Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!
Pierce Brosnan shows what a fine,adaptable actor he is starring in this version of the Jules Verne story as Phileas Fogg who bets 3 of his friends at the Reform Club that he can travel Around the World in 80 Days OR LESS for a wager of 30,000? He sets off with manservant Passpertout played by Eric Idle and along the way saves the life of an Indian Princess played by the...
Published on 28 Jun 2010

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Around the World very very slowly
This is an amiable but overlong and very slow moving version of Jules Verne's adventure novel. The story has been considerably padded out to stretch it to over four hours long. I thought the Davin Niven version was a bit slow, but it's speedy compared to this one.

However, Pierce Brosnan, Eric Idle, and Peter Ustinov are all worth watching, and there are...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by L O'connor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 28 Jun 2010
Pierce Brosnan shows what a fine,adaptable actor he is starring in this version of the Jules Verne story as Phileas Fogg who bets 3 of his friends at the Reform Club that he can travel Around the World in 80 Days OR LESS for a wager of 30,000? He sets off with manservant Passpertout played by Eric Idle and along the way saves the life of an Indian Princess played by the beautiful Julia Nickson and faces many other tests.Unfortunately for Fogg he is suspected of robbing the Bank of England of a large amount of money and hot on his trail is the comic-detective Fix played by Peter Ustinov. There are many cameo roles in the film including Robert Wagner,Jill St.John,Chritopher Lee,Simon Ward and Robert Morley to name a few.Good all-round family entertainment, no sex, swearing or nudity-guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable Victorian romp with Pierce Brosnan at his gorgeous best, 13 July 2011
By 
Let me start by saying that I was a massive fan of this series when it came out in 1989. As a 13 year old I swooned over Pierce Brosnan. So I was always going to be partial to this series. Nevertheless, seeing again 20 years later, I realise just how enjoyable this adaptation of Jules Verne really is. Pierce Brosnan is indeed still dishy and fantastic as uptight Phileas Fogg, but it's the supporting cast of a spectacular Eric Idle and Peter Ustinov at their comedic best that bring it all together. Combined with endless cameos of famous faces from both sides of the Atlantic.

Yes, some of the editing is dodgy and yes some of the acting is cheesy, but I guarantee you will enjoy the innocent fun, beautiful scenery (they did actually shoot the series all around the world) and the comedic talent of all involved. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended 4.5 hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Around the World very very slowly, 26 Sep 2010
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amiable but overlong and very slow moving version of Jules Verne's adventure novel. The story has been considerably padded out to stretch it to over four hours long. I thought the Davin Niven version was a bit slow, but it's speedy compared to this one.

However, Pierce Brosnan, Eric Idle, and Peter Ustinov are all worth watching, and there are plenty of entertaining moments. It could have done by being shortened by at least an hour though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but LOTS missing., 2 May 2014
The Alps to Singapore and Japan to East coast of America have been missed out.

Sort it out Amazon. This is silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thought it would be good, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. PE Scrivens (Alsager UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an old film that we thought would give a lot more than it did and for us it is not the kind of film we thought it was. Having seen some more up to date versions, we thought this original version would be better. This was definitely not the case and we have had to consign it to the bottom of the cupboard.
This is not to say it is bad, just not right for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars around the world in 80 days , 1989, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen both the David Niven and Jackie Chan versions of the story, (having never read the book), I was interested to see how Pierce Brosnan would fare in the roll of Phileas Fogg,the english gentleman attempting to go around the world in 80 days to win a wager. So when this d.v.d. was offered for under 4 I bought one. The storyline follows the David Niven film which closely, with some minor location and plot changes, which in no way spoil the flow of the storyline. The acting is professional, as is the direction, without being over-dramatic, but the most enjoyable part of the film for me is Eric Idle's french accent in his portrayal of Passepartout, shades of 'allo allo'. All in all not a classic piece of film making, but with over 4hours of viewing for under 4 it's reasonable entertainment for a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Peter James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My whole family really enjoyed this version of the book 'Around the world in 80 days', overall the acting of the main characters is excellent. It has the feel of the original book and stands up well against the 1956 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOGG IS FANTASTIC, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Karen Squires (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am pleased to give this tv movie of the book, Around the World in Eighty Days 5 stars.
The cast are superb. It is a whose who of the finest British and American talents, and Eric Idle is simply wonderful as Fogg's french manservant - so funny. I also think this is one of Pierce Brosnan's finest parts. He was made to play this role. It is so very entertaining and enthralling and even though you know the ending you are with him every step of the way willing him on and so wanting him to win the bet. Peter Ustinov is also excellent and the scenery is beautiful. Don't hesitate - buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 22 Aug 2011
Reasonable quality though the sound wasn't great at times meaning we had to turn the volume way up to be able to hear it properly. Over all was glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Part 1
Part 1 by Buzz Kulik
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews