Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in the label retrospectives...
Monument Records are best known for releasing early Roy Orbison records but they had a much wider span of music and a pretty long run as a label. This latest issue is a winner both for the feel of the late 1950s and early 1960s and the sound transfers make for easy listening. The liner notes are informative and the artwork attractive with some small photographs of the...
Published 9 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monument to whom?
First look at the playlist makes you think 'Roy Orbison and some others'. It's not quite that but the Big O's tracks outshine the rest. The Velvets and Billy Grammer are the pick of the rest, which is a little more MOR than I would have expected.
Published 7 months ago by W.Hitenigger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in the label retrospectives..., 12 Mar 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Monument Records are best known for releasing early Roy Orbison records but they had a much wider span of music and a pretty long run as a label. This latest issue is a winner both for the feel of the late 1950s and early 1960s and the sound transfers make for easy listening. The liner notes are informative and the artwork attractive with some small photographs of the artists included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advert For Music Diversity., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this compilation. I've been impressed with all of the One - Day Music series, but this one seems a little different for some reason. Obviously the 6 Orbison tracks are well known, as are the Billy Grammer items ( two of them anyway ), and one of my all-time fave doo-wops "That Lucky Old Sun" is here with the usual batch of relatively unknown artistes and recordings. Very diverse, and there are some nice instrumentals, incl. Hawaiian & South American arrangements.Hearing "The Thing" transported me back to my Childrens Favourites days- wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Could Be The Night!!!!, 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Yes, we all know what Roy Orbison did! No doubt his tracks have always outdone anything Monument produced, but check out the Velvets. Orbison himself discovered them and brought them to Monument. They were four high school students with their English teacher Virgil Johnson from West Texas; very unusual territory for doo-wop. "Tonight (Could Be The Night)" was their smash hit in 1960, featured here. Their other tracks were and are very underrated; "Lana" was cut by Orbison himself.

Other notable tracks here are "Tobacco Road" by Bobby Brinkley; not the original, but I admit is quite good. I like it even better than the commercial Nashville Teens version later in 1964. Bob Moore's instrumental "Mexico" was a Top Ten hit in 1962; his orchestra offered the backing on many of the label's tracks.

Anyway, good overview of the Monument label!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 27 April 2014
By 
Timothy Kingston "Topkat" (Hobart Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Good compilation , good quality of mastering. Only downside is the poor liner notes. I guess I am spoilt when I see the offerings put out by other companies and the liner notes are not very comprehensive, they are better than none but....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monument to whom?, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
First look at the playlist makes you think 'Roy Orbison and some others'. It's not quite that but the Big O's tracks outshine the rest. The Velvets and Billy Grammer are the pick of the rest, which is a little more MOR than I would have expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
By 
T. J. French - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared: The Monument Records Story 1958-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews