Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Japan Re-Mastered Edition CD & Vinyl 1998
The best live rock album ever released? If not then it must be very close. I have collected so many versions over the years and currently have remaining the original vinyl, re-mastered CD & vinyl versions and the expanded `Live in Japan' CD set. My treasured possession is the original 2LP vinyl set which is still sounding good after all the years. I was lucky enough to...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by P. Kelly

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible packaging blunder
Just to be clear, this is a review of the 9 LP deluxe box set. One aspect of it at least...

I’ve been posting this around various places but no-one seems interested (least of all the Universal Music Group…). I ordered the 9LP deluxe box set of this - All three gigs plus encores for each gig, each pressed on vinyl as three LP/ five-sided (the sixth...
Published 3 months ago by T. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Japan Re-Mastered Edition CD & Vinyl 1998, 21 Nov 2009
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
The best live rock album ever released? If not then it must be very close. I have collected so many versions over the years and currently have remaining the original vinyl, re-mastered CD & vinyl versions and the expanded `Live in Japan' CD set. My treasured possession is the original 2LP vinyl set which is still sounding good after all the years. I was lucky enough to see them perform many of these tracks live in Feb 73 during the last UK tour before the MK2 version broke-up.

This re-mastered edition has three encore tracks included that were not on the original album. (two of which I understand have not been previously released). These three encore tracks clearly add further interest and enjoyment to the album, but their sound quality on both formats is not as good as the seven original tracks.

The original vinyl version has a wider dynamic sound range than the re-mastered vinyl version, which sounds compressed in comparison. The vinyl weight of this re-mastered version is 132g vs 120g of the original. This is one of the few occasions I prefer a re-mastered CD version over the equivalent re-mastered vinyl version (even as a real die hard vinyl freak) as overall it is much better in terms of cost/performance balance. I think the audio quality of this 1998 CD version is slightly better vs the same tracks on the `Live in Japan' CD recordings as it sounds sharper and clearer. If you want this album on vinyl my recommendation is to seek out a good quality second-hand original 1972 copy with the attractive gold coloured cover.

What makes Made in Japan still sound so good 37years after release? Well you had a very special band at their peak with five brilliant musicians capturing a live improvised energy that could not be heard to the same intensity on studio albums. It is really amazing it was recorded on very basic equipment. It is really `the very best of'' Deep Purple MK2 even more so on this edition with `Black Night' and `Speed King' added. It really stands the test of time. Sounding as fresh and alive today as it did back in 1972. Absolutely brilliant, just turn up the volume `louder than everything else' and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Louder Than Everything else, 8 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
When this was originally released I was only ten, and when a copy appeared in my house, shortly after I was hooked.
And has it stood the test of time? You bet.
This is the definitive live album. No overdubs, just blistering performances all round. Ian Gillan later complained that his own performance was poor but to these ears this is as good as it gets.
Highway Star is a killer set opener featuring brilliant soloing from both Lord and Blackmore. Child In Time follows on, mesmerising, from the subtle keyboard introduction through Gillan's screams and a frantic Madame Butterfly influenced Blackmore guitar fest, right back full circle to the start. Gillan screams even louder second time around leaving the listener exhausted as the track explodes and dies at the end.
Just when you thought the music couldn't get any more involving up pops, probably, the best version of Smoke On The Water captured on album. The band is so tight everything seems perfect. Into the Mule with a typically superb drum solo from Ian Paice. Listening to the Mule lulls the listener in to a relaxed state before the band hit the stratosphere with superb interplay and sonics. Strange Kinda Woman just bounces along and the interplay between vocal and guitar just make you grin, mainly for the sheer tongue-in-cheek attitude. A few screams from Gillan and onwards we go into Lazy, a stunning piece of R'n'B (the real stuff). Lord kicks off with some organ torturing, a bit of jazz and off with the lick. The band is in full flow by now with superb soloing and tightness unsurpassed. Space Truckin' is the set closer complete with more ethereal soling from Lord and Blackmore, incorporating sections from Fools and Mandrake Root. The encores added to this anniversary remaster don't disappoint either. Frenetic versions of Black Night and Speed King just confirm that this was a band at the peak of their powers. A reworking of Lucille finishes it all off and the band are clearly knackered from delivering such a fast paced show. This is still the best live album some 29 years on and I still play it now. There is a triple CD collection with most of the performances from the associated Japanese tour, in some ways to a fanatic that's even better. But this is the original release revamped and timeless. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the album in general., 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Blu-ray Audio)
The True HD track has glitches at the beginning of Highway Star which makes it unlistenable but the DTS and PCM tracks seem to be OK or is it just my copy?

Why is it every time these record companies release Hi Def version they are usually full of glitches and errors.......Floyd,Tull etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live and definately Kicking, 17 Jan 2003
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
This was the album that really inspired me to play drums/guitar in fact music in general. I was never really into music at all until my Dad put this album on when I was about 7, from that moment on it grabbed my soul, I can remember the stereo-typical scenario, the young boy in front of the mirror with a hairbrush, yes that was me, at that time my voice could go high enough to match Ian Gillain's.
What I find really great about this album is the fact that it is basically a whole live tour, and the best live tour as far as I am concerned.
If you are a fan of rock music I am sure you have probably already heard this CD if not what are you waiting for, order it, wait for it, play it as loud as possible, (and yes sing in front of the mirror with a hairbrush like I did that many years ago.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Live performance !!! A must buy !!, 11 Mar 2006
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
My knowledge of Rock, especially seventies rock is limited, but I was blown away by this album. The quality of music played in a live concert was astounding. The high point of the Album for me was the encore performance on Black Night, the hypnotic bass line and incredible keyboard and guitar play have to be experienced.
Buy this Album and play it full blast while stuck in those traffic jams, you wont care about being late !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Live Album, 20 Oct 2005
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
I'm not usually a fan of live albums. However, this live album is unlike any other that I own. Usually, on a live recording the sound isn't anywhere as near as full as you would get in the studio and often you get the singer leaving lines out for the crowd to sing (which I find very annoying!). "Made in Japan" sees Deep Purple playing a selection of their best songs with a sound that is fuller and heavier than on their excellent studio recordings. Highlights inlude the opener "Highway Star," "Space Truckin'," "Strange Kind of Woman" and of course "Smoke on the Water" and "Black Knight." In naming highlights, I almost mentioned the whole album which is testament to how good this CD is. Organ and Guitar solos spiral off all over the place and the band are extremely tight. There is really nothing else I can say except this album is really superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple...Live in Japan,, 16 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
Arrrrgh it's Big T. here!!, aged 32 rediscovering my youth from my happy school days of the 1980's, I bought this cd a couple of weeks ago on the strength of my studio recordings by Purple, and I was not disappointed. Far from it, you can clearly see that Deep Purple were one of the best "Live" acts in history, the "Smoke on the water" is fantastic, each instrument entering with a staggered delay giving a wonderful sound. Ian Paice is a drummer of excellence, one of the top men...grossly underrated. "Speed King", "Space Truckin'" and the superb "Child in time" this time with a slightly different Blackmore guitar solo, I must say the studio "Child in time" is better but the live version is pretty awesome too!! A veritable foot tapping and head bangin' feast. Need I say more!! Go get some!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock to beat, 30 April 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
This is one of the best, if not THE best live album by any 70's rock band.

The atmosphere on this album is electric throughout. Listen to the start of Highway Star, the band changes gear a couple of times and delivers a stunning performance - the whole place is rocking.

The sign of a great live album is that some of the versions on Live In Japan are better than the studio originals. One such track being the overplayed Smoke on the Water.

The mk II line-up of Deep Purple was fantastic. Blackmore and Lord repeatedly deliver brilliant solos, Gillan's voice is amazing and Ian Paice still remains one of the best rock drummers (playing with McCartney in the late 1990's).

The set has subsequently become a greatest hits album by default.

The 2nd CD contains 3 encore tracks which are a bit of a mixed bag. I had a far better version of Lucille on an LP many years ago, but this is a minor quibble as overall this album represents a great band at its peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life or death album, 16 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. C. J. Bunyan "jak_amneziak" (Luton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
The lead vocalist impersonating the lead guitarist. The drummer having what appears to be a heart attck for a drum solo, the track of 20 minutes long and still thi is the best live album in history by any band ever. It rocks liek a ton of pebbles in a hammock and is without question the MUST GET album inrock history. do your stereo a favour an dbuy this double disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're only about 4' 6" !!, 21 Dec 2005
By 
Mark Kirkman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
Live albums were not in rerum natura, as they say. DP took their first tour in Japan seriously, and brought the Rolling Stones mobile with them to record it. No stranger to live recordings (or being bootlegged!) the Mk II line-up was taped on all 3 dates at Osaka and Tokyo. The result was a staggering success, and captured the band's stage show at it's electrifying best. Blistering harmony & unison interplay between Blackmore and Lord, a rhythm section containing the world's best rock drummer in Ian Paice and the hugely underrated Roger Glover on bass was capped off by a storming performance of Ian Gillan's silver throated vocal. Having just recorded "Machine Head" the bulk of the set comes from that LP - but "Child in Time" (from In Rock) is an astonishing testament to how good DP were at the time. The best live rock band on the planet, by some considerable margin. I'm sure there will be a few who will argue that Led Zeppelin had that accolade, but some of their live performances were long-winded and unrehearsed. DP's instrumentals were well crafted, and had some huge cues. If you listen to any of their live stuff in any depth you'll see what I mean. The opener, Highway Star, introduces you to the band and is followed by Child in Time. Nuff said. Smoke on the Water is considered to be the band's most memorable riff by the public (check out any music shop on a Saturday afternoon!) and The Mule is a Paice solo spot. Strange kind of Woman is the standout track for me - Blackmore and Gillan (so often at odds with each other)united on stage with the question and answer phrasing and posturing. Lazy is Jon Lord's tour de force. The LP is finished off with a rousing 20 minutes of "Space Truckin' - a bit of everything in this, really, and a very powerful set closer. I listened to this as a 13 year-old when it was released, and my opinion has not diminished over 30 years. Best Live Album - Ever. Bar none. The later releases contain some of the encores "Lucille" "Back Night" and "Speed King" but the core 7 tracks tell you who this band are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Japan
Made In Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews