheer force of this band.
Again the mix is incredible. If you close you eyes you can almost transport yourself there. £80 well spent. If you can't afford it just buy the standard version. History in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're only about 4' 6" !!, 21 Dec. 2005
By 
Mark Kirkman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
Live albums were not in rerum natura, as they say. DP took their first tour in Japan seriously, and brought the Rolling Stones mobile with them to record it. No stranger to live recordings (or being bootlegged!) the Mk II line-up was taped on all 3 dates at Osaka and Tokyo. The result was a staggering success, and captured the band's stage show at it's electrifying best. Blistering harmony & unison interplay between Blackmore and Lord, a rhythm section containing the world's best rock drummer in Ian Paice and the hugely underrated Roger Glover on bass was capped off by a storming performance of Ian Gillan's silver throated vocal. Having just recorded "Machine Head" the bulk of the set comes from that LP - but "Child in Time" (from In Rock) is an astonishing testament to how good DP were at the time. The best live rock band on the planet, by some considerable margin. I'm sure there will be a few who will argue that Led Zeppelin had that accolade, but some of their live performances were long-winded and unrehearsed. DP's instrumentals were well crafted, and had some huge cues. If you listen to any of their live stuff in any depth you'll see what I mean. The opener, Highway Star, introduces you to the band and is followed by Child in Time. Nuff said. Smoke on the Water is considered to be the band's most memorable riff by the public (check out any music shop on a Saturday afternoon!) and The Mule is a Paice solo spot. Strange kind of Woman is the standout track for me - Blackmore and Gillan (so often at odds with each other)united on stage with the question and answer phrasing and posturing. Lazy is Jon Lord's tour de force. The LP is finished off with a rousing 20 minutes of "Space Truckin' - a bit of everything in this, really, and a very powerful set closer. I listened to this as a 13 year-old when it was released, and my opinion has not diminished over 30 years. Best Live Album - Ever. Bar none. The later releases contain some of the encores "Lucille" "Back Night" and "Speed King" but the core 7 tracks tell you who this band are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic live rock album., 24 Feb. 2000
By 
Charles Bennett (Canterbury, Kent, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
This has to be simply the best live album of it's genre. The quality of the recording is nothing short of sensational and given that it is dated 1971 this just makes it all the more remarkable. The playing is simply Purple at their best; technically unbeatable and full of controlled energy. All of the classics are here - it is difficult to single out high points or outstanding tracks as there as so many. Each rendition is the definitive version of that song for most Purple fans. A must have for all Purple followers and for those who enjoy top-quality musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this quite simply the best Live album ever......., 14 July 2010
This review is from: Live In Japan (Audio CD)
Wow! in triplicate as well, this was the first time I had heard any form of rock music and as soon as my cousin played me the original Made In Japan back in Christmas 1972, I was instantly hooked..... From the energy of Highway Star to the mid solo's of Child in Time, down to the atmosphere of Space Truckin' this album is quite simply THE album to buy. To now enjoy this with all the Japanese concerts with all the mistakes thrown is an absolute must and definitely a real bargain. As the definitive DP line up Messr's Gillan, Glover, Lord, Paice and Blackmore have never sounded better and indeed it is the sponteneity and brilliance of their playing which makes this a real stand out. I know this phase is over used but this is "quite simply The best live album ever" if you are a true rock fan then you should already have the original but to miss this bargain is a real tragedy!..Enjoy and turn it up....."We alllll went down to Montreaux....."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep! It's Still Good!, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
John GG Lancashire "John Lancashire" (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (MP3 Download)
Back in 1976 the 4th album I ever bought, all because there was this guy at school who hammered out 'Smoke on the Water' every lunchtime on the music room piano. I blame you for my lifelong love of rock music by introducing me to an absolute corker.

I've just been bought this on CD for Christmas and it's reminded me how, along with: Frampton Comes Alive; James Brown at the Apollo; BB King at the Apollo; The Doors Absolutely Live; Bob Dylan/The Band Before the Flood; Leonard Cohen Live in London how engaging and exciting the the best live albums are. Frequently dismissed as contractually obligated alternatives to 'Best of ..' sets, when they're this good you almost feel privileged to be witness to the next best thing to actually being there. Every track here is more exciting and involving than the studio original. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it is the best Live Album you will ever hear in the whole of Human, 16 July 2008
By 
Fiona Jameson "You know what they say about p... (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
It's official the Devil does have the best music. Because Deep Purple must have sold their souls to sound this good, you don't believe me? Then just listen to Made in Japan. No five human beings ever sounded like this and remember this is live, no overdubs, no dropping in of solos, no sampling, backing tapes or additional musicians. Just five guys playing the best Hard Rock you will ever hear, live, no retakes it's as it happened.

Plenty of bands have come and gone and plenty have tried to take the title but no one ever will. Not because they are less talented nor because they are not trying, but simply because you cannot surpass perfection.

There are some negative comments about the encores, but they are exactly that, encores, after giving everything they could give the band give just a little more. What is even more remarkable is that Deep Purple often
performed for going on two hours. None of this 45mins and then 'thank you and goodnight', like an awful lot of bands get away with now. They had also just arrived in Japan, so were jet lagged and Ian Gillan was still
recovering from a sore throat! But all of that just makes the performance on this album all the more incredible.

Oh and lest we forget it contains the best adlib ever: 'Can we have everything louder than everything else!' How fitting for a band that once held the record for being the loudest in the world.

But it is not just shear volume without shade, colour or subtlety, like an awful lot of the bands that followed. Here you have technically proficient, highly talented individuals who learned their craft the hard way and came together to create something far greater than its already significant parts.

This really is as good as it gets, so sit back, enjoy and marvel at what members of the human race are capable of in occasional, brief and yet exceptionally sublime moments in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect....., 1 Jun. 2013
By 
MIJ6689 (Sunderland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live In Japan (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful insight into the live side of what is arguably the best lineup of the best British rock band of the 70's - and any other period, in my humble opinion. Only four stars though, but see why below.

Deep Purples' studio albums were an important part of my young teens, and when 'Made in Japan' was first released I, and many others were blown away by how tight the band were in the live situation as the album notes boasted no overdubs, or something of that ilk. I waited until very recently with this release to be able to confirm that was indeed the case.
This 3 CD set features the vast majority of the three concerts that were used in the production of MIJ, and it is fascinating to see how different each version is, and in so many ways. It seems neither Blackmore or John Lord play the same solo or intro twice, and while it is clear why the versions that made it onto MIJ were chosen - the odd mistake including Blackmores intros to BOTH included versions of Smoke - the content is never less than marvellous.

I do however have three criticisms hence the four stars.

Firstly, why isn't every encore featured?I know that most have appeared elsewhere over the years, but hearing them in the context of the concert they were played at would add even more to the release. Lucille (only played at the second Osaka concert) for instance is not included, though at least one performance of Black Night and Speed King is present. As it is clear that space on the CD has been an issue, do we really need all three full versions of Space Truckin' (comprising over 60 mins in total)?
Secondly, why is the Man in Black so low in the mix? Jon Lords Hammond frequently overpowers what Ritchie is doing, and as he never does the same thing twice, this is a bit of a disappointment.

Finally, and apologies again for whinging about what is otherwise a brilliant release; Roger Glovers bass is indistinct throughout. The enclosed booklet states that the mix is intended to mirror the Bands concert sound, but personally, I like to hear the bass, and not just a rumble in the background - the Rickenbacker buzz, if you will. this is particularly audible and clear on MIJ especially on Smoke, and Child in Time.

The booklet contains lots of detail, and even though it doesn't reveal anything that I didn't already know, it is an excellent addition to what is a must-have for any purple aficionado. The set is available at a brilliant price and If you have any interest in mk2 Deep Purple, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Japan
Made In Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews