Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AN ELECTRIC ACTION-PACKED BLOCK-BUSTER'
Those that watched the first of the series will remember the electric action throughout the film.
This movie see's rookie cop 'Rama' go under-cover as his attempts to return to a normal
existence with his family looks increasingly unlikely.
His fame after his earlier exploits has made him and his family a target.
'Rama' agrees to go under-cover by...
Published 17 days ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT GREAT. DVD HAS COMMENTARY.
It's way too long but stick with it as the last shot is a doozy
Raid 1 was good v evil, cops v robbers so you knew where you stood
This is a mish-mash of nasty types who you don't give two hoots for and I think there lies the rub
Still worth a rent.
Published 13 days ago by Vlad the emailer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AN ELECTRIC ACTION-PACKED BLOCK-BUSTER', 12 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Those that watched the first of the series will remember the electric action throughout the film.
This movie see's rookie cop 'Rama' go under-cover as his attempts to return to a normal
existence with his family looks increasingly unlikely.
His fame after his earlier exploits has made him and his family a target.
'Rama' agrees to go under-cover by becoming a prisoner in jail to infiltrate a criminal organisation,
if he'd refused the task, his safety and that of his family could not be guaranteed.
In jail he has to gain the confidence of syndicate bosses son 'Uco' who is serving a stretch inside.
Two years have passed, 'Rama' is released, 'Uco' awaiting him, 'Uco' wants to take 'Rama' to
see his father 'Bangun' so he could be thanked for watching out for his son in jail.
'Rama' now has to gain the confidence of the syndicate boss showing that he can be trusted and
will be an asset to the syndicate.
'He's in, now he has to set about doing the job he's there for, collect enough evidence to bring them
down.
'Uco' is growing impatient with his father, he wants more responsibility, but 'Bangun' is not ready to
pass the reigns of the business over, a powder-keg that's not lost on 'Rama'
'Uco' is arranging with a rival syndicate boss to start a war with his fathers organisation after ten
years of peace between them, of course 'Rama' a cop, is stuck slap bang in the middle of it.
'Rama' at this stage feels he's gathered enough evidence to bring the syndicates down, his superior
doesn't agree.
With countless action (martial-art) sequences, great stunts, blood and guts splattered everywhere along
with a terrific car-chase episode the film barely lets you surface for breath, and just when you think there
can be no more action it ups the tempo again.
This film has more substance than the first film, a stronger story-line and an extra yard of action, it's not
a film to miss.
The film can be played in it's original form with Indonesian audio with or without English subtitles or in
English Dub.......the latter certainly more credible than days of old.
Special Features -
* Feature commentary with director Gareth Evans.
* The next chapter - shooting a sequel.
* Ready for a fight - on location.
* Deleted scene.
* Gang war.
* Cinefamily foundation Q and A with Gareth Evans, Iko Uwais and Joe Trapanese.
* Violent ballet - behind the choreography.
* U.K exclusive Q and A with Gareth Evans and Iko Uwais and Yayan Ruhian.
*
se
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Raid 2" a review, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
“The Raid 2” is of course the follow up to nonstop action extravaganza “The Raid”. The story of the first raid is a rather simple one a guy goes into a building and beats up a whole bunch of people and that’s pretty much it

But what it lacked in a story in more than made up for in head-cracking action for the entire running time. Which lead to some people saying that because it was nothing but fighting for the 90 minute running time after a while it got repetitive and boring
So if you thought that the first raid was poor because there was no story, than I’d recommend “The Raid 2” because this makes up for the lack of a story in spades.

At it’s core it’s a crime thriller about the son of a mob boss who feels that he’s undervalued and as a result he wants to kill him and take his place at the head of the crime syndicate that has an iron fist over Jakarta (or at least I think that this were it takes place) There is so much going plot wise that at a few moments it lost me but never to the point that I couldn’t catch up with what was happening.

But that’s not to say that this doesn't contain the high octane action set pieces that made a lot of action movies fall in love with the first installment. There are some extremely innovative, pulse pounding action sequence, that will have even the most ardent action junkie wincing on more than one occasion.

Overall this is a fantastic sequel that took what made “The Raid” a great movie and greatly expanded upon it. This was everything and whole lot more a person could want from “The Raid 2”.This is a must watch for fans of action movie and is also a must watch for people who love sprawling crime epics in the vein of “The Godfather.

A great second installment and with a third on the way, I for one will be in the cinema when it gets released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Outstanding Action Movie Sequel, 11 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid 2 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The Raid 2.
Director Gareth Evans.
Starring.
Iko Uwais.

Blu Ray Info.
Region B/2
Indonesian Language with English Subtitles or English Dubbed.
Cert 18.
Running time 150 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)This film takes place 2 hours after the original film ends.
2)The kitchen fight sequences took 6 weeks to film & is director Gareth Evans favourite scene in the movie.
3)The hammers wielded by Hammer Girl were made out of foam rubber.
4)The punches & kicking in these fight scenes are real as Iko Uwais & the other fighter's were able to control the speed & strength of impact making the fight sequences look as realistic as possible, No silly fake wire work was used here.

Synopsis.
2 hours after the first raid Officer Rama goes undercover with the thugs of Jakarta & plans to bring down the crime syndicate & uncover the corruption within in the Police force.

As recent events of the raid have now alerted the higher criminal underworld Rama has no choice but to go undercover yet he's is putting his wife & child & his own life at risk as Rama undertakes his most dangerous assignment by infiltrating the prison under the name of Yuda to gain the confidence of a inmate named Uco who is the son of a criminal Kingpin as Yuda plots to join their gang & eventually bring down there criminal empire once & for all.

Timelord Thoughts.
This sequel to The Raid directed again by Gareth Evans is one huge crazy spectacular action packed masterpiece that needs to be seen to be believed at just how good this movie is as it puts the Hollywood action movies to shame.

The late Bruce Lee was a phenomenal martial artist & I never thought I'd see anyone top his skills but Iko Uwais is certainly on par with the great master as I dare you to find any fight sequences that are better than the one's seen in this movie especially the epic kitchen fight sequence, In 35 years of being a fan of action movies I've never known fight sequences on the scale as the ones I seen in this movie & all fight scenes are shot in camera with no wire work showcasing just how good Iko Uwais skills as a martial artist are.

Gareth Evans is fast becoming a top action director & choreographs superb action sequences includng an outstanding car chase on just a $4.5 million budget Evan's puts these $100 million big budget Hollywood movies to shame & this director certainly has flare, Scope & a amazing talent for shooting action & puts any directed Michael Bay movie to shame.

This is one of the greatest action films I've ever seen & although this film has a running time of 150 minutes it never feels padded out, Yes the action is brutal & stylish but the movie delivers a interesting plot that complements the action sequences & as a whole The Raid 2 is a phenomenal kick ass movie.

This Blu ray edition has a stunning colourful vibrant sharp picture & includes an optional Indonesian language version with English subtitles or a English dubbed soundtrack.

A highly recommended action film that will have fan's of action films left in a state of shock at the scale of action this movie delivers.

Timelord Rating.
10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balletic and graceful violence, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
This film has a much bigger scale than the original, there is a huge ambition to make this a largescale gangster film with martial arts, and as a whole it works.
Firstly the Action scenes are astounding, the choreography and filming make each fight seem intense and weighty. The martial artists are phenomenal and at times it seems just like a very violent dance. I cannot find fault with any of the action in this movie, it is liberally spread throughout proceedings as well to break up story elements nicely.
The plot is interesting, and a direct follow on to the end of The Raid with the protaganist having to deal with the ramifications of what happened in the building and being recruited to try and bring down corrupt police who are helping the criminal gangs.
This is a long film clocking in at about 160mins and i did feel that with some judicious editing this could have been made a little tighter, but overall i enjoyed the experience and it did not seem to drag on.
The extras are interesting and add to the overall experience of the film which is nice to see. I would recommend this to all action/Martial arts fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No good deed goes unpunished!!, 17 Aug 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid 2 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This is a great martial arts movie. I have to say I did like the Raid better, but that does not take away that thus film is excellent. For anyone who has been disappointed with the latest Jackie martial comadies, or Jet's more wire work than martial arts, this movie is salvation. Iko Uwais has set himself up as the new martial arts superstar since Tony Jaa.

This movie is more bloody and with a higher body count that the first movie. It is set over a course of years. The martial arts are brilliant. Since the first movie Rama, is forced to go undercover supposedly to break a cur rump cop ring. To do this he must engreciate himself with the son of the head gangster. When the assignment that was supposed to be a couple of months turnes into a couple of years is there anyway back for him?

Despite the film being over 2 1/2 hours, the time flies by. More than enough action and amazing fight choirography to keep me amazed. All round great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completely different and every bit as good, 15 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: The Raid 2 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Must admit, I didn't really enjoy Part 1 the first time around. There'd been too much hype and the film felt excessive and bleak, but I knew there was something brilliant going on there. It wasn't until the second or third viewing that I could get my head around how blisteringly intense it was. However, if learning to appreciate the first film was like falling in love with a song, The Raid 2 is like getting to grips with an album.
Unlike Die Hard 2 (which was quite ridiculously the exact same film in a different location) this sequel expands in every direction. I had my doubts. A sprawling crime epic seemed a little ambitious, but Gareth Evans has pulled it off with style. Technically, the film is astounding, with plenty of the frenetic set-pieces that we've come to expect. Plus, more characters, tight storytelling, some quite surreal moments (as if David Lynch had popped by to help out) and no shortage of violence and gore. I find it hard to judge a performance in a foreign language, but Iko Uwais seems to be that rare thing: an action star who can actually act. And fight.
The story is quite simple, with two major families ruling the criminal underworld and observing a long-standing truce. Rama is committed to a long term undercover operation, working his way into one family with the end goal of nabbing Reza, the most corrupt cop in the city. This is hampered by a rising crime boss who, having killed Rama's brother, is looking to spark off an all-out gang war. He goes about this by manipulating an ambitious but reckless pawn and causing bloodshed with his rather amusing cronies. It's all been done before, but rarely with this much brutality and skill. The score music isn't quite as good as before, but apart from that, this is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight of Action Flicks, 12 April 2014
This review is from: The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
After hearing the hype of The Raid, I sat down to watch it and was blown away by realistic, breathtaking camera work, editing and action/fight choreography.

But this review is about the sequel and because the first was so successful a sequel was announced. Usually when a sequel is announced, people get worried if or not it's going to be better then the first. I sat down in the cinema to watch the film and I can sum it up in three words "The Dark Knight" and I say this because when I saw that film back in '08 it blew my mind. The character development, the settings, the dialogue, the directing and the camera and editing were all top. The same can be said about "The Raid 2: Berendal" set shortly after the events of the first Raid flick our hero is sent in undercover to take down a crime lord and the action doesn't stop for a second it's a 2hr 30min film but it doesn't seem like it when you're watching. The adrenaline is constantly pumping and the whole film is aware of this.

The acting and dialogue is brilliant, the camerawork is superb with some shots causing you to cling to the edge of your seat.

If you don't get the chance to see this film in the cinema, I highly recommend you pick it up on blu-ray the picture quality is stunning.

10/10 a fast paced thrill ride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just awesome, 26 Jun 2014
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raid 2 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
o.m.g.where do i start.the raid 2 is just awesome and much better than the original.i have to say that gareth evans is a genius.a welsh writer and director who has delivered 2 films of awesome power.and lets not forget iko uwais who gives a brilliant performance in acting and fight choreography.the stunt work is out of this world.the films kicks off where the first one finished.not giving to much away the story is better and has more depth to it compared to the first the fight and stunt choreography is better and more violent in the second.overall a masterpiece of action/violence not to be missed.the good news is that the raid 3 is in production and there is a american version of the raid being made with gareth evans doing the screenplay.as for the dubbing it is very good in the uk version and the film is uncut.please be aware the american version is r rated and has been cut by the MPAA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 15 Aug 2014
By 
M. J. Finch "Mike Finch" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raid 2 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The Raid 2 follows on where the first movie left off when Rama has to go undercover, but even in prison doesn't seem able to ween himself off his favourite past time of bone crunching. The plot is pretty standard, son betrays his gangster dad so he can do a better job running the show however the fight sequences are brilliantly choreographed and special effects gruesomely realistic to the point it made me look away a few times - it'll be a long time before I can bring myself to watch a burger being cooked.

Getting arrested in Indonesia at least prepares you for life on the inside but Judges must get pretty irritable at the sight of defendants brought up in wheelchairs with arms and legs twisted or ripped off, hammers embedded in skulls and faces torn off or cut in half. What are you here for, answer shoplifting, seriously this is a great movie, the only confusing bit is I'm sure the long haired family "tramp" friend betrayed and finally killed in Raid 2 was a henchman in Raid 1 who got crunched by Rama but maybe it was his twin brother.Overall, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whilst I enjoyed The Raid especially for it choreography and fight sequences ..., 25 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Whilst I enjoyed The Raid especially for it choreography and fight sequences in terms of plot and how it unfolds I prefered the film Dredd which came out around the same time a dealt with a very similar storyline. The plot was very sparse and I found myself really not paying alot of attention to anything other that the films style and bone crunching action.
The Raid 2 took the whole kinetic and brutal violence and upped the ante in terms of its story and ambition. At two and a half hours long it doesnt rush it's story coming off more like a crime epic with action movie punch than a straight forward martial arts movie so I can see if youre just after a simple martial arts movie with a simple revenge plot peppered with some set pieces then I'd say watch the first again. Want a crime epic that play like a cross between a police thriller like Infernal Affairs the original Raid with some comic book excess (Baseball Bat Man for example) then The Raid 2 is definately a good fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014]
The Raid 2 [Blu-ray] [2014] by Gareth Evans (Blu-ray - 2014)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews