Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Japan Re-Mastered Edition CD & Vinyl 1998
The best live rock album ever released? If not then it must be very close. I have collected so many versions over the years and currently have remaining the original vinyl, re-mastered CD & vinyl versions and the expanded `Live in Japan' CD set. My treasured possession is the original 2LP vinyl set which is still sounding good after all the years. I was lucky enough to...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by P. Kelly

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Endorses Made In Japan as the Best Selection
Listened to this quite a few times over the years and for me this just emphasises that whomever put together Made In Japan, did a great job!

Every song on this album is a inferior (sometimes vastly) rendition to that on Made In Japan. In particular Space Truckin is not in the same league as that hallowed album.

On top of that you have the awful...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Japan Re-Mastered Edition CD & Vinyl 1998, 21 Nov 2009
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
The best live rock album ever released? If not then it must be very close. I have collected so many versions over the years and currently have remaining the original vinyl, re-mastered CD & vinyl versions and the expanded `Live in Japan' CD set. My treasured possession is the original 2LP vinyl set which is still sounding good after all the years. I was lucky enough to see them perform many of these tracks live in Feb 73 during the last UK tour before the MK2 version broke-up.

This re-mastered edition has three encore tracks included that were not on the original album. (two of which I understand have not been previously released). These three encore tracks clearly add further interest and enjoyment to the album, but their sound quality on both formats is not as good as the seven original tracks.

The original vinyl version has a wider dynamic sound range than the re-mastered vinyl version, which sounds compressed in comparison. The vinyl weight of this re-mastered version is 132g vs 120g of the original. This is one of the few occasions I prefer a re-mastered CD version over the equivalent re-mastered vinyl version (even as a real die hard vinyl freak) as overall it is much better in terms of cost/performance balance. I think the audio quality of this 1998 CD version is slightly better vs the same tracks on the `Live in Japan' CD recordings as it sounds sharper and clearer. If you want this album on vinyl my recommendation is to seek out a good quality second-hand original 1972 copy with the attractive gold coloured cover.

What makes Made in Japan still sound so good 37years after release? Well you had a very special band at their peak with five brilliant musicians capturing a live improvised energy that could not be heard to the same intensity on studio albums. It is really amazing it was recorded on very basic equipment. It is really `the very best of'' Deep Purple MK2 even more so on this edition with `Black Night' and `Speed King' added. It really stands the test of time. Sounding as fresh and alive today as it did back in 1972. Absolutely brilliant, just turn up the volume `louder than everything else' and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for comparative purposes, 6 Aug 2007
By 
John R. Murdoch (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Japan (Audio CD)
"Made in Japan" is one of the best live classic rock albums. This boxed set includes the 3 concerts played on the 1972 Japan tour from which the tracks on "Made in Japan" were selected. The set lists for each concert are very similar so there is a lot of triplication here. "Made in Japan" took the best versions of the songs so this collection is only for hard core fans or sad people like me who want to hear different versions of their favourite songs. I particularly enjoyed hearing Ritchie fluffing the intro to "Smoke on the water" on one of the versions. Was it deliberate? The package comes with a very nice booklet so collectors will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it is the best Live Album you will ever hear in the whole of Human, 16 July 2008
By 
Fiona Jameson "You know what they say about p... (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
It's official the Devil does have the best music. Because Deep Purple must have sold their souls to sound this good, you don't believe me? Then just listen to Made in Japan. No five human beings ever sounded like this and remember this is live, no overdubs, no dropping in of solos, no sampling, backing tapes or additional musicians. Just five guys playing the best Hard Rock you will ever hear, live, no retakes it's as it happened.

Plenty of bands have come and gone and plenty have tried to take the title but no one ever will. Not because they are less talented nor because they are not trying, but simply because you cannot surpass perfection.

There are some negative comments about the encores, but they are exactly that, encores, after giving everything they could give the band give just a little more. What is even more remarkable is that Deep Purple often
performed for going on two hours. None of this 45mins and then 'thank you and goodnight', like an awful lot of bands get away with now. They had also just arrived in Japan, so were jet lagged and Ian Gillan was still
recovering from a sore throat! But all of that just makes the performance on this album all the more incredible.

Oh and lest we forget it contains the best adlib ever: 'Can we have everything louder than everything else!' How fitting for a band that once held the record for being the loudest in the world.

But it is not just shear volume without shade, colour or subtlety, like an awful lot of the bands that followed. Here you have technically proficient, highly talented individuals who learned their craft the hard way and came together to create something far greater than its already significant parts.

This really is as good as it gets, so sit back, enjoy and marvel at what members of the human race are capable of in occasional, brief and yet exceptionally sublime moments in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Louder Than Everything else, 8 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
When this was originally released I was only ten, and when a copy appeared in my house, shortly after I was hooked.
And has it stood the test of time? You bet.
This is the definitive live album. No overdubs, just blistering performances all round. Ian Gillan later complained that his own performance was poor but to these ears this is as good as it gets.
Highway Star is a killer set opener featuring brilliant soloing from both Lord and Blackmore. Child In Time follows on, mesmerising, from the subtle keyboard introduction through Gillan's screams and a frantic Madame Butterfly influenced Blackmore guitar fest, right back full circle to the start. Gillan screams even louder second time around leaving the listener exhausted as the track explodes and dies at the end.
Just when you thought the music couldn't get any more involving up pops, probably, the best version of Smoke On The Water captured on album. The band is so tight everything seems perfect. Into the Mule with a typically superb drum solo from Ian Paice. Listening to the Mule lulls the listener in to a relaxed state before the band hit the stratosphere with superb interplay and sonics. Strange Kinda Woman just bounces along and the interplay between vocal and guitar just make you grin, mainly for the sheer tongue-in-cheek attitude. A few screams from Gillan and onwards we go into Lazy, a stunning piece of R'n'B (the real stuff). Lord kicks off with some organ torturing, a bit of jazz and off with the lick. The band is in full flow by now with superb soloing and tightness unsurpassed. Space Truckin' is the set closer complete with more ethereal soling from Lord and Blackmore, incorporating sections from Fools and Mandrake Root. The encores added to this anniversary remaster don't disappoint either. Frenetic versions of Black Night and Speed King just confirm that this was a band at the peak of their powers. A reworking of Lucille finishes it all off and the band are clearly knackered from delivering such a fast paced show. This is still the best live album some 29 years on and I still play it now. There is a triple CD collection with most of the performances from the associated Japanese tour, in some ways to a fanatic that's even better. But this is the original release revamped and timeless. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Endorses Made In Japan as the Best Selection, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Live In Japan (MP3 Download)
Listened to this quite a few times over the years and for me this just emphasises that whomever put together Made In Japan, did a great job!

Every song on this album is a inferior (sometimes vastly) rendition to that on Made In Japan. In particular Space Truckin is not in the same league as that hallowed album.

On top of that you have the awful remastering job that was done on these tapes. Glovers bass is all but inaudible at times (check the solo on Space Truckin, if you can hear it at all) and Blackmore's Guitar sounds like he is a quarter mile recessed from the rest of the band. Yes the sound is cleaner and certainly in terms of drums and keyboards much punchier, but the overall balance is pretty bad. Much like the remastered Made In Japan in fact!

Do yourself a favour and listen to Made in Japan on vinyl or the original CD version and only purchase this if you have a much deeper interest in the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock to beat, 30 April 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
This is one of the best, if not THE best live album by any 70's rock band.

The atmosphere on this album is electric throughout. Listen to the start of Highway Star, the band changes gear a couple of times and delivers a stunning performance - the whole place is rocking.

The sign of a great live album is that some of the versions on Live In Japan are better than the studio originals. One such track being the overplayed Smoke on the Water.

The mk II line-up of Deep Purple was fantastic. Blackmore and Lord repeatedly deliver brilliant solos, Gillan's voice is amazing and Ian Paice still remains one of the best rock drummers (playing with McCartney in the late 1990's).

The set has subsequently become a greatest hits album by default.

The 2nd CD contains 3 encore tracks which are a bit of a mixed bag. I had a far better version of Lucille on an LP many years ago, but this is a minor quibble as overall this album represents a great band at its peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...This One's Called..." - Made In Japan by DEEP PURPLE (2014 Universal 2CD Remasters), 7 Nov 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
There's a word that jumps to mind as you are assaulted by the first minute of "Highway Star" on Disc 1 - and that word is 'awesome'. It's a corny statement I know when it comes to hairy-assed reprobate Rock bands at the best of times. But like Little Feat, Thin Lizzy and The Allman Brothers - Deep Purple were always a muted thing in the studio. But come the live event - the Purps Mark II were a truly astounding thing to behold - a beast unleashed. And this fabulous 2014 Deluxe Edition 2CD sonic upgrade of one the great live albums of all time is only going to make matters worse for our aged and acing head-banging necks. I swear - this thing comes at you like a High Sea's Pirate who hasn't had rum or a woman for a month and has just landed at Portsmouth with a day pass from Black Beard - it's ready to rock and you'd better step aside pal...

UK released May 2014 - this new version of "Made In Japan" comes in a VINYL variant, a 2CD issue and a DELUXE 4-disc Box Set. This review is for the 2CD issue on Universal/Purple 3769640 (Barcode 0602537696406) and it breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (Purple 3769641) - 76:08 minutes:
1. Highway Star
2. Child In Time
3. Smoke On The Water [Side 2]
4. The Mule
5. Strange Kind Of Woman [Side 3]
6. Lazy
7. Space Truckin' [Side 4]
Tracks 1 to 7 are the double-live album "Made In Japan" - released December 1972 in the UK on Purple Records TPSP 351 and April 1973 in the USA on Warner Brothers 2WS 2701. Tracks 1, 2, 5 and 7 were recorded in Osaka on 16 August 1972, 3 was on 15 August 1972 with 4 and 6 done on 17 August 1972.

Disc 2 (Purple 3769642) - 46:50 minutes:
ENCORES:
1. Black Night
2. Speed King (both 15 August 1972)
3. Black Night
4. Lucille (both 16 August 1972)
5. Black Night
6. Speed King (both 17 August 1972)

I can remember buying my copy at Christmas in December 1972 enticed by that great sleeve and the 'specially priced at £3.10 for a double' sticker (single albums were this price at the time). They even claimed in trade press adverts that it was 'the best live recording ever made' - and when I got it home and plopped into on trusty Garrard SP25 - they weren't joking. So what's different?

The 1998 EMI 2CD reissue featured a PETER MEW remaster from original tapes (done at Abbey Road) with CD2 giving us only 3 of the "Encore" tracks (4, 5 and 6 on Disc 2 above). It had different artwork and a pretty good 16-page booklet with excellent liner notes from SIMON ROBINSON. MALCOM DOME takes over the reign for the liner notes on this new version, the original gold artwork of the LP is reinstated on the fold-out card digipak and the inner gatefold of the digipak apes the original vinyl issue from all those years ago (all much to the delight of fans). There's even 3 new tracks added onto CD2 completing the Encores and the new 16-page booklet has contributions from Slash of Guns 'N Roses, photos from the shows and even tape boxes pictured. But the big news is a double-whammy of new remasters- KEVIN SHIRLEY has handled the album on CD1 while MARTIN PULLAN has done the Encores on CD 2 - and the wallop off these is unbelievable.

What gets you straight away is the separation of the instruments - especially JON LORD on Organ and the Rhythm Section of ROGER GLOVER and IAN PAICE on Bass and Drums respectively. The incendiary guitar pyrotechnics of RITCHIE BLACKMORE and the sheer Classic Rock vocal power of IAN GILLIAN remain intact - but it's the others you now hear when for years they were at the back of the mix. The opener "Highway Star" (from "Machine Head") is a stunner. Before you only heard Blackmore's riffage and slides - now the bass, drums and organ are `there' suddenly too - and man was this band tight - and that organ solo is still a thing of wonder. The lengthy "Child In Time" is hissy in places but it still packs a punch that shows the band at the height of their powers. What can you say about the opening riffs of "Smoke On The Water" - probably the most famous power chords ever played. As the crowd claps and Ian Paice's high-hats and bass drum starts to kick in - now you can really `hear' it.

Always an underappreciate "Fireball" gem - "The Mule" allows both Lord and the boys in the back full reign once the guitars die down - great stuff. Classic Rock doesn't get more butt swaggering than the brilliant "Strange Kind Of Woman" (a single only release in the UK) - and even at nearly ten-minutes it doesn't overstay its welcome. I love the amps buzzing at the beginning of "Lazy" and that ear-splitting Organ solo where you think he's going to beat that instrument into submission no matter what ("Louie Louie") - followed by his brilliant clap-along intro to the song (it sounds so good too). You have to say something at this stage about Blackmore's guitar playing - utterly brilliant - and like Beck - he seemed able to take on any style. At nearly twenty minutes the Side 4 finisher can be a bit much to take but audio-wise - it's much more powerful - the drums and vocals especially (Gillan whipping the crowd into a "come on!" frenzy).

Brilliant - definitive - rocking like Gibraltar - "Made In Japan" has always had a special place in my heart and it's back to stay...

PS: this review is dedicated with affection to MICK KEATING - a Dublin friend of mine who adored this record. He passed away in the Eighties and is buried in the same graveyard as another hero of ours - Phil Lynott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album EVER!!!, 5 Nov 2009
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
A friend of mine introduced me to this album about 3 months after it came out and I was totally blown away. SInce then I have owned the album on Tape, Vinyl and CD and pretty much worn them all out.

The album kicks off with a storming version of "Highway Star" which sets the tone for everything that follows. Five musicians absolutely at the top of their game determined to deliver a stunning set and boy do they deliver! I know that the album is culled from 3 seperate performances, but having got the full 3 CD set of all the performances I can assure you that the standard of musicianship is equally as high throughout.

One sign of a good live band is can they make the songs sound better live than in the studio and in this case the answer is a resounding "yes and then some", so much so that for me (and many others) these are the definitive version of each of the songs.

It doesn't matter how old you are, this album is an absolute must for any rock lovers collection. These days I drive taxi's and lots of young kids get in the cab and ask me to play some rock music for them. This is always my first choice and usually results in the kids saying they have to buy the album, adding that they never realised how good Deep Purple were (tragically many of them have never even heard of them)

For me Purple always were and always will be the greatest rock band ever. I have seen them many times over the years and they still rock, however this is when they were at their absolute peak, absolutely magical. Even after nearly forty years, the music still sounds fresh and exciting and as a guitar player Blackmore's soloing makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

All of the tracks are incredible, but for me "Lazy" is just awesome.

Not only the best "live" album ever, but THE BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIME bar none.

Turn up the volume and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best live rock album ever recorded, 21 Jan 2008
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
From the first tension-building fade-in of Highway Star to the stunned seconds of audience silence at the end of Space Truckin', Made in Japan is without a doubt Deep Purple's finest hour. Nothing they recorded before or since, separately or solo, comes close to matching the virtuosity, the effortless musicianship, or the totally infectious atmosphere of this record.

Much of the album's unique magic is due to the technical genius of engineer Martin Birch (who was later responsible for the great but not-quite-so-seminal Iron Maiden's Live After Death). Despite being recorded well over 30 years ago, the clarity and separation on the album is truly astonishing. Many live recordings made today sound dull and muddy in comparison.

The seven epic tracks which make up the core of the album all have their own charm, from the historic crunching riffs of Smoke on the Water to the playfulness of Lazy, though perhaps The Mule is a bit of a throwaway filler. Nevertheless, it serves as a vehicle for a terrific Ian Paice drum solo and breaks up the album nicely.

This has been my favourite album now for over 30 years. I must have listened it hundreds of times, yet still find something fresh on every listen, and the solos still make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. If you like Deep Purple but don't own this album, then you really haven't discovered the band. If this is only the Deep Purple album you own, beware, as everything else will be a disappointment by comparison. If you don't own a Deep Purple album and don't think you would like them, buy this anyway and you may well change your mind. And finally, if you're an aspiring guitarist in any genre, your education could not possibly be complete until you own a copy of Made in Japan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Live Album, 20 Oct 2005
This review is from: Made In Japan (Audio CD)
I'm not usually a fan of live albums. However, this live album is unlike any other that I own. Usually, on a live recording the sound isn't anywhere as near as full as you would get in the studio and often you get the singer leaving lines out for the crowd to sing (which I find very annoying!). "Made in Japan" sees Deep Purple playing a selection of their best songs with a sound that is fuller and heavier than on their excellent studio recordings. Highlights inlude the opener "Highway Star," "Space Truckin'," "Strange Kind of Woman" and of course "Smoke on the Water" and "Black Knight." In naming highlights, I almost mentioned the whole album which is testament to how good this CD is. Organ and Guitar solos spiral off all over the place and the band are extremely tight. There is really nothing else I can say except this album is really superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Japan
Made In Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews